4.5 star rating: Recommended 1091 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1091 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The group was about 30 people... We had gone i guess during the peak season as we had to wait for nearly 30 mins for the bus to the castle. Bridge was extremely crowded and wobbly. Our guide Ian was nice. The castle and surrounding views are well worth the visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful day thanks to Viator, Radius tours and our tour guide Austin. There were no surprises and lots of great history and sightseeing. Everything was on time, the train, the bus, the tour, the free time. There is a good amount of walking with this tour both uphill and down, but my out of shape self managed. I have to say we were so lucky to have Austin as our guide...very professional and fun. Worth the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything was perfect! Do not hesitate to book this trip! All accommodations and reservations were excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was wonderful to have someone walk us through how to get to Neuschwanstein from Munich - took a lot of the stress away! Our guide was an American who had moved to Germany, so his English was perfect. We got a lot more of the history with this tour then if we had just done the castle tour on our own. It was also nice not to have to wait in line. Apparently, some people wait in line all day and don't actually get into the castle! I highly recommend this if you are planning to go to Neuschwanstein!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. I found learning about the history of the castle and the surrounding area to be very interesting. This is an excellent day trip and should not be a sight to miss on if you are in the area of Munich. I had an excellent tour guide, Austin. Austin is a teacher from Texas. I enjoyed this area so much that instead of taking the train back to Munich, I booked a couple of nights at a hotel down the road from Neuschwanstein castle. Austin was an excellent tour guide and went above and beyond to make sure everyone was enjoyed this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Jeff who was very good, in fact we had met him on another Munich based walking tour some years ago so a real pro! this was my fourth visit to the castle over a number of years so I didn't learn anything new and you can easily read up on the Mad King from numerous guide books.
Yes you could do this yourself, but avoiding the booking office queue and the transfers to and from Fussen is worth the cost. Neuschwanstein is iconic and a must to visit but in my view it is the setting that makes this the # 1 attraction and I much prefer Linderhoff. Be warned, this attraction is very popular and the tour itself is run to a time slot leaving little time to really appreciate the interior.
Unless you are fit, take the bus up the track!
Yes there are other tours offering more as part of the trip but my advice would be to avoid as there is simply not enough time to fit everything in.

If you are in southern Germany you must do this trip at least once and if based in Munich this is the best way of doing it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time. We highly recommend this tour. Our tour Gide Keith was TERRIFIC!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was fantastic. Illuminating and entertaining. Our tour guide, Austin, made this tour most enjoyable for me and my family. I would also recommend the tour because of the time efficiency and VIP treatment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was fantastic. Illuminating and entertaining. Our tour guide, Austin, made this tour most enjoyable for me and my family. I would also recommend the tour because of the time efficiency and VIP treatment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Transport was comfortable and on time. Tour of the castle was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was totally AMAZING. I loved the castle. It was everything I wanted it to.be!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Austin was a very entertaining and informative guide! We really enjoyed every aspect of the tour and he recommended a great Biergarten for after the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Ian, our tour leader did a fantastic job of keeping our group together and involved in the Neuschwanstein experience. His description of Ludwig II was outstanding, short and not boring, but complete. His assistance in retrieving our granddaughter's camera and phone left as we departed on the train to Munich was way beyond all expectations.

From USD $ 48.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666CASTLE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message