5 star rating: Highly Recommended 116 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Montego Bay or Negril, Jamaica
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Canopy Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ted C
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

I have done this before and was hoping for a little more excitement, but everyone else there loved it. If you have never done it before you have to give it a shot. The tour was run through a local tour operator, but this was the cheapest and best way to book it. The safety staff there was absolutely hilarious, they made it even better for everyone there. Make sure you grab an orange during the short walk to the first of eight ziplines, they were the best I ever tasted.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

It was an experience of a lifetime. The guides were excellent. They made sure everyone had a good time.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

This tour was exciting. Not too scary or dangerous but just right. The tour guides were personable and funny. However the bus tour guide was extremely unfriendly and GRUMPY and 2 hours before when we were supposed to be picked up!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

They had a great staff that kept you entertained, while being professional.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

This is really cool.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Fun time, would do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

My wife and I have never had so much fun getting our feet and legs dirty and muddy!! Fortunately, the October rains stopped long enough for us to enjoy the roughly 90 minute canopy excursion. Although the website advertises the approximate duration of the tour for only 3 hours from pickup to return i.e. 130 to 430, we were picked up early at 1240pm from CSA Negril and did not return until 800 p.m. - it was a 2 hour drive each way, so your pickup location and overall duration should be clarified by the booking agent before you decide to sign up in case you have a tight activity schedule. Be sure to go to the bathroom before getting on the bus...it's a bumpy ride from the main road to the tour starting point. The tour guides are very friendly and funny, as are most of the people we encountered in Jamaica. Be prepared to tip the bus driver and the tour guides...although tipping seemed optional, they were very persuasive! Use PLENTY of insect spray because the mosquitoes are hungry! The tour does supply the spray, but you may consider packing your own if you have a personal preference to a particular brand and apply it liberally, EVERYWHERE! You will likely sweat off some of it during the tour because of the extreme humidity coupled with the hiking and climbing activities. And don't worry if you think you are afraid of heights...they start you out slow with some shorter traverses then work up to the grand daddy of them all...almost 1,100 feet long at 300 feet above the river - an AWESOME, YET GENTLE RIDE!!! It is a MUST-DO whenever you go to Jamaica.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

It was very beautiful. The guides were great.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

Wish it was longer. Lots of fun! Guides were fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

My family truly enjoyed this experience. The forest is site you must see. The guides were great and knew what they were doing. I love the fact that the guides knew so much about the plant life that grew in the forest and that they were excited to share the history of their country. TAKE BUG SPRAY!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The canopy tour itself was great. The guides were fun but made sure everything was safe.

The low rating is for Viator itself. We booked a few days before the tour but could never get the information for our hotel pickup. Our hotel travel desk finally got it worked out for us, Viator was no help.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I didn't realize how the tour would really work. WAY too much difficult walking and very short traverses that were kind of boring. What really irritated me was that once there they did not provide bug repellent as advertised and we had to pay $6 for it. $5 for a locker, and had to pay $28 for two pairs of "beach shoes" (since we hadn't brought any closed toe shoes with us). Wal-Mart sells them for around $2.50 a pair. Wjat a rip off. So the tour actually cost us $219. instead of $180.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The ziplining had shorter jaunts between stations than anticipated. However, the concern that we had was the walking that you had to do to each site. You really need to warn your guests that it is a hike between stations. There would be some people that physically would not be able to make that tour because they physically couldn't do it. The best part of the trip were the guides. They were entertaining and very comforting when you are nervous and with strangers. Great guides, Gussy and Kimmy!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The canopy tour was fun and well organised. It's quiet some distance from Negril, expect a 2 hr journey each way to the activity. Contrary to information provided prior to booking insect repellant was not provided by the operator, with customers being referred to purchase it from the gift shop on location. "Complimentary refreshments" was water. Had I have completed more research, we would have conducted the canopy tour at YS falls (same operator) on the same day we travelled to Black River.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The tour was fun, BUT: Chukka (tour operator) refused to pick me up on a day I booked my tour and offered this tour on another day, so I had to re-arrange my activities. The guys that take you along all zipline traverses are doing a great job, and they are very professional. The tour is easy, and anyone can do it.
The rest was less exciting: Chukka never answered my email, when I called them it took around 15 min to find my reservation, they woudn't pick me up on a tour day, insect repellant was not included, ladies at the reception (where the canopy tour starts) were a bit unfriendly.
So the bottom line is that the tour was fun, but the total experience was poor.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

We were staying in Nigril and the trip was well over an hour each way - we decided to do something else.

From USD $ 88.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3991MB_CAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message