4.5 star rating: Recommended 2449 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2449 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a well organised and enjoyable tour. It may seem a bit rushed to some, and not really recommended if you have mobility issues, but we felt we got enough time at both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein and would definitely recommend it for a great day tour to see the castles, everything is arranged, they recommend a place to eat, so it's made easy. Bus was comfortable and our guide was lovely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

One of the most extraordinary experiences you'll ever have. This is what dreams are made of!!! The feeling you get when you see the castles is priceless. And the guides were very knowlegeable too! Definitely recommend this to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fabulous trip that was very well thought out to ensure complete satisfaction. I will book again with this company. The guide was excellent, most knowledgeable and helpful.

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see three sites, Linderhoff, Oberammergau, and Neuschwantstein. The tour guide Francizka (sp?) was very good and knowlegable with a pleasant, and easy to understand accent and voice quality. The time of year was a double edged sword...the cold weather meant many of the beautiful figures/statues, fountains and plants were covered with structures to protect them from the snow and ice, and the late fall seems to be the time for rennovations after the busy summer, with work trucks, tractors and other temporarty barriers. The colder weather made for quicker tours, although they were still packed with 50 or so per group, possibly more at Neuschwanstein. Speaking of colder weather, the Neuschwantstein schloss was blanketed in fog and drizzle, and was not visible until you were within a few hundred meters from the castle, where it was a dark shape rising out of the fog, totally indistinct...more appropriate for Halloween.
As for separate sections of the tour, there was never enough time, especially in Oberammergau, but enough to give you a flavor and want to come back.

Tours of Linderhof and Neuschwantstein were in English, and very understandable. One caveat. Our tour was separated into two sections, an English guided tour, and multi language guided audio tour. We were disappointed to be put into the audio tour where we picked up an English language device which was keyed on as you moved from room to room. It turns out this was a blessing in disguise. At least we could hear clearly what was being said. The majority of our tour that was placed on the English language guided tour said that with 50-80 people in the group, the tour guide was often not able to be heard, and was hard to keep up with. We travelled in early Dec, and this apparently meant wait times were quite short. In the summer, often there wre 1.5 hour waits, according to the guide, instead of the 20 minutes. Beware the walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein is strenuous for many.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Outstanding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent value for money, very informative and a magical experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was by far the best tour I have been on yet. I did 5 other viator tours and this was just outstanding. It was the highlight of my month long trip to Europe.
First, they take you to the Linderhof Palace, where they hand you over to another guide that actually works there. You can't take pictures of the interior (which is beautiful!), but you can try. Our Viator guide encouraged us to try, though they seem pretty strict about not doing it. Anyways, you have a bit of time before and after the tour to take pictures outside the palace before heading back to the bus. By the way, you are somewhat in the mountains, and the view is just wonderful.
Then they take you to a little village, which was my favorite part. It was breathtaking. We stopped for about 45 minutes, which was just enough time to get some ice cream (only 1 euro!) and shop for souvenirs (which were really great!).
Afterwards, you go to the Neuschwanstein castle, where they let you go free for about 3-4 hours. The guide does not guide you, and many people were confused. He hands you a ticket with your entry time to the castle, points you in the direction to go, and tells you what time to meet back at and where. There are different trails you can take, or a horse carriage if you like, he gives you a map so you know where to go. Still, a ton of people were confused. Just listen to what he is saying carefully and you shouldn't be confused. Many people weren't listening on the bus when he was telling us all the info. (snoozing, talking to their kids, etc.) The 3-4 hours gives you time to eat, shop, and go to the castle. Make sure you stop at the bridge to take pics!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well done to the tour operator!!!! It was a well organised, informative and friendly guide. The Castles were the main attraction for me. The woodcarvers village was disappointing as it was only a stop to buy souvenirs. The Castle Tours did not disappointed. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who wishes to see the Castles. There was a lot of time given to walk around and view the castles and the castle grounds as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic tour and a fantastic day. We felt it was perfectly timed, we had enough time in each place, after saying that you could always find more to do everywhere you go. I would highly recommend this tour. Very well organised, great bus driver, great tour guide. Well done Viator for choosing great local tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic day, very well organised. We felt we had enough time in each place. Our bus driver was great, our tour guide was great. We would highly recommend this tour. well done Viator for choosing great local tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was brilliant. First to Linderhof to show St Ludwig 2nds villa then Oberammergau for a little pit stop and finally Neuschwanstein. Be warned the tour guidd recommended eating at muller, which is packed, but further down there is a lake with a restaurant called Alpenrose Am See.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was our 22 yr dream to go the Neuschwanstein. It did not disappoint, best tour ever. I had the poster of this castle on my wall, it was on my bucket list and when I met my husband 22 yrs ago he had the same castle on his wall. So we promised each other that we would go one day. Thank you Viator Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. The guide was very helpful.

Special Offer
$58.61 Save $11.50

From USD $ 47.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285016

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message