4.5 star rating: Recommended 432 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 432 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

If you've not been to Rothenburg, you really should go! It's an adorable, charming medieval town with lots of cute shops, places to eat, and great history.. the short tour was very informative, and then you have several hours to explore, eat, and buy goodies on your own. On the way to Rothenburg, you make a stop at Harburg Castle which is very charming as well, with a great little tour of the place. Trip is a nice bus ride (with select beverages and a potty on-board) from Munich. Great value for the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

It was a long journey but worth visiting. Harburg is a lovely and quiet castle, Rothenburg is one of the beautiful places we've visited. Despite the number of shops, it is still a quiet and relaxing place...highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was an excellent tour. We had a great tour guide named Ana that gave a wonderful mix of history and more general stories of Bavaria. The Harburg castle tour was very interesting and we enjoyed our afternoon exploring Rothenburg.

At one point, we got caught in a traffic jam for a hour. No problem, they extended tour so we got the full time in Rothenburg. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

excellent trip would reccommend it to friends and family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This tour is quite nice, except that only 1.5hrs was spend on rothenburg de au, since it takes
3hrs by coach to get there from munich and 3hrs to get back. It would be better to have at least half a day at rothenburg de au.
back.

Lynnette P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This tour started as disorganised as the hop on and off tour, from the same company. However things improved and apart from being a bit regimented, was well worth it. We didn't follow the tour guides advice to go to a restaurant for lunch, bying baguettes and eating in the park, which was beautiful and allowed us much more time to see Rothenburg. We enjoyed this day very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The bus was comfortable and clean. The guide spoke in both German and English but that was not distracting as he was very friendly, informative and competent. The tour time was extended due to road works delaying the schedule but full alloted times were allowed at each stop. It turned out to be a very pleasant day and this tour is highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Love it. Wish we'd we had more time at rotten burg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

very good!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

In contrast with the Neuschwanstein tour this tour was superb and our tour-guide was excellent. We had a wanderful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Fantastic tour, highly recommended. Rothenburg and Harburg were both very interesting and picturesque. Climbing up the tower in Rothenburg and seeing the medieval town below was one of the highlights. The scenery along the way was wonderful, too. Our guide, Ellen, was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Amazing day! One of my favorite tours while I was in Germany.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

it was flawless. i fell in love with rothenburg actually. and i think you have to stay there for one night and see the night view of the sweet town.. I will definitely go there again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Rothenburg was amazing--cozy little town. THe tour was wonderful, the guide was great, and the bus was very nice and comfy. Definitely worth the day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Ellen did a wonderful job with our travel to Rothenberg but traffic delayed us 3 times. Not much she could do about it. You need MUCH more time in Rothenberg than 3 hours. We were escorted to Neuschwanstein by Ursala who was spectacular! She told stories that educated us about King Ludwig II - the genius- not the mad king. She was informed and passionate about sharing Germany with us and she made our trip completely enjoyable. We were traveling with our 14 year old son, who enjoyed the views and history she supplied.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fabulous tour probably the best of our 5 week European trip. The only wish would be to spend more time in Rothenburg. Our tour director was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Absolutely wonderful trip. Our tour guide was great and Rothenberg is truly a great little town to visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We had a wonderful time on this tour and the villages of the Romantic Road are definitely something to be seen! Rothenburg was wonderful and we were given ample free time to have lunch and shop or visit any of the museums or other points of interest that we wanted. We took in the Crime museum which was quite interesting. Harburg Fortress was also a very interesting stop on the tour. We definitely recommend this tour for a nice break from Munich.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was a really great trip. Our tour guide was extremely informative and I would recommend this day trip to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Knowledgeable and courteous guides, good buses and enough time for rests. Highly recommended!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Very nice tour, wonderful views, Rothenburg is a great place and the tour is very well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

I was surprised at how well done this tour was. The bus was very full when boarding in Munich, so they decided to open up a second bus so that all parties could sit together, which was nice. Our tour guide was amazing! She gave a city tour of Munich while driving out, and gave a background on a lot of sites we passed on the way to Harburg and Munich. Harburg is a nice area, and a good way to brake up the drive. We were provided with maps and recommendations of what to do in Rothenburg. The town is so amazing! We could have easily spent more time there, but I think the amount of time that is given is good, as long as you don't go to a restaurant and waste an hour. There are plenty of 'fast food' places so that you can eat quickly and go explore. I would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Even though the day started out cold and then rainy, by the time we arrived at our destination the rain had stopped. The tour of Rothenburg and Harburg was amazing. Our tour guid was very informative and gave a great presentation.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Great guide, perfect organization!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Wonderful guide... one of the best tours this company offers. Very beautiful countryside and excellent guide with very informative information to share

From USD $ 54.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285010

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message