4 star rating: Recommended 376 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 376 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

totally spot on , best trip we have been on , our guide Briget was brilliant , we all ( 20+ ) really enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The views are amazing. Little dissapointing its a restraunt now instead of a museum type of thing where you could see how the layout was.
The bunker and museum part were excellent

Lionel G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The group was large at around 40 however the double decker bus easily accomodated everyone. The tour guide was informative yet didn't overload us with information and he ensured everthing went smoothly to schedule. The scenic beauty of the countryside and Alps on the way there and back made the trip doubly worth while. Our unhurried time at the Eaglesnest was very much appreciated by all. We also recommend the tour through the Documentation Centre and Bunkers which costs a few Euros extra. An excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was an excellent trip with a very informative guide, Bridget. It was a bit cold on the mountain top but this was due to the clouds and nothing to do wiyh Bridget! The restaurant served a lovely goulash which was very warming. We intend to visit this area again and will certainly take other tours with Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Tour guide Bridgette was very funny and informative. Even though the weather wasn't great the views were still spectaular. There was enough time there to enjoy a meal and to visit the museum. Very worth the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

My husband was a little apprehensive of this tour but it turned out to be the absolute best and I would like to do it again. Berchtesgaden was beautiful. Everything was so interesting. Yes it is true that the large room is a restaurant, but nonetheless, the marble fireplace was given to Hitler from Musolini and the ceiling, windows, floor, etc. etc. is original. Also the brass elevator and the tunnel all original. The view from atop is stunning. Such beauty!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was a very interesting day trip out of Munich. The historical significance, as well with beautiful surroundings, made this one of the best days I had in Bavaria!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Beautiful bus, great tour guide, Wonderful!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent day trip from Munich, with a very knowledgeable local guide. Documentation centre is also very good, and a "must see" part of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The Eagles Nest was still closed for winter so we were taken to the Documentation Centre and the Salt mines in Berchtesgarden. Both trips were well organised and the vist to the salt mines was great fun. Knowledgeable and courteous guides, good buses and enough time for rests.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

A fascinating day out especially as the weather was just perfect.Our guide (Bridget?)was charming and very knowledgeable and she even had a Band Aid for me when I tripped and fell,picking up a little souvenir of Eagle's Nest.I would recommend this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

If you are in Munich and want a nice day trip, Don't even contemplate...Just sign up for this tour now!! A unique elevator ride with awesome views. The tour guide was very informative about the area and the history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The tour was excellent. Our guide Charles was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The scenery is some of the most beautiful in Germany. We would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The drive to and from Berchtesgaden is long, but the bus was comfortable and the drive was pleasant. The guide was knowledgeable. The documentation center and bunkers are worth the visit upon coming down from the Eagle's Nest.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A great side trip from Munich that still gets you back in time to go to a bier garden. I would recommend the tour.

Robert M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

A great tour with a good driver and guide. The tour was everything we expected and the time given at "The Eagle's Nest" was sufficient to take in the sights. A great tour and we can thoroughly recommend it - we are very glad that we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Well worth going to, it felt like we didn't have much time there but really the tour guide (Charles) was just very efficient at getting things done on time (turned out time is of the essence if you want to see the stunning view from the top with no clouds). There is an on-site WW2 exhibition and underground bunker complex that really made my day as a history lover; it was called Documentation Obersalzberg so I thought it was just an archive but went in anyway for a look and was pleasantly surprised. The museum itself is in German but you cantake an audio guide or go in just for the bunker! The Eagle's Nest itself is just a restaurant now-a-days but it is still very cool to visit the holiday house of Hitler. The drive between Munich and Berchtesgaden has beautiful views of the countryside and interesting things that the tour guide will point out and tell you about.

Dianne W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Great tour up in the alps with a view that has to be seen to be believed. The house is literally perched on the edge of a cliff with the only acess via an elevator. Would liked to have at least seen a driveby of more of Berchtesgaden but that was not to be. If you have the time ,don't miss this day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Good Guide Great Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

What a fun trip! A guided tour was a first for us, but it turned out to be maybe the highlight of our visit to Munich. The bus was a very nice, comfortable, and quiet double decker with W/C. Our guide, Uta, was terrific, very nice and spoke very good English. She gave good information along the way, and seemed to really enjoy showing people around. The trip itself was amazing - the countryside on the way is absolutely breathtaking. The Eagle's Nest itself is small, but has a restaurant and patio seating, which on a nice day would be just about one of the best beer spots around. Hiking around the rocks above the Eagle's Nest is a must.

This tour is essentially purchasing your bus trip up and back, along with the guide and driver's time. You still have to pay extra (I think 13 Euros) for the other bus at the site itself that takes you up to the Eagle's Nest and the elevator trip up (which is also pretty cool). That bus trip (from the base of the mountain up) is incredible. Note that there are some pretty sheer drops at the side of this one lane road, so if you're height squeamish, you may want to let someone else have the window.

We made good enough time on the mountain that we were able to make a quick stop in Berchetsgaden, which is a super cute town, relatively untouched by the war, so it's still a bit of a time warp.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I was just happy that I made it to this place. The views from the top are stunning especially if you are fortunate to get a clear day. The information at the documentation centre and the bunker all adds up to this historically important place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A wonderful trip! We had beautiful clear sunny weather so the view from the Eagle's Nest was fantastic. Everything was very well organised and the tour guide, Charles, was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was out of sight! Our guide was exceptional and the trip to the Eagle's Nest was nothing short of spectacular! The weather was incredible and I was told that days like that only occur about ten times a year. The steep mountain roads provide spectacular views on the way there. If you take the tour of the little museum, make sure to follow the dirt path down the side of the mountain to see the remaining foundations of Hitler's home at the base of the mountain which the allies had ordered to be destroyed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

The tour was well organized. Tour guide was knowledgable and capable of answering all questions relating to the tour. Tour guide also provided insight into the history of the surrounding area that was not necessarily part of the tour. Tour guide and driver were very punctual, professional, and courteous. I feel that the price of the tour was reasonable. I would definately use this company again.

From USD $ 54.43

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285011

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message