• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 41 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ettal Monastery and Zugspitze Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 41 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Unfortunately our day was delayed to unforseen traffic jams as well as change in weather. Our tour guide Debbie was awesome. She tried to connect with each individual group of travelors. Stayed positive with all our obstacles that occurred. Very knowledgeable, friendly and courteous.

David F
Bermuda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

A must do! This was the high point of our Munich vacation. Being in the German Alps was something we will never forget. Breathtaking view and experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

How can anyone say anything negative about the Zugspitze. We were dissappointed there was no snow, but that couldn't be helped.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Tour was great. Guide walked to fast for a lot of the people and we had to search for her at the ticket offices. Guide talked too much. When she wasn't telling us about what we were seeing and going to see. she was talking to the bus driver. She never shut up for a moment the entire tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Ettal Monastery was very lovely. Not much time there. Zugspitze was fantastic! Views were fabulous! We had snow. Take out restaurant was very good.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very relaxing and probably the best activity we did on the trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

We really enjoyed our excursion to Zugspitze. Although the weather was somewhat unpredictable and the view was restricted by snow falls and mist we had the time of our life. We enjoyed the various forms of transport. The service supplier was well organised and professional.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Highly recommended! It was such a great day. My husband and I were so happy that the tour guide made sure we went early to the Zugspitze panorama because of the rainy/cloudy weather expected later in the day. It was a wonderful experience and perfectly scheduled.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The tour was very well organized and it was great. Going up the Alps was a great experience. The weather was so good too. Recommend to anyone who is going to Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great trip. Remember to take a jacket, it is verycold at the top of Zugspitze.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This tour was great! We headed by bus to the Ettal Monastery and had about half an hour to view the Monastery and the surrounding shops (which sold goods and liquors made by the monastery itself). It was perfect amount of time - we had the perfect amount of time to explore and weren't having to sit around waiting to get back on the bus. The monastery was beautiful - the inside was probably the most beautiful church, cathedral, monastery I saw during my time in Europe. It was absolutely stunning. When we went in a ceremony was going on, which was quite interesting to watch. After we got back on the bus and headed to Zugspitze - the whole way is spectacular scenary. Make sure you sit on the left side of the bus for uninterrupted views. The day we went was particularly bad weather and they had shut off the cable cars. We took the cogwheel train up but visability was bad on the mountain and you couldn't see anything from the observation deck. We ate at Germany's highest beer garden (delicious food) and headed back down. If you have the option of checking the weather before you book - please do! Book for a clear day! We still loved the tour and made the most of what we could do on Zugspitze. A beautiful area of Germany and a fun tour :)

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great for Zugspitze but totally misleading for the Ettal part: probably just a trick to combine two tours/groups in the same bus. We got to Ettal around 11:30, washroom break (longer since free), entered the church during mass and left after 5 minutes (this tour is only on Sundays – mass…), 5 minutes in the courtyard and then 10 minutes near a specific souvenir shop to wait for the bus (from carrying the other group to Linderhof). Then drive to Garmisch-Partenkirchen, take the cable car to Zugspitze – around 20 frantic minutes on top (great weather; the guide really too worried not to lose someone), take another cable car to the glacier (down 300 m), spend around a hour here (time for lunch), then take the cogwheel train down at 15:30 (most of the ride is in a tunnel), then at 17 take the bus back.Great for the mountain part, no extra payment, but Ettal shouldn’t be advertised.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The coach is good, the programme is perfect, the guide is also good. However, on that day, there was a very bad traffic congestion from Munich to Zugspitze. Therefore, the programme was delay, and everything became hurry and rush. In this case, I prefer the extension of the time. However, I understand that it was not on my own decision since we still had a lot of people went together. In overall, the tour quality is good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Good trip.

Jody D
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Excellent tour and Maria took very good care of us, she even entertained us with facts and stories of the area while we sat in Sunday traffic. It's too bad the tour couldn"t leave earlier so we could get a little more time in Ettal.

From USD $ 126.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285014

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message