Viewing All 125 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

bonnie k

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Awesome tour. Anuschua was funny and interesting and knowledgeable. You can tell she really enjoys what she does and wanted everyone to have a good time.

Terence M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Our Oktoberfest Tour Guide, Ian (sp?), really did a top-notch job of explaining the history and scope of Oktoberfest and provided a very good tour of the grounds. I was a bit surprised that at least one other tour guuide basically "abandoned" her tour group once she guided them inside to their assigned beer tent seating. This was only about two hours after first meeting them. At least, Ian stayed with us a while to make sure that we knew what to expect, and how to order, at the beer tent. It was an enjoyable time, although the food offering and choices to accompany the two liters of beer were pretty meager. I would probably recommend your tour to other first-timers at the Oktoberfest.

Brad P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Had a great time at Oktoberfest. This tour was great, got good information about the fest during tour.

Jennifer H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Great atmosphere in the tent and lots of fun, had a great day

Judith R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Nice tour of the grounds before going into the tent. Very informative guide who did a good job explainig history of the event. Had a great time in the tent! Good food and nice people. A must for ease of doing Oct Fest. Made the whole thing easier with reverving a spot at a table.

Ms JC Y

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Good for a first-timer, but the tour-part itself (before one gets to the beer tent) feels a bit rushed.

Justin G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

A lot of fun. Not just a drinking party

Katrina N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

I'm glad that we signed up for the Oktoberfest tour. It was a great introduction to the festival. Our guide Ian was fun and answered all my questions.

Kimberly P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

This tour was informative yet casual and Heidi, our tour guide, was the icing on the cake (knowledgeable with a sense of humor). One note I would make is on the location of Viator’s tables. Do not plan to be at the center of things. Our tables were nestled in the bowels and recesses of the overall tent. While this made for an interesting position to people watch, I would have preferred to be part of the overall crowd. That being said, as long as you had some trusty friends to “hold down the fort” you were able to meander at will and enjoy everything the Hofbrau tent had to offer.

Leon L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

We walked to the Oktoberfest grounds which was OK BUT, I was already tired of walking--though a nice day to walk. Tour Guide Heidi(?) was Great! Fantastic! A wealth of information, and, a wealth of personality--she was genuinely entertaining. Seats in the HofBrau tent marginal--someone else also was occupying them when we arrived-Seats need to be more out in the open. Tent activities fun as always and the chicken was very good. Good tour.

annie

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

must be a big beer drinker to do this ...

adelinechan8

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The tour guides were great and it was a wonderful atmosphere but it's not worth the amount.

Sarodpipa

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Hello, my boyfriend and I were in Munich for 2 days during the Oktoberfest. Since I read that entering a tent was extremely difficult we decided to book for this tour. First the tour guide takes the whole group walking to the Oktoberfest site (about 20 mins. away) making frequent stops and giving you highlights of the story of this festival. We walked to the ferris wheel to get the ride (about 7.50eur. per person) which didn't look too hard to get if on your own since lines were not bad at all. Then we proceeded to enter the Hofbraus Haus tent around noon which looked packed already. Our tables were all the way in the back, away from the music playing. Beers and food was ordered (beers around 11eur. each and chicken around 10-12eur.) so we're talking about 45eur. for two people). The tour was supposed to end around 5pm but after you eat and drink the beer some people started leaving already, especially if the group is not that lively and don't celebrate together. If you definitely want to get inside one of this tents, getting into a tour like this one would be your only chance to enjoy the Oktoberfest this way, otherwise it is almost impossible to enter one without reservation but if you make the numbers of what you get, it becomes a little overpriced.

Charles M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour was great and the guides were very knowledgeable, however we were only using this as a means to gain entry to a tent and it appears we could have waltzed in at that time of day with no issues on our own. They walk you in around Noon, and on weekdays that time of day it is fairly easy to gain entry it appears. However, if you want a nice little history of the grounds, it's a nice tour to go on, and they definitely fulfill their promise of two beers and half a chicken. Your tables are way over to the side, out of the action though, so it's best to drink and eat quickly and then escape to some of the communal tables in the middle of the tent for more fun.

S&G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The guide Kevin is really good. But it's a little over priced.

Roger N

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Tour guide disorganized and unable to hear him as he talked away from people as he pointed out sites. Time in tent good and lunch good..

Stanislaw S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

I expected something better.

Hofferber1108

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

It was cool getting some of the background history behind Oktoberfest, but it was a bit expensive for what we got out of it.The tour wasn't anything we couldn't have done on our own. Wouldn't do it again, especially for the price.

Mark A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

The tour was quite insightful and detailed thanks to Ian, our guide who took efforts to explain in detail the culture and background of the event, he was very well prepared and knew each and every aspect of the fest: the origin of the Oktoberfest, participating breweries, historical significance to the region etc etc After a detailed background of the 'fest' , followed by a tour of the grounds, a Ferris Wheel ride, and the final culmination at the 'Hofbrauhaus' tent - one of the more popular beer tents, this was followed by 2 one litre beer steins and half a roast chicken each. In all this tour covered quite a bit of the Oktoberfest, however I feel that it was overpriced with what was offered. Yes - we did have reserved seats - however they were reserved only till 5p.m. and the hall was half full till 6 p.m. when the actual action started, my suggestion is if this tour covered the action from 6p.m. to 10 p.m. it would be worth the cost as the singing and dancing actually begins later..before 5 p.m. you don't actually need a reservation to enter the tents, as they're empty anyway. However, to be fair it was an enjoyable event overall..

James H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Great time, tour guide Austin was the best.

jruhlman

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We could have done this on our own. The guide was was polite and knowledgeable, but the tour was boring. Once seated inside the tent we were put back in a far corner way away from the action.
Way too much money for the return.

Michael T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Not a good overall experience. The tour guide was excellent but the seating was terrible. We were crammed at a picnic table that was literally against the wall and the next table with no space to walk. If someone wanted to get up the entire side of the table had to get up and stand in the walkway. We were charged an extra 2 euros for each "free" beer because the price went up. That was Viator's problem, not mine. We couldn't get out of there and go to another tent quick enough.

EDWARD W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

This tour was definitely overpriced for what we saw, did and got. Had we known more about Oktoberfest in Munich, and how accessible it was, we could have done it on our own for a lot less. Our tables were placed/located in a corner of the hall which precluded any reasonable view of the floor activities and/or entertainment. It would have been easy to buy a ferris wheel ticket too. At about $123 pp; we could have done it all and got a lot more food and drink on our own.

Jo Singapore

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

ridiculously overpriced and didn't even get to use my second drink ticket - was not allowed to get back into the tent! and the "tour" was basically walkign around the festival grounds - which u should be able to do by yourself?!? how difficult is it to tell that it is a carousel?

Pamela S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

The tour guide was ok, had to walk alot more than expected(having a bad knee, he didn't seem to care much, so My husband and I were way behind and did not hear half of what was going on) Oktoberfest seating , being reserved where not very good and they shoved us in a crowded corned with to many people at one table.

Viewing 5 of 5

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5

From USD $ 151.44

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666OKTOBER

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message