4.5 star rating: Recommended 1166 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1166 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour exceeded all of my expectations. Our tour guide Austin was extremely knowlegeable and passionate about Ludwig II and the facts and speculations surrounding his life and the famous castle.

Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! The tour office in Munich was easy to find. The train ride through the alps was comfortable and beautiful. The castle was very impressive, as was the scenery. Our guide was excellent, very happy to answer any questions and is clearly passionate about this part of the world. He made sure we were all comfortable and had everything that we needed. We learnt a lot on this trip and look forward to returning to Neuschwanstein Castle in the future. A wonderful day all round. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip was awesome! It was everything that I could have hoped it would be! We had transportation everywhere, and had a lot of background history and information that helped us to have an even better experience! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and was so willing to answer any questions that we had! I had a great experience and I would do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

To start, I must say that I had the most incredible tour guide! We had particularly challenging circumstances the day of my tour, but he was able to make everything go smoothly while allowing adequate time to see all of the various places. The tour guide was also incredibly knowledgable and a genuinely caring, sociable guy!
I will say that the tour within the castle was sort of disappointing; however, that has nothing to do with the tour company! That is strictly due to the regulations of the operators at the castle. I felt very rushed inside the castle for the tour, and it was evident that they were simply out to make money.
Contrary to not being able to see much inside the castle, the views from outside the castle made the day beyond worth the money. There were incredible views of the Bavarian Alps, and the view from the bridge overlooking the castle was breath-taking. I do 100% recommend this tour to anyone! I would make note that there is fairly rigorous hiking up the hill to the castle; however, there was a carriage that I believe was 4 euro for a ride up the hill. Additionally, if seeing the inside of the castle is your only desire, I would not recommend this tour, as we were only in the castle for 30 minutes more or less. If you are considering this tour, I absolutely recommend booking it through Viator! I have done multiple tours through Viator and have not yet had a poor experience; I have gotten my moneys worth, to say the least!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Listen, these people know what they are doing! It could not be easier or better really. You go to Munich Hbf and find their kiosk, guide takes you to the correct train, chill out on the train, get on a bus that takes you to another small bus to take you to the top! You definitely want to pay the 2 Euros to that bus driver! No waiting in que, guide hand delivered tickets...Castle is everything they say! Perfect amount of time for everything, definitely would recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Austin was awesome! Super funny and really engaged our group. The castle was amazing. The sun was shining, the leaves were turning color and we were in an amazing little German town. What is not to love??

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very enjoyable. Well worth the visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Beautiful castle. Spectacular views. Very friendly and nice guide. It was little bit difficult to find the radius tour office in the station.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was amazing, super service

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wow-what a fabulous tour. Great train ride with approaching views of the Alps. Great views of the castle from the bridge and by beating the line-ups to get inside. And with our knowledgable and amusing guide, Austin, one of the best guides ever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful. Really enjoyed. Lots of walking and up steep hill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour! Too bad taking picture is not allowed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Fussen and Neuschwanstein Castle via train on Sept 29, 2014.. Beautiful scenery on our trip to Fussen and back to Munich. Austin was a great tour guide very funny and gave the history is an interesting way. Beautiful day too, clear blue skies and upper 70's. I would recommend this tour, ask for Austin!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised tour, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and made sure the group was together when it needed to be. Would certainly do another tour with Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was amazing, the sights were every bite as beautiful as advertised. Our tour guide (Anya) was completely knowledgeable of all the questions asked, very informative, warm and friendly to all. Highly recommend this tour for value and beauty. Comfortable and very clean coaches.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, awesome castle, fabulous day! Highly recommend :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was Roland. He was a great tour guide with lots of information! Great personality as well! Loved our tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friends and I really enjoyed our tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. Though once inside the castle the actual castle tour seemed quick and we were not allowed to take pictures, it was still a good time. Our actual tour guide for before and after inside the castle was amazing and very informative! We would definitely recommend to others.

Kiki_Jane
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome tour and Austin was such a great tour guide! 100% recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this trip! We had a wonderful guide--Jeff-- who really made it enjoyable. The castle is breathtaking and the climb up is definitely steep, but worth it. Jeff warned us it was steep and he did not sugarcoat it! Nevertheless it was a memorable say that I will never forget!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Neuschwanstein Castle is a must see site in Bavaria. The castle interior and the setting high above the village and lakes are wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Austin was such a great guide! Had a great day at the Castle!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip was amazing. Our guide was unexpectedly leading 2 trips, but she handled it nicely. She did a great job explaining everything, spoke good english. The train ride to and from was a little long but provided a chance to catch a quick nap. Its a decent hike up, not a long hike, just steep. Very fascinating history. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide at the end of the day was also nice enough to give us train tickets to use the subway in Munich, a part of the price goes towards paying for train tickets, so we had asked her where a place was, she told us where and said "I'll give you tickets to go there I was going to give them out but everyone left". So she saved me about 25$ American

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fanstastic tour! Our tour guide was excellent! However a word of warning - don't do the uphill hike to Marienbrueke unless you have warmed up and you are super fit (especially on a warm day). It's a long day but so worth it! The castle is amazing! It is a 2 hour (slow but beautiful) train trip to Fussen through the country side of Bavaria - nice time to relax and take in the sights.

From USD $ 47.08

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666CASTLE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message