4.5 star rating: Recommended 35 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 35 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

It is well worth the trip and the inside visit. However, more time should be allotted to visit the gardens and the Museum, and less time for Fraueninsel.

Mohammad A
Saudi Arabia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The tour was good overall.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The castle was great, even though it isn't finished. The grounds were beautifully kept. The Fraueninsel part of the trip was also nice, the church well worth visiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

We had a great experience on our bus and boat tour to the castle. The bus was extremely clean, the staff was very helpful and took extra time to ensure everyone had a good time. We especially liked our tour guide who was very child friendly.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Whilst this tour was 'worth doing' too much time was spent on Fraueninsel at the expense of time at the Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee. In addition, the tour guide was a too casual in his attire for a 'professional' tour guide, stripping down to a singlet for much of the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Good tour, well organised.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Good trip. Guide was older and not as energetic as other guides we had.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

The places we visited where great. The tour leader a dissapointment and should retire. had i known at this stage she would be on the tour we booked to Salzburg i would have cancelled it.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

Not recommended

The tour basically is just a shuttle bus to and from the site, not a tour. Tour guides provide little useful information.

Also, the pickup spot says "across from the train station". There is lot of construction and they actually pick you up outside the train station, if you don't figure that out you'll miss the tour (buses are not marked) get there early!

Palace is worth seeing and the lake is beautiful. Overall the price to the tour is about 50% more than it is worth, plus you have to pay an extra 18 Euros for the boat and entrance fees.

The tour guide was bad, and contributed to a chaotic tour! She had lots of difficulty getting the people on and off the bus, this was a problem with the guide and the people not paying attention. Process of keeping the group together was terrible. If you can go to the palace on your own it would be just as good. Guide just acted to point you in the right direction, and she did that very poorly, Guides drop you off, but do not go through the tours with you.

If you are clueless, don't know how to read a watch and can't remember to be back to the meeting points within 10 minutes of the time the guide provides, be ready to rent a cab for your trip back to your hotel. We almost 3 people on the boat trips to the 3 islands.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2008

The guide for this tour was horrible! She hardly spoke and when she did, she was hard to hear. She seemed too shy to be a guide. I had many unanswered questions and left very disappointed.

From USD $ 55.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 28509

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message