• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 1996 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1996 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great value. The bus was very nice, and the staff was exceptional. The views are not to be missed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was well organised and executed from the moment we got on the coach. Our guide was very well informed and gave us information on the journey and history of where we were visiting.
Couldn't rate it more highly. Only so many beerhalls you can sit in in Munich, so lovely to see Oberammergau as well as the two castles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We absolutely enjoyed this tour. After arriving in Munich we were quite disappointed by such a boring place, and then after going on the Royal Castles tour with our tour guide Ana who made it a very interesting and fun tour to be on it made our time in Munich worthwhile. The Castles were beautiful and the countryside was magnificent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent trip from start to finish. First class guide and everything ran on time. No queuing and would thoroughly recommend.

Wendy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We both agreed that this was probably one of the best tours we have been on (and we have been on quite a few). Ana was excellent - she showered us with interesting information throughout the experience and answered all our questions. The tour had interesting stops and was excellent value for money (particularly with the discount!)
We were in the minority and chose not to enter any of the castles. Although I have not been inside and cannot comment on the tours and interiors, I feel this was the right decision for us. Both of the tours are quite short (20mins in Linderhof and 35 in Neuschwanstein) and we were more interested in the scenery. At Linderhof not going in allowed us time to see a bit of the surrounding countryside, and at Neuschwanstein it meant we weren't rushed in getting to the bridge for photos and also had time to visit one of the lakes on our way down (which, I might add, was lovely).
We walked up to Neuschwanstein and it took 25mins at a leisurely pace for two not overly fit individuals. I didn't time the walk to the bridge but it was (or felt after the initial walk!) a good bit steeper than the walk to the castle and I imagine took around 15mins - 20 if you stop to take in the view and grab some photos halfway up.
We really enjoyed this tour. It was well planned and facilitated. The bus was comfrotable and in good condition, and had an on board toilet and wifi (though we didn't use either). Ana was informative and engaging and we thoroughly enjoyed our day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable day with Brigitte, who was enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wow. Castles are beautiful. Views of the mountains and countryside are incredible. Long day but great trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful place great castle fantastic trip. Thanks guide Bridget for the tour!
This is a no miss trip to Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a nice tour, very well organized. Very easy to find pick up point in Munich. We felt we had plenty of time to see everything. Maria was our tour guide and she was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good time arrangement, comfortable coach, good tours guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A GOOD DAY, THE TRIP WAS WELL RUN AND VERY INTERESTING. i LOVED LINDEHOFF AND THE CASTLE. THE GUIDE, BRIDGET, WAS VERY FRIENDLY ASND INFORMATIVE. TRIP WAS WELL WORTH THE MONEY AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Simply unforgettable.
Before visiting Neuschwanstein, I travelled in France to visit the castles of Valée du Loire, which have very beautiful gardens. However, Neuschwanstein is unique. Inside the castle there are lots of stunning paints and artworks, and a reproduction of the cave of Venus. This is worthy of being visited by those who admire Richard Wagner and their operas.
Worthy of note are also the town of Oberammergau and the small castle of Linderhof. At that time it was covered by snow, which added more beauty to it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour of two castles that aren't easily accessible by public transportation. The drive through the alps and the hike up to Neuschwanstein and Marien Brücke (Mary's Bridge) were really highlights for me. They surrounding grounds were more impressive than the inside of the castle.

I had never heard of Linderhof, but it was a pleasant stopover that I probably would have never scheduled as part of my trip if I were doing the tour on my own. The grounds must be amazing in the Spring and Summer. I was there in the winter and the property was still impressive.

I enjoyed the stopover in Oberammergau. I loved the shopping there, and the traditional craft stores, but we only had 45 minutes to explore the town. I would have loved to have lunch there instead of at the base of Neuschwanstein.

I also wish the tour also included a stop at Hohenschwangau Castle. It was beautiful on the outside and what I read in my travel guide, it is interesting from a historic perspective.

Bridget, our guide, was enthusiastic and friendly. She kept the group on schedule, which I imagine, when it comes to tourists, is like herding cats. She did a great job.

Pickup and drop-off is conveniently located across from the main train station. I would recommend this tour to others.

Neuschwanstein was on my bucket list and I was very happy that this tour enabled me to get there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was wonderful and I'm sorry that I can't remember her name--possibly Maria. She was very engaged with the group and kept us entertained and informed through the day, at every stop with humor. The bus had to be replaced and the driver was calm, made minor repairs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A Must do if you travel to Munich. Awesome views of the mountains beautiful castles full of history.

From USD $ 71.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285016

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message