4 star rating: Recommended 70 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 70 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I think this tour has a lot of potential, but doing it completely in the dark wasn't actually all that interesting. It would be better if the Olympic tower was visited first, around dusk offering sunset views vs completely in the dark. You do the tour portion after dinner (which the description isn't really clear about). It would have been better if the tour portion was first, and then went to dinner. That way, if you wanted to stay at Hofbrauhaus after others wanted to go, you could. I think the "club" after is not really adding anything to this tour. Glad we did it, but not sure if it was worth the money.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

I had a very different idea of what the evening would be like. While we had a decent time, I found the evening disconnected with little connection from event to event. It also felt a bit rushed. I suppose it might have been better if I were a beer drinker. Food was so so.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Fast paced tour. Hofbrauhaus was nice, wish we could have stayed there longer. The nightclub was just a hotel bar that was empty. It was disappointing. The Olympic tower was a nice trip with good views.

Andre D
South Africa

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Don't think that it was good value for money.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The tour itself was fun, but the tour guide was not very reliable. He told us all the trains ran until 2 am, but in fact the train to the outer towns stops around 11pm and we had to pay almost 80 euro for a taxi ride back to our hotel.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Dinner at the hoffbrau house was good as was the entertainment , but the tour at night was too dark to see much.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We sat for two hour waiting for our food in the beer garden. Tour of Olympic tower done at night in the rain. It would have been better during the day when you could see some of Munich besides the lit up BMW building. Our visit to the 'night club' was really just a nice bar in a hotel. No entertainment and cut short due to the 3 1/2 hours spent in the beer garden. Would not recommend this tour!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The night of the dinner was a holiday so the crowds we're overwhelming. Still enjoyable

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

The tour guide was very pleasant and personable and worked very hard to make for a pleasant evening for everyone. In addition to the narrative of the tour, she took dinner and drink orders and coordinated the food service at the Hofbrauhaus for our group. We were in Munich during the 2nd week of Oktoberfest and its likely we could not have visited the Hofbrauhaus without this tour. That said, we are not sure we'd recommend this tour. The dinner at Hofbrauhaus was reasonably good, but service was poor. The waiter was not a happy person and appeared to "fuss" at our guide frequently about orders and food delivery. Once seated, it took 30 minutes for our beer to be served and another 30 minutes for the entree. Obviously Hofbrauhaus was packed and it was extremely hot with no air circulation. The music was enjoyable but hard to hear due to the volume of people celebrating and drinking. The brief stop of the hotel bar for a cocktail was a bit rushed, lasting about 20 minutes, due to the lateness of dinner and the need to proceed to the Olympic Tower. We arrived to find the elevator operator upset at our delayed arrival and he displayed a very rude and arrogant attitude to the tour guide. Our stay at the top observation deck lasted less than 10 minutes. The tour concluded back at the main Train Station after midnight. I booked this tour because of favorable reviews and I feel our experience was due to the delays and poor service at the Hofbrauhaus, and felt the overall value of what we paid and received was lacking. It certainly was not the fault of the tour guide.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Our tour guide did not seem like she wanted to be there at all and was just going through the motions. The dinner was interesting but nothing you couldn't do by yourself for a cheaper price. My husband and I took a taxi from nymphenburg palace area and back for less then 30 euro and had dinner here the night before which was much more memorable.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

This tour was good. The only thing is that our tour guide was a bit crass and not very friendly. There were only two out of ten people on the bus who spoke Italian and the rest spoke English. Despite this, she spoke mostly Italian during the tour with a few words in English. The Bavarian dinner was great! We had a fantastic time at Hofbrauhaus with the lively entertainment. The night club was good too, but it would have been better if we were able to actually get up and dance while we were there. It was boring to just sit and sip drinks at a nightclub. Some of the people on our tour were older, so this was a better fit for them on our last stop.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I went to Munich for Oktoberfest and knew that I had no chance of getting into the Hofbrauhaus alone prompting me to book this tour. While being at the Hofbrauhaus was fantastic and the pre-ordering of food made for a smooth evening, there were many things that I would not recommend this tour because of. There were three parties in our group that were left at the resturaunt, one ran the streets of Munich looking for the bus to catch up to us. I even left at the same moment as the guide and lost him on the stairs, barely finding him again once outside and guessed they went back to the place the bus dropped us off at. The nightclub is just going and listening to music with bad cocktails. The Olympic Tower while nice to see is a bit late and rushed as it is the last thing of the evening. Hofbrauhaus was good, but the tour operator needs to have better accountability. If you want to see the place it is great, but I recommend going on your own.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Definitely not worth the money

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Booking this tour allowed a reservation at the Hofbrau Haus during the busy Oktoberfest in Munich. However, the food was not exceptional, and the small fluid intake of .5 liter or one small glass of water was totally inadequate, especially for the price we paid. The bar was completely a waste as there was no provision for our group's seating and no musical entertainment was provided. Visiting the Olympia Tower was also a waste for two reasons: fog prevented all visibility, and the evening was much too long. We were exceedingly disappointed.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

I wouldn't recommend this at all.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

Again, this was run by a "Sight Seeing" tour group, and that was what it was. A bunch of sight seeing - drive by - without much substance. The dinner at the Hofbrauhaus was a major disappointment. A piece of pork in a bowl with some gut of some sort. That was it. Would have been better if the tour had charged more and given us an opportunity to have a real meal. The food looked great, but we were not able to order something we wanted.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

The tour guide for my first night in Germany was horrible. She was very rude when we were asking questions on the food menu before we left for the Hofbrauhaus and basically gave us only 3 choices. She then proceeded to leave a younger group of about 8 tourists at the hall b/c they were in the bathroom when she told the group it was time to go. Even after the whole tour said we were ok to wait for them on the bus. We were then taken to the 'club' to have our free drink, where she barked at us to not leave the designated area for any reason. And for that reason as well as her being so rude and inconsiderate, me and my fiance took our free drink and left the tour altogether, as we werent about to be rushed about on our night. I dont recommend this particular tour for the price nor the tour guide, it simply wasnt worth it for the experience. Just go to the Hofbrauhaus on your own, you will have a much better time. We did however have a wonderful experience with the same company with the Eagle's Nest tour, so dont discount the company as a whole, just beware of who the tour guide is!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

This would be a good tour if you're aged 50+. We actually ended up leaving the tour right after dinner. The tour guide was very very frazzled and overbearing the entire time. At dinner we wanted to order a second drink since we had plenty of time and everyone was ordering dessert but we didn't want any. She took our order and later we found out she didn't put our order in at all but just lied to us. We don't have patience for that sort of behavior. The group was mostly elderly people so for a young couple like us it wasn't very entertaining. This tour operator is one I think is a good tour group for elderly people.

Stephen E
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2009

This is a rip off. One drink in the Hofbrauhaus. Very poor food. We left after having tried to complain to the tour guide, suddenly she lost her hearing and her command of the English language. Don't give it a second thought.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2008

Munich is not much to see at night. The lights are off. I did like the Dinner at Hofbrauhaus. This you can also do on your own. The guides were very unprofessional. They were laughing a lot with private jokes. It was not necessary to visit a bar at the end.

From USD $ 73.43

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 28507

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message