4.5 star rating: Recommended 49 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ettal Monastery and Zugspitze Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 49 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Tour was great. Guide walked to fast for a lot of the people and we had to search for her at the ticket offices. Guide talked too much. When she wasn't telling us about what we were seeing and going to see. she was talking to the bus driver. She never shut up for a moment the entire tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Ettal Monastery was very lovely. Not much time there. Zugspitze was fantastic! Views were fabulous! We had snow. Take out restaurant was very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very relaxing and probably the best activity we did on the trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

We really enjoyed our excursion to Zugspitze. Although the weather was somewhat unpredictable and the view was restricted by snow falls and mist we had the time of our life. We enjoyed the various forms of transport. The service supplier was well organised and professional.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. The bus was air conditioned and the tour guide was very friendly and helpful. The Ettal Monastery visit was quick but we were able to go inside and take pictures. The Zugspitze trip was very enjoyable. It was not crowded at the top and although the clouds were everywhere we still were able to get some great pictures. Overall this trip is a must for anyone that likes to be outdoors and is a nature lover.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The entire trip was great! We fortunately had good weather and the views of the alps were spectacular. Our tour guide was knowledgable although a little dour. The only reason not to give 5 stars is that it wasn't clear where to check in and that process was disorganized. Once on the bus, no problems!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Highly recommended! It was such a great day. My husband and I were so happy that the tour guide made sure we went early to the Zugspitze panorama because of the rainy/cloudy weather expected later in the day. It was a wonderful experience and perfectly scheduled.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The tour was very well organized and it was great. Going up the Alps was a great experience. The weather was so good too. Recommend to anyone who is going to Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This tour was great! We headed by bus to the Ettal Monastery and had about half an hour to view the Monastery and the surrounding shops (which sold goods and liquors made by the monastery itself). It was perfect amount of time - we had the perfect amount of time to explore and weren't having to sit around waiting to get back on the bus. The monastery was beautiful - the inside was probably the most beautiful church, cathedral, monastery I saw during my time in Europe. It was absolutely stunning. When we went in a ceremony was going on, which was quite interesting to watch. After we got back on the bus and headed to Zugspitze - the whole way is spectacular scenary. Make sure you sit on the left side of the bus for uninterrupted views. The day we went was particularly bad weather and they had shut off the cable cars. We took the cogwheel train up but visability was bad on the mountain and you couldn't see anything from the observation deck. We ate at Germany's highest beer garden (delicious food) and headed back down. If you have the option of checking the weather before you book - please do! Book for a clear day! We still loved the tour and made the most of what we could do on Zugspitze. A beautiful area of Germany and a fun tour :)

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great for Zugspitze but totally misleading for the Ettal part: probably just a trick to combine two tours/groups in the same bus. We got to Ettal around 11:30, washroom break (longer since free), entered the church during mass and left after 5 minutes (this tour is only on Sundays – mass…), 5 minutes in the courtyard and then 10 minutes near a specific souvenir shop to wait for the bus (from carrying the other group to Linderhof). Then drive to Garmisch-Partenkirchen, take the cable car to Zugspitze – around 20 frantic minutes on top (great weather; the guide really too worried not to lose someone), take another cable car to the glacier (down 300 m), spend around a hour here (time for lunch), then take the cogwheel train down at 15:30 (most of the ride is in a tunnel), then at 17 take the bus back.Great for the mountain part, no extra payment, but Ettal shouldn’t be advertised.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The coach is good, the programme is perfect, the guide is also good. However, on that day, there was a very bad traffic congestion from Munich to Zugspitze. Therefore, the programme was delay, and everything became hurry and rush. In this case, I prefer the extension of the time. However, I understand that it was not on my own decision since we still had a lot of people went together. In overall, the tour quality is good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Good trip.

Jody D
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Excellent tour and Maria took very good care of us, she even entertained us with facts and stories of the area while we sat in Sunday traffic. It's too bad the tour couldn"t leave earlier so we could get a little more time in Ettal.

Julie J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The Zugspitze is a great experience, however, the tour operator is highly disorganised. They were not aware of group numbers until seating us. We had too many for the bus and needed a double decker. This would take a while as roads were closed due to a marathon.No problem. We would wait. After a while the bulk of the group got back on the original bus. When our group of six moved to do the same we were told to wait for the second bus. I asked about our paperwork. That was retrieved from the original bus and given to our guide waiting with us. Half an hour after the original bus had left, ours arrived. We hopped on ,got seated, the guide came down to the back of the bus to us and said something us about the Linderberg Tour. I just looked at her and said "No, the Zugspitze Tour." She looked at me and said that that tour was the bus that had gone and we should have been on it. WE HAD BEEN TOLD WE COULDN'T GET ON. Originally the operator thought the Zugspitze Tour was overbooked when really they were trying to put two different tours on the same bus. They must have worked it out, to send the first bus off, but they didn't ensure that we got on the right bus. My voucher that was retreived had Zugspitze written on it in large colour print. After some frantic phone calls we went with the Linderberg Tour group and caught up with our tour on their way back from the Ettal Monastery to the Zugspitze. Unfortunately we missed part of our tour which is meant to be magnificent but we did get the mountain. The organisation is ordinary but the mountain alps are highly recommended.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Fantastic - Loved being able to participate in the worship service, shopping in Oberamergau, being on top of the Zugspitze.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Tour was way too short for the itinerary - should have started at 8:30am for this tour to visit Zugspitze and have adequate time to enjoy the views at the top, particularly considering the expense of the trip.
Tour guide was quite stressed given the group size and crowds whilst did affect the Team vibe but sympathetic.
Would not recommend this tour unless the starting time was pulled ahead to 8:30am, otherwise would consider an alternative option. This area is definitely a must see when visiting Germany - certainly a highlight

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Disappointed that this tour took us only to Zugspitze and not to Ettal Monastery though viator mentions both.

Sandra E
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Mottal Church is best of its type I have seen. Beatiful. Rest of tour was not pleasant. Long queues at cable car and bus was one and half late picking us up with no explanation. Very poor.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

This trip was far too rushed....First castle we were running back to bus...lunch was then rushed and after that we were again rushed to get back to the bus after a long climb up to the castle....over 200 stairs during the tour and a strenuous walk back down. Again...we just made it...The degree of difficulty should be explained up front...or at the least extra time added...not all your guests are 20 year olds...

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

The company oversold the number of tickets so we started the day waiting most of an hour for a bigger bus. This made everything the rest of the day be rushed. At the end of the day a 3rd bus had to be summoned since the 2nd one had no air conditioning. What should have been a pleasant tour was a stressful day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The guide was knowledgeable but not a people-friendly person. He was curt rather than courteous.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Twenty-five minutes for Ettal is too little. Any stop that is only for 25 minutes shouldn't be included at all in a tour, in my opinion.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

I was very dissapointed with the arrangements. 2 different tours on 1 bus. Only 10 minutes to spend on Zugzpitze, only 15 min to spend and Monastery. I think it is a rip off and did not get my money's worth. I would think that we must be refunded for this trip. 2 tourguides, 2 trips, the 1 tourguide did not want to allow us to get on the bus, the other did not give us an itenary off the day and did not inform us of meeting points etc. very unsattisfactory

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2008

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the tour but there were two significant problems: one, her English was horrible - two, she was not friendly.

From USD $ 101.17

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285014

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message