• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 988 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 988 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed the tour greatly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Given the length of the journey to Füssen and the brevity of the castle tour itself, it was well worth the money to have our Viator guide handle all the transit logistics—and to give us the story of Ludwig and his castle before we got there. Absolutely a day well spent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great castle. A very nice tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The destination is wonderful and a magical experience. Due to the newly melted snow the path was extremely slippery, so we decided to take the horse and wagon up the hill. Enjoyed the castle tour, even though it is hard to hear the guide in the larger rooms. Perhaps audio guides would work better for this venue.
Also, a lot of duplicate information about Ludwig from the tour guide and the castle guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is a really great tour! My friend and I considered doing this on our own from Munich, but after comparing costs, it was almost exactly the same, so we opted to let so done do all the "legwork" for us. Our guide, Roland, was knowledgeable, funny, and very gracious. As others have said, he makes a point of chatting with everyone on the trip on a more personal level, making it much more enjoyable.
The weather was perfect for a visit to a "fairy tale" castle; a little cloudy, with rays of sun poking through intermittently. But the views! Breathtaking! Literally; when you're up on the bridge overlooking the castle, the wind is pretty active.
This was one of the highlights of our visit to Munich, and I HIGHLY recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a very well organized trip. Our tour guide, Roland, was a bit of an odd character but I found him very informative and entertaining. The train ride is beautiful and once we arrived, Roland took us to a small sausage cart for a cheap lunch before heading to the 2 castles. We only went inside Neuschwanstein, which like others have said, is a very short tour not put on by Viator, but by the castle itself. Still worth the visit in my opinion. Roland then took us up to Mary's Bridge (amazing!) and then we hiked…yes it was quite the hike…down into the gorge below where we walked back down into town. The views are incredible and I felt we got plenty of time in each place, however we did go in early November so it isn't as busy. I would highly recommend doing this tour. You could do it on your own but I don't think I would have learned as much nor would I have been able to find the great photo op spots on my own. Worth the money but wear good walking shoes as there is a TON of walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The tour was as described.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very well organized tour. Beautiful sights of Bavaria, the Alps and the Castle.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very good tour and guide. Well worth the walk up to the castle!! Stunning views . Train journey took us through some delightful scenery. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was great and Ian was very helpful and accommodating. I could do a lot of the walking involved, but I am overweight, much shorter (much smaller stride) and have arthritis in my knee. Thankfully, Ian was able to either point out alternative methods of transportation to the castle or allow me the freedom to start the walk back down to the village much earlier so I could take my time. I highly recommend taking this tour! Thanks, Ian!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guy Jeff was really good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thanks for your interest the tour was great the guide was very informative about the area and easy to understand ,we are very happy to pass this on a job well done John Yass and 7 friends

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Just beautiful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really couldn't have expected a better tour. Very informative, unforgetable experience. If you're staying in Munich do yourself a favor and go, you won't regret it!

From USD $ 53.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666CASTLE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message