4.5 star rating: Recommended 1091 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1091 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Neuschwanstein Castle is a must see site in Bavaria. The castle interior and the setting high above the village and lakes are wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Austin was such a great guide! Had a great day at the Castle!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip was amazing. Our guide was unexpectedly leading 2 trips, but she handled it nicely. She did a great job explaining everything, spoke good english. The train ride to and from was a little long but provided a chance to catch a quick nap. Its a decent hike up, not a long hike, just steep. Very fascinating history. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide at the end of the day was also nice enough to give us train tickets to use the subway in Munich, a part of the price goes towards paying for train tickets, so we had asked her where a place was, she told us where and said "I'll give you tickets to go there I was going to give them out but everyone left". So she saved me about 25$ American

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fanstastic tour! Our tour guide was excellent! However a word of warning - don't do the uphill hike to Marienbrueke unless you have warmed up and you are super fit (especially on a warm day). It's a long day but so worth it! The castle is amazing! It is a 2 hour (slow but beautiful) train trip to Fussen through the country side of Bavaria - nice time to relax and take in the sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Neuschwanstein Castle was by far the best day we spent in Germany. Our guide, Austin, was extremely knowledgeable and kept us on schedule throughout the trip. The views were spectacular..would recommend this trip to anyone going to Munich..A don't miss excursion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful day at the Castle. Our guide was very informative and fun. A great way to get there and skip the lines going with this group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was beautiful and like a fairy tale castle. Worth the trip and our guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide Austin was funny, witty and super knowledgeable. We learned tons of background info on the castle and the king. He suggested restaurants to go to and gave us plenty of extra time to explore and shop on our own. He also navigated an unpleasant situation with Deutsche bahn with class!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour !! Two thumbs up !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

“Fantastic!!!!”

We went on the tour of Neuschwanstein castle with viator recently. The tour was excellent value for money including a lovely train ride through the countryside and an excellent guide (Jeff) who added so much to the experience.

The Castle itself and the views from it are stunning. We have seen several castles in Europe but this one really stands out both because of how it looks and because of the rather sad story of its creator Ludwig the Second. This is said to be the castle that inspired the castle used in the Disney logo, and its easy to see why.

Although the train was open to the public Jeff motivated the group to give a smiley "good morning" to anyone who happened to trespass. This move immediately banded the group together like a group of comrades with a common enemy, we did allow others to use the toilets though.

Jeff started the history lesson while on the train itself, information being delivered from time to time in small bite sized chunks peppered with a good dose of humour so it doesnt feel like you are back at school. He was military like with the timing and precision, ensuring that we get the maximum out of the day. Jeff's passion and competence really made the tour more enjoyable as he had hints and tips on where to take the best photos and which path to take up to the Castle depending on your fitness and interests. The group was too large and so it was split in to two. We didnt have interaction with the second guide Anya, although she did come around to say hello and seemed friendly.

All in all this castle tour, albeit on a rainy day, was one of the highlights of our trip to Europe, keep up the good work.

Just one piece of constructive criticism, some areas of the walk up to the castle and the visit to the castle itself involved very steep climbing. Although Jeff highlighted this, I feel Viator should highlight the fact that this tour may not be suitable for people with mobility issues wit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amesome tour! Meet a great group of people. Wonderful sights! Great day trip into the alps! Austin, our tour guide, rocked!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a excellent tour , and well worth the money. and our tour guide was highly professional and knowledgeable!.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this was a excellent tour and well worth the money. our tour guide was very professional and knowledable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

First, be prepared for a lot of walking! But, it is worth it completely! The train ride from Munich to the town was great ... As Americans, the train experience is something we have lost. Our guide was great ... well prepared with the history of the castle, provided good guidance to us, made us all feel comfortable, was a great "shepherd" for the group. Castle: what can I say? "Breathtaking" is just insufficient!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was really easy and meant we did not have to think about how to get everywhere. The company organised the train journey, the bus transfer to the castle, the entry into the Castle and the trip home. Very well organised! Our guide, Anya was excellent and having a native Bavarian as our tour guide meant we got accurate information. She was funny and entertaining. An excellent day, despite how long it took.

From USD $ 48.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666CASTLE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message