4.5 star rating: Recommended 137 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Montego Bay, Jamaica
  • Duration:  6 or 9 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 137 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour is great, just don't go on Wednesdays or Fridays because you will have to contend with the cruise ship tourists, which was overwhelming. We made that mistake and it was chaos (not really ideal for climbing up slippery rocks with rushing water), but I would recommend seeing the falls.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

From the tour description, I had expected to be able to walk around Ocho Rios and choose a restaurant for lunch before going to the Falls. However, there were 3 bus stops - at a small mall (we were given discount coupons), a pottery outlet and a local craft market - so if you are looking to shop on your own in Ocho Rios, this may not be for you. The lunch was at a pre-chosen restaurant with a lovely location by the sea, but the food was so-so and a bit expensive.
The Falls were beautiful and everyone enjoyed the climb. WATER SHOES ARE REQUIRED to climb the Falls and you can purchase them there.
The guide and the driver were great, and they picked us up on time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The Falls were SUPER, the shopping was rather disappointed.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

very straineous for senior citizens. recommended fro younger people.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

I really enjoyed the Dunns River Fall and ochos Rios shopping tour. The driver and tour guide were awesome. The Dunns Falls is a must see- its beautiful. The only thing the I would say negative is the craft shop where they take you to shop if you are not a person that knows how to bargain this experience is very intimidating. Overall, a great day.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

A good excursion shopping could be improved slightly, lunch was fantastic, howevr some other operators included the cost of lunch within the initial cost, which was approxiamately the same as what we paid and then had to purchase lunch as an extra cost

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Taj Mahal shopping was ok if a little rushed. Would have prefered longer than 45 mins to have a proper look round. Craft market was a whole new experience and it was hard not to buy from the traders especially when you might be their only sale for the day, very reliant on the tours that go there. Remeber to barter!! The guide was great and knew ALOT about the island. We opted for the lighter lunch of beef patties and large bread roll, 7usd with a drink included rather than the buffet at 16 usd each, which the guide kindly went and got for us when we were at the craft market. Dunns River was exhilerating but would have liked to have spent more time there rather than at the restaurant.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Fun - the guide Darlene was great!
Very sassy

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

It was a good tour but a litttle too much shopping for my taste I felt like an open purse, but once I got to the falls it was the best. The lunch spot was good as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

we had a great tour guide. I was a little frustrated when i checked the night before about where to meet and learned I had to get a voucher from the bus counter when it did not say that anywhere on my voucher. shopping could have been a bit longer, felt rushed and specifically directed to certain shops when there were many in the area to choose from. the time at lunch and the falls however was perfect, no rushed feeling at all there. our tour guide Carol and driver Martin were awesome!!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The tour was very nice, but to many time restictions. More time could of been spent at the falls.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The Falls are fantastic - something that you have to see while in Jamaica. I knocked a star off because the tour itself wasn't fantastic. They really pile people into this waterfall - you never really get a view of it without people in it. I didn't really care about holding hands with other people, but it kind of sucked waiting around for the next person to go over a rock, or jump in the water, etc. We only spent like 30-40 minutes climbing it - I wish we could have time to do our own thing instead of following in a line. Also the whole time they're filming you and making you do silly stuff so that you buy the video afterward - and when you don't want to, they give you nasty looks. Tourism at its finest. :]

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

This was truly a great experience. I would do this tour again in a "Heart-Beat". Our tour guide, Desirene was simply FANTASTIC. The shopping part was a little bit rushed, but otherwise everything else was a BLAST.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Although the tour is very crisply run, you do not get much of a chance to wander in the non-tourist areas. This is really great if you just want to grab some souvenirs quickly and make a run through the Falls while not having to worry about transportation.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

We only did the falls tour and it was exciting. The falls are fast moving water over a slow rising bed of rocks. The guides are great and help you over the rough spots. We are in our sixties and made the climb just fine. Water shoes are a must only if you are going to make the climb. Fun adventure!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Tourist beware! They will take you to the "crafts market" which is like getting beat up and askingpaying for it. DON"T GET OFF THE BUS!!! The falls were a blast and having a guide made it even more awesome! If you take want a self guided tour, you would be better off taking the "bobsled tour" the bus was much nicercleaner, and it takes you to Mystic Mountain and the falls, so you don't need to make the 2 hr. each way bus trip more than once to do the canopy tour, bobsled, and the falls!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

loved the falls and the guides but not the shopping. The shopping was in shopping centers in which all shops were the same and run by middle easterners and not native Jamaicans. The only fun shopping stop was the one at a true Jamaica shopping area. If I had wanted American or middle eastern shopping I could have stayed in the U.S.

Leonie B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed the falls. I didn't think I would get to the top especially when you're at the bottom looking up but surprise, surprise I made it and it was everything they said it would be, exhilirating, fun and so worth it. I would definitely go again. Wasn't so hot on the shopping as I didn't feel we got to really experience the 'local's hardware as we were taken to 'main' shopping areas who were already making money. Other than that, absolutely great.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Definetly bring ur credit card and to go shopping. Gold & diamonds are definetly worth it!!! Local shopping was a bit dangerous and i stayed in the bus because i did not feel comfortable. Dunns Falls was awsome.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

An adventurous person might frankly expect more out of this falls. It was fun nonetheless, but don't know if I would ride a bus for hours to do this again. Would recommend doing at least one. I highly recommend bringing your water shoes if you're going to do this.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

A bit to long to pick up people, but the falls are a great things to do. Take the full day tour with shopping.

Lisa G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Really good day at the falls. The tour guide was really good and had the whole bus learning the Jamaican lingo! Yeah Mon, Irie, etc. Not good with small children as you have to watch your step and wouldn't really be able to carry kids safely whilst climbing the falls. People on our bus had booked locally with an 18 month and 3 year old therfore could not do the climb and had not been advised this was not a suitable trip for children.

Mark B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Dunns River was great but the shopping part wasn't so good. Would have prefered the falls on its own or with some beach time instead. It would have been better to have more time there.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The trip up the falls was a lot of fun. The park itself was a little overdeveloped with pushy vendors, but that was the only detraction from an otherwise great experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The shopping was very commerical, but climbing the falls was great. My husband and I had a great time and the falls were beautiful. You don't have to rent the shoes, I just wore some sneakers and that was fine, so save the money to rent them.

From USD $ 59.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2325MBORDRF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message