4 star rating: Recommended 423 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Duration:10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 423 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful scenery, even though we did not get to go up to Eagles nest due to bad weather. Salt mine tour was given instead and was cool.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely wonderful tour. The guide was fantastic - very knowledgeable and friendly.
The weather was perfect - the clouds lifted just as we started heading up into the mountains, so we had spectacular views in every direction of the unbelievable scenery. It is hard to believe that some of the most evil men the world has ever known lived in a place this beautiful. Everyone should see this place to try to come to terms with that duality themselves.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

hugely interesting day and the views alone were well worth the trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As we were warned, weather in late October can be dicey....and when we got on the bus, they gave us the news that the Eagles nest was not accessible that day...guide was clear and concise, giving options, etc...we chose to go to Salzburg for the day and WOW! Easy to find the Bus, right where they say its going to be! Super friendly and we had a great time!

Abbey G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Even though the Eagle's Nest was closed due to the weather, the Salt Mines was a lot of fun. Berchtesgaden is a picturesque little town, with great shops for souvenirs. The Documentation Centre was very informative and engaging. The guide was very friendly and knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was looking forward to this tour and it did not disappoint even though the weather was not perfect. The lady German tour guide was excellent. We asked if we could walk to the Berghof. It was a short walk through the woods. Only one wall seemed to exist and the area was overgrown with trees. A short walk further on and we came across The Zum Turken Hotel, still standing. Strangely we were the only members of the group that went. The journey to the Eagle's Nest was breath taking and the town of Berchtesgaden was beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was so much more than I expected! My husband loves history and especially anything WWII related, so this was his choice, along with the Normandy tour, out of our 2 1/2 week Europe trip. I have to say that I am so glad he insisted on this one. It was extremely informative and the most stunning views of our entire trip. The views alone are worth it, add on the history with the museum, the bunker, and then the Eagle's Nest and I highly recomend this tour to everyone, whether you're a WWII buff or not. Our tour guide (I forget his name, an older German man) made the tour even more enjoyable. He was extremely funny and kept us all laughing. What a great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Uta was very knowledgable on the subject and area. Gave a lot of information about Bavaria, it's people and lives. One of our best tour guides

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an awesome tour. The weather was perfect, nice and sunny. Our guide was a 5 star guide. He gave us a ton of historic information that was really interesting. Plus he was just a great person.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Just very lucky, as we had brilliant wheather and we could see for miles around. A great day out evern for the scenery. Our guied a grand oldish lady was a sweet hart, and looked after us well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour I took during my time in Munich. Our tour guide, Ana, was amazing. Very knowledgeable and her passion for history was obvious. I greatly appreciated that.

The views from the Obersalzberg were breathtaking. Even the intermittent cloud cover could not detract from this once in a lifetime chance to see this historical artifact up close. My only regret is that I wished I would have booked a couple nights stay in Berchtesgaden. It's quite a beautiful town. I'll definitely be back some day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An outstanding day trip from Munich with Ana as our very knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide. For WW II history buffs - this tour is a must! Magnificent scenery of the Bavarian Alps. Hitler's Retreat (Eagles Nest), Documentary Centre and the town of Berchtesgaden were among the highlights of a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

very enjoyable and interesting tour especially for my brother who has a great interest in history He could have spent hours in documentation centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent service and an amazing tour. What an incredible engineering feat Eagles Nest Is! Worth every Euro.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting and informative day. Our guide was great and we had plenty of time to explore the Eagle's Nest and the tunnels beneath it, visit the information center and the former site of Hitler's residence and see the sights of Berchtesgaden, before returning by coach around 7.00 pm.
We would be pleased to recommend the tour to other travellers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We loved the view from the top of Eagle's nest it was breathtaking. Ana our tour guide was terrific, she was very knowledgeable, and spoke perfect English. we loved the town of Berchtesgaden. The whole trip was enjoyable from stat to finish.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was one of the best tours we took. Ana our tour guide was great. She was very easy to understand and was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The views from the top of Eagles Nest were beautiful. We enjoyed the tour very much. Ana our tour guide was terrific.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant! I booked this tour for my mothers birthday. Our tour guide, Ana, was fabulous and ensured we were all taken care of and that we had plenty of time in each place. We were lucky to be blessed with good weather so the views were breathtaking once up at the eagles nest. We also visited the documentation centre and had a lovely lunch. Berchtesgaden was also lovely, we opted to just have a sit in a cafe rather than do a quick walking tour.
All in all a great day, totally stress free :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very nice tour by Ursula! Comfortable bus ride (bathroom and drinks sold by bus driver) with Ursula providing background on the history of Bavaria and current events. She was right...all the cows in Bavaria do look happy! She also got us up to the Eagle's Nest very efficiently so that we had plenty of time to explore and then back with enough time for lunch and shopping. Good walking tour of Berchtesgaden, I think it would have been great to see the salt mines, as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thought the tour was very educational and enlightening. A lot if that probably has to do with our tour guide. She had everything scheduled perfectly and even showed us a few extra things. She also seemed to love her job!! Excellent job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and good guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Beautiful scenery. Excellent tour guide. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My favorite tour of them all! Gunther, our tour guide was great! It starts with a bus ride viewing the beautiful countryside of Germany, while traveling on the Autobon . The sight of the Alps takes your breath away. Upon our arrival we entered into Hitler's bunker. (Had no idea Hitler had this built). We had time for lunch, which was delicious, and some time to spend money for souvenirs! Then we continued up the mountains to Eagles Nest. What a ride!! Amazing all the twists and turns as your bus climbs higher and higher and higher to the Eagles Nest. Once you arrive, words cannot express the beauty that is around you. The vista is something to see. We were fortunate to have blue sky and sunny weather, we could see for miles. I will have that image burned in my memory forever! The Eagles Nest is very interesting. Our tour guide walked us through and explained everything. We concluded our visit with a walk down a path, led by Gunther, to the bus plateform. It's all downhill and actually very easy to do, if you have the opportunity do it. Only takes 15 minutes tops, instead of taking the elevator down to the basement of Hitler's hideout. We wanted to take in the view for as long as possible and that was our way of enjoying it. After we headed to Berchesgardens for some brief shopping and site seeing. It is so worth the tour, I recommend it to anyone. The best is if the weather is sunny and clear, you will not believe the views.

From USD $ 56.17

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285011

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message