5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1367 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1367 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Steve was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable. He wove stories of people he has met over the years into the tour, giving color and shape to a bleak setting. His love for history and passion for preserving it made the tour and absolute pleasure. Very affordable as well!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything about this tour was what I expected. The guide was passionate and knowledgeable, and I absolutely loved that she, as well as the site itself, highlighted that it was not just he Jews who were persecuted here, but many, many groups of people.

The grey skies and cold really emphasized the gloomy atmosphere of the site and I was quite taken back that you can actually see and walk through gas chambers and the ovens.

Amazing trip, 100% worth it from every aspect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

has to be seen to truly be appreciated. Steve the guide was brilliant, had so much knowledge about the camp and from the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Diana was absolutely wonderful. You can tell that she wants each participant to take away something from the tour. And while it was a somber location, she made it fun and was so very open to receiving questions. I loved the tour with her and would take another one led by her to anywhere.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very somber tour, but exactly as it should have been. Excellent presentation of history of the camp and the historical circumstances. Diana was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was our first tour of our trip and thanks to the tour guide Steve from the tour company located inside the main train station - he was so engaging and knowledgeable. He kept the group interested and he made sure we saw the most important areas of the camp. This is a very sober place, so much history. A must see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The guide was extremely knowledgeable. In addition having an intimate knowledge of Dachau was able to describe the events taking place around the world during that time period which added a great deal of additional color. The guide efficiently lead the group through the various forms of transportation, (train and bus) to arrive at our destination. The guide did a great job describing the camp and even allowed time for private reflection. The camp is very well maintained. I highly recommend this tour and feel that everyone should experience this firsthand in order to ensure that the events that took place, never occur again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely one of the best tours we have ever taken! The tour guide was very informative. We would recommend this tour as a "must". We will book through Viator whenever possible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Alun was a great tour guide -I learnt so much

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. My only suggestion is that he be allowed to have a microphone and slow down. He shared a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing/humbling experience. Our tour guide was very informative and made the trip one we will never forget.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We left this tour in a somber mood, but am so glad we took the time. Our guide was very informative and gave us so much background history. This is a must for anyone visiting Germany.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable about the rise of Nazism, the causes of its rise, and how the concentration camp played it's part in the tragedy. A "must do" tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Keith W. took us on a trip through time during our Dachau tour in Munich. He was informative, very knowledgeable and approachable, so no one felt too intimidated to ask questions. He delivered the tour with the perfect balance of dignity and insight, and it was a pleasure to be a part of.

A wonderful tour I would recommend for anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was really great. Our guide, Sabri, was extremely knowledgeable and sensitive to the subject matter. He handled difficult questions from others in our group perfectly. I highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent and personally, the best of all our guides over 7 weeks in Europe. He was English but spoke German so we had no issues with accent when listening to him. His knowledge of WW1 and WW2
History and the lead up was excellent, as I came to appreciate better how the countries got into the situation they did, that cost so many lives.. thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour and Jeff was very knowledgeable and informed about the events that happened in Dachau. He was very patient and answered all questions in a kind way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide Steve was great. He provided a comprehensive history and guided us around the main highlights of Dachau. Time was available to wonder at the end of the tour before catching bus/train back.
I recommend doing this tour so that you gain a comprehensive understanding of what happened at Dachau.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant, our tour guide, Steve, was so knowledgeable about this entire historical period. I would highly highly recommend this tour. Even though you can go to Dachau without a tour, I certainly felt that having a tour guide was very beneficial.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Ian who is 1/2 German and 1/2 American gathered our group of about a dozen at the Munich Bahnhof where we boarded a train and then a bus for our 5-1/2 hour tour of Dachau. Ian was quite knowledgeable about the first Nazi concentration camp and gave us a comprehensive tour of what is left of the camp. Although there are only a few of the original buildings left and everything in and around the camp is clean and it is now much more populated around the camp, the exhibits did a good job of educating us. Ian filled in with other important information that helped us understand what we were seeing. For example, I didn’t know there were so many satellite camps associated with the concentration camps. Please remember that these tour guides work for tips that are not included in the tour price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour, and Steven provided fantastic historical background. His insights greatly enhanced the tour and made it a very special experience. He was able to treat a sober experience with the respect required, but still present a historical perspective far beyond what is usually covered in history books. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to not just see Dachau, but really experience and learn about Dachau.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I only cried 4 times ---but this tour was very enlightening---and a must see...the actual place was more disturbing than I ever imagined....and the tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable of the facts....no pictures could ever adequately describe this place....a period of history that should have never happened! ...but we all should remember why!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommend this tour for anyone who’s ever had the slightest interest in the history and progression of Western Europe and Hitler’s rise to power. I had the fortunate opportunity to visit the Holocaust Museum in Washington D.C. a couple weeks prior to this, so it was very powerful to see it all first-hand. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about Dachau. He also guided other Munich tours as well, and was an archeologist by trade, so he brought a very unique perspective to the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Keith W was a terrific tour guide for this tour. Very knowledgable on the subject. Gave plenty of time for pictures and questions. One of the best tour guides we had on this trip our any other trip

From USD $ 26.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666CAMP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message