Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

David G United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A very worthwhile trip with excellent driver who was very entertaining and knowledgeable. We would have preferred to have a coach fitted with seatbelts though!

David M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

A very nice trip that was well organized. It'd be better in October when the maples are red and yellow.

Joyce K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

My trip to the Laurentian Mountains was very nice. We all loved the bus driver and the coach was new and quite comfortable. Our favorite part was the stop at the French town for shopping and eating. It was lovely. Also, the scenery was very pretty.

ATHANASIOS M Greece

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Nice trip for nature lovers. The cruise was quite good with beautiful scenery. It was a rainy day but without affecting the cruise a lot. The guide was very informative and helpful.

INCI O Turkey

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

A lovely trip!

Patricia R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This was a very well organized trip with a good itinerary. The driver/guide was very knowledgeable, pleasant and helpful.

Scott D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

This was a great drive into the mountains, and the boat ride is very enjoyable. The town area where the bus stops is small restaurants and shops, but we enjoyed the day and the views. Bus driver rocks!

Ronnie T Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. However, I was a little disappointed that Mt Tremblant was not included in the itinerary.

Virginia K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Good trip.

Odi A Japan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It was a nice trip. The bus driver was cool, with hundreds of jokes. This trip provided a stop in a chocolate shop, a 50 minutes cruise, another stop to have lunch and buy souvenirs, and drop-off service to hotel. Definitely worth doing!

Barbara G United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Very helpful being collected and returned to our hotel, especially in a city which was unfamiliar to us. The tour was most interesting and the tour guide very helpful, informing us of things which we would not otherwise have known.

PAUL P United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

As with a trip we had made two days previously, the day was extremely enjoyable and the driver friendly and informative. I would certainly recommend this trip as a good way to see some of the sights around Montreal.

Douglas M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

This was a nice day out of the city. We enjoyed seeing some of the rural parts of Quebec and the mountain towns were very quaint. The prices in Trembly were a bit high, but the hikes and people were great. Best guide of the entire trip!

Claudys d

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A lovely ride throughout. No guide, just the driver sharing his input of the region and places we passed or stopped at. The cruise was lovely and yes guided. Beautiful immense lake with some mansions around it. The main stop was at Mont-Tremblant, which in my opinion, did not need to be long... unless it is winter time as it is a sky site.
Another highly displeasing incident here again with the imposing of tips on us. The driver made it a point to rush to step down the bus at every stop when back in Montreal to ask for his tips. Again, like in my previous tour to Quebec City, most were taken off-guard. I witnessed a young couple who stopped at McGill, being forced to pay 20 tip !!! because they had no change and the driver was insisting on his tip while we waited in the bus watching the interaction. That was far beyond the 15 service tip in Montreal. While Viator advised us when book to tip at our discretion, that 2nd similar incident in two of its tours indicates that some of its service providers are overstepping and need to be told to act decently in that regards. We graciously accept and understand the tip culture in the province, but not all travelers are locals and even us locals do not appreciate such behavior.

So, my advise to fellow travelers, keep a couple of dollars in your pocket handy for that. While appreciation to the service is expected in Quebec Province, you do not need to tip 20. Usually, it's 15 and this remains to your discretion and you may ask for the difference if you just have a bigger bill.

Ozpom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We enjoyed our day to the Laurentians as the scenery and foliage was beautiful, however we were disappointed that the tour wasn't as described by Viator. We didn't get an hour at Saint Sauveur or half hour at Saint Agathe and just drove through these towns. We understood that the tour had changed to more time at Mont Tremblant and we had 3 hours here and felt it was far too long. We didn't take the cable car up the mountain as it was overcast and raining and this may have taken some time up, but we spent the last hour walking around in the cold and this could have been used to go to Saint Sauveur. Most of the cafes and shops were closed. It may be more populated in winter and summer but wasn't when we visited. Our friends visited saint Sauveur and told us it is beautiful and worth a visit. We believe that the description on the tour should be amended by Viator to reflect what actually happens. Overall we are still glad we took the tour to see something outside of Montreal.

Benjamin S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The description under Viator made it seem like a unique and special tour that might be intimate, but learned after booking that it's run by a well-known local tour operator, so this is your typical big bus tour. I was lucky that the foliage was still around during my trip, but we hardly got to stop to take photos in scenic areas, instead we went to touristy spots that blended with civilization. Better to just rent a car and drive up and hike in nature to see the foliage. Also, I tried to confirm my reservation as I was told and I got voicemails the first few tries. I had to keep calling all day because no one answered my voicemails I left, so finally reached someone who seemed like it was no big deal. Overall, it was an OK trip. The guide was nice with his corny jokes and it was nice not having to drive. But don't go into this expecting to see nature, it's commercialized nature.

