4.5 star rating: Recommended 2430 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2430 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic tour and a fantastic day. We felt it was perfectly timed, we had enough time in each place, after saying that you could always find more to do everywhere you go. I would highly recommend this tour. Very well organised, great bus driver, great tour guide. Well done Viator for choosing great local tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic day, very well organised. We felt we had enough time in each place. Our bus driver was great, our tour guide was great. We would highly recommend this tour. well done Viator for choosing great local tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was brilliant. First to Linderhof to show St Ludwig 2nds villa then Oberammergau for a little pit stop and finally Neuschwanstein. Be warned the tour guidd recommended eating at muller, which is packed, but further down there is a lake with a restaurant called Alpenrose Am See.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was our 22 yr dream to go the Neuschwanstein. It did not disappoint, best tour ever. I had the poster of this castle on my wall, it was on my bucket list and when I met my husband 22 yrs ago he had the same castle on his wall. So we promised each other that we would go one day. Thank you Viator Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. The guide was very helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Perfect!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Interesting venues and well organised I would definitely use viator again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really good tour guide very good castles amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour overall, the only drawback was that 90% of the shops in Oberammergau were closed because it was Sunday. Because of this it would have been better to skip that city and dedicated more time to Neuschwanstein.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Money well spent and very comfortable bus with excellent guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing. We had a very unseasonable warm day in October, plus a Sunday - when both places were super packed with people. At Neuschwanstein we had to walk up since the line for the bus and the horse ride was very long. Walking at a fast pace (up hill) took us 45 minutes to get to the bridge - which is a must for picture taking. Interesting enough, the tour inside to castle was okay, although it only cover 1 floors since the other floors were never completed. A must see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was a great experience, highly recommended. We boarded the bus at a major department store across from the Central Rail Station, so it was easy to locate. Boarded the bus at 8:30am and didn't return home until 7:00pm so this tour is an all day affair. The guide being local to the area was able to give us a comprehensive tour of Munich and the surrounding areas as we made our way through the countryside to the castles. We had several stops along the way, allowing everyone an opportunity to purchase souvenirs and have lunch. The bus has restroom facilities, (very clean), which was appreciated as each leg of the bus tour would oftentimes exceed an hour. The tour guide was able to call-in our reservation for the castle tickets and for lunch, so we never waited in line so was very efficient use of our time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is the third time that I have taken this tour and I still love every moment of it. The drive through Bavaria and the mountains is almost worth the cost alone.

The only tiny downside is that you don't have enough time to visit Hohenschwangau.

This tour is a must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by a tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews. So then, our guide Franciska (sp?) was wonderful. Very good information on the bus both there and back, with time, especially on the return, for resting. She was nmot our guide for either of the castles.
Linderhof was very special and our castle guide was great. Jaw dropping rooms and further interesting info about King Ludwig II. Oberammergau was a delightful stop. A little short, but so much to fit into one day. Neuschwanstein was amazing, but to me more for the exteriors than the interiors--after seeing Linderhof.
Be forewarned, there is considerable walking for Neuschwanstein, no matter how you approach it. My sister, 80, opted not to do that part, but the small visiting area below the castle provided entertainment whileI visited the castle--a very nice museum. So it worked out for us.
All staff were very accommodating and attentive to our concerns.

From USD $ 63.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285016

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message