4.5 star rating: Recommended 33 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 33 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The castle was impressive and we had an enjoyable day out but must take issue with you on a couple of points.

On your ‘Activity Info’ you state that a guided tour of the castle is included and yet in order to reach the castle we needed to take a boat trip to the island at an additional charge. Why not include that charge in your basic cost?

In stating that a guided tour of the castle is included you also state entrance to the castle is excluded. Isn’t this a contradiction?

We usually find our tour guides to be smart in appearance but our guide on this tour (Marcus?), whilst appearing reasonably knowledgeable, looked as if he arrived direct from a weekend party – unshaven and scruffily dressed. Not a good image for the tour operator or Viator.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

very pleasant day - beautiful drive through Bavaria and then boat trip to 2 islands. I particularly enjoyed the tiny little island with the Benedictine convent as so peaceful. The larger island with the monastery and royal palace also very interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The actual tour was excellent but the guide was a bit dour. Not very energetic in his narration.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Things were very systematic and organized. However ,the Lunch was not arranged at a good place; very average food at a very high price.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Well organized tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This is a light day trip and is quite enjoyable. Although it takes a full day, quite a bit of time is spent on boats but the overall tour is enjoyable.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Wonderful. It made us realize what it is like to live like a king.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Castle not as spectacular, however it had some beautiful porcelain chandeliers, which I've never been a big porcelain fan but these were spectacular. The island of Fraueninsel makes for a nice relaxing day. You can just sit on the shore and gaze at the beautiful scenery. Of course walking around the island you see lots of beautiful stuff as well. I just enjoy looking at the architecture in Germany and looking in some of the shops.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

It is well worth the trip and the inside visit. However, more time should be allotted to visit the gardens and the Museum, and less time for Fraueninsel.

Mohammad A
Saudi Arabia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The tour was good overall.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The castle was great, even though it isn't finished. The grounds were beautifully kept. The Fraueninsel part of the trip was also nice, the church well worth visiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

We had a great experience on our bus and boat tour to the castle. The bus was extremely clean, the staff was very helpful and took extra time to ensure everyone had a good time. We especially liked our tour guide who was very child friendly.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Whilst this tour was 'worth doing' too much time was spent on Fraueninsel at the expense of time at the Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee. In addition, the tour guide was a too casual in his attire for a 'professional' tour guide, stripping down to a singlet for much of the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Good tour, well organised.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Good trip. Guide was older and not as energetic as other guides we had.

From USD $ 61.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 28509

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message