Karen S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The tour took us northwest out of Montreal along Highway 15 which is one of the longest roads in the world, stretching 5000 miles across Canada. Our driver kept us entertained with interesting facts about Montreal and what or who we might see on the tour. According to our guide the peaks of the Laurentians, which are among the worlds oldest chain of mountains dating back 540 million years, were smoothed off by the movement of a 3km thick glacier many, many moons ago.

Renowned as an all-year-round holiday destination, the Laurentides cover 22,000 square kilometres encompassing immense forests of pine and maple where you can hike and bike and a myriad of lakes where you can kayak, sail, swim and do all manner of water sports. In the Fall, the colours of the trees are fabulous.

After cruising for about half an hour on Lac des Sables, we drove to our final destination which was Mont-Tremblant trembling mountain ski resort, a picturesque hamlet at the foot of the mountain. I took the short, free gondola ride up to the bottom of the main ski slopes where there are cafes, restaurants, a town square and lots of shops and boutiques. For a small fee you can catch another gondola that takes you right to the top of the mountain.

Before heading home we stopped at Lac Trembant with its mountain views and marina, and also at Diablo River Falls to take photos.

This tour is all about taking in the scenic beauty of the region and provides a taster of what you can do if you choose to come back for a weekend stay or longer, at any time of the year.

Linda S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Do this trip on your own! The area is beautiful, but our bus driver talked the entire.very long bus ride!

viator

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Lovely sights but a long day. We were not happy with our bus driver, Richard. He drove with one hand and held mike in other hand and was very aggressive driver. Wished I had sat in back of bus and not been able to see so much of his driving, although we did arrive safe everywhere.

helensimpkins

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

JCD

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I would rate this as "worth doing" (Viator three stars) because it was a nice day trip outside of Montreal. Started out on the wrong foot as my driver was 25 minutes late, though! The actual itinerary slightly deviated from the written one, though, as the St. Sauveur stop was actually the last one, not the first. I've read this in other reviews, too, so if you need your morning coffee, GET IT BEFORE THE TOUR BEGINS. The stop at Lac Joseph was nice. The boat trip on Lac de Sables was wonderful, especially with it being Fall - the foliage mirrored on the lake was extraordinary! The final stop, the supposed highlight of the itinerary, is the stop at Mont-Tremblant. This is actually a ski resort not a mountain town, therefore if you're looking for "authentic" you won't find it there. (It kind of felt like Disneyland.) The gondola up the top is definitely worth doing; you pay either for the cost of the ticket only or for about 6$ more lunch at the top. I've read from other reviewers that the food at the top was bad so I opted to buy the ticket only, and felt I made the right decision after other members in my group complained about the food. (I bought a 12$ pita in town once I was done with the gondola ride and it was delicious and filling.) All in all a good day trip though I think I would not have enjoyed it as much if the brilliant Fall colors were not on display.

Kate D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was a nice way to get out of the city for a bit, but the itinerary was different than what was listed on the website which messed up a few things for my husband and I. For one, it said we would stop for coffee as the first stop. As such we did not have coffee/breakfast that morning - bad idea! Second, we took the tour guide's advice to go the top of the big resort town and eat up there. After a crappy overpriced lunch, we made our way down the town and found there were much better options, including a brew pub. At this point we were mostly out of time, as for some reason the stop in the town was only two hours, when the itinerary promised three. Lesson learned: go for the ride, but don't listen to the guide or expect to follow the itinerary!

Steven V

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

A pleasant excursion. But the final destination, perhaps because we failed to read some fine print, was a holiday resort - winter and summer sports - rather than a mountain town. So - not exactly quaint or what one might call "authentic." Also, the driver/guide erred, we think, on the side of garrulity.

SIMON C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Cool weather on a hot summer day, beautiful mountains and lakes. Worth a day trip

Armenia D D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

El tour es realmente agradable. Las vistas son muy bonitas. Cualquier amante de la naturaleza disfrutará mecho este tour. Lamentablemente el operador del ferry que debíamos realizar nos embarcó, no obstante pudieron coordinar otro ferry luego de una hora de espera.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 81.46

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3355C6

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message