4.5 star rating: Recommended 47 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ettal Monastery and Zugspitze Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 47 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

You can't miss this tour, a must for sure if your in Munich.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Gunther was a good tour guide. Excellent day trip to the mountains. He spoke many languages whilst on the coach which was good for all passengers as some were spanish, english, german etc but it did get a little annoying after being constant for 1 hour. The scenery was lovely and a well organised trip. Would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

In terms of WOW factor, the Zugspitze tour wins hands down! We were very fortunate to get sunny weather on the day of our tour. We got fantastic views of the peak , surrounding mountains and glacier. Note: very important to bring along an extra layer of warm clothing or you will freeze like I did in shorts, a t-shirt and a thin runner's jacket. It was 9C at the peak with gusty winds whereas back in Munich it was around 30C. Ettal Monastery was also very good although we did not have much time to spend there as the queue for the cable car ride up Zugspitze was very long (1/2 hour wait) leaving us not much time for the Monastery. Beautiful alpine scenery along the way. Gunther, our guide, did a great job. Some of the passengers were not heeding to his instructions to be on time. Very inconsiderate.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I can say that this was one of the most enjoyable days of my trip to Munich. And what a beautiful day it was as well. The monastery is interesting to visit but the highlight of the tour is the Mountain including the ride in the cable car and cog wheel train. Spectacular views all around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Good composition of iterneraries. Could start earlier to compensate for the autobahn traffic jam. Guide was good and professional and did make up time by returning late to Munich.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Beautiful and very exciting. There was the perfect amount of time for everything...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Unfortunately our day was delayed to unforseen traffic jams as well as change in weather. Our tour guide Debbie was awesome. She tried to connect with each individual group of travelors. Stayed positive with all our obstacles that occurred. Very knowledgeable, friendly and courteous.

David F
Bermuda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

A must do! This was the high point of our Munich vacation. Being in the German Alps was something we will never forget. Breathtaking view and experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

How can anyone say anything negative about the Zugspitze. We were dissappointed there was no snow, but that couldn't be helped.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Tour was great. Guide walked to fast for a lot of the people and we had to search for her at the ticket offices. Guide talked too much. When she wasn't telling us about what we were seeing and going to see. she was talking to the bus driver. She never shut up for a moment the entire tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Ettal Monastery was very lovely. Not much time there. Zugspitze was fantastic! Views were fabulous! We had snow. Take out restaurant was very good.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very relaxing and probably the best activity we did on the trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

We really enjoyed our excursion to Zugspitze. Although the weather was somewhat unpredictable and the view was restricted by snow falls and mist we had the time of our life. We enjoyed the various forms of transport. The service supplier was well organised and professional.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The entire trip was great! We fortunately had good weather and the views of the alps were spectacular. Our tour guide was knowledgable although a little dour. The only reason not to give 5 stars is that it wasn't clear where to check in and that process was disorganized. Once on the bus, no problems!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Highly recommended! It was such a great day. My husband and I were so happy that the tour guide made sure we went early to the Zugspitze panorama because of the rainy/cloudy weather expected later in the day. It was a wonderful experience and perfectly scheduled.

From USD $ 112.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285014

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message