4.5 star rating: Recommended 2900 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2900 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a excellent tour from beginning to end.Christine was a knowledgeable guide and made the whole day enjoyable I would highly recommend this tour of the Royal castles .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Elisabeth was our guide she is great! She made the tour even better!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a perfect tour to get out of the city and into the Bavarian countryside for a day! The bus was comfortable and our tour guide, Elisabeth, was amazing. She was a wealth of information about Bavaria and Munich and King Ludwig II. The day was long but didn't feel that way as we were entertained the whole day. And the castles? Wow. Just, wow.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

it was very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip, would not be able to see it on my own. Loved everything

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. The castles were fun to see especially from the outside. Inside was OK.

Stopping in and walking around the 2 Bavarian villages was great fun. Seeing the beauty of the villages and the Bavarian Mountains was awesome.

The bus driver was excellent and safe. The tour guide failed to tell us that there was a bus that could take us up the last 2400 feet to Neuschwanstein Castle and he did not tell us where to find the line for the carriage ride up so this part of the trip ought to be repaired. The elderly, people with health issues, and young children probably are not able to walk uphill for the last 2400 feet.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed every minute of this tour. The guide was wonderful making sure everybody was taken care of and had a great time and informed us about the history of the castles and the area. There was plenty of time to walk around and enjoy the castles and the little town. Great tour for a great price!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable on the topics. The bus was very comfortable and the bus driver was very skilled. We really enjoyed this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful trip and a must do for anyone with a spare day in Munich. This beats the olympic area or any of the car manufactories BMW or Mercedes. It is a great way to see the countryside of Bavaria.

Michael P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Same as eagles nest,bit dissapointed that could not see more inside,but still great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Bavarian country side was such a beauty to behold. Winding roads, lush green fields, tall trees, massive mountains everything added to the charm of this place. Our first stop was palace Linderhof, which had stunning landscapes. Second stop was the charming old town of Oberammergau with its painted houses and famous wood works. Via the Romantic road, we reached our final destination The Neuschwanstein Castle, such a secluded and stunning piece of work. Our tour guide was so very informative not just about the tour but Munich in general. The coach was very comfortable with push-back seats, toilet, refreshments, TV, luggage stowing and an upper deck for better views. Very much recommended and worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Altogether a very fun day with a knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful place and the experience was wonderful. A lot of walking and hilly, though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour exceeded our expectations and considered one of our favorite tours ever taken. Not only did we spend the day visiting the castles, the drive through the Bavarian countryside was breathtaking. We highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great time....LOVED IT! The tour guide was very informative and the driver got us there and back to Munich safely. Wish we could have had 20 more minutes in Linderhof, so we could explore the gardens.
Other than that, everything was fantastic! Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time. Our tour guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent day out and well organised and details are as expected. Al and Christine were excellent, driver and tour guide. Very interesting stories told on the way. Definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great tour to the castles of Ludwig II including Lindenhof and Neuschwanstein. Our tour guide, Geuder, was excellent - full of great information and witty banter which was most appreciated. The tour is well organised, and it pays to keep on time! Tour stops are enjoyable and provide ample time to soak up the atmosphere as well enjoy the castle tours themselves.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

PLEASE NOTE: The cost of the entrance tickets is NOT included in the cost you pay on Viator. We needed to pay the ticket price of 23 euros per adult when the bus was already enroute. The tour was wonderful despite our surprise. It was a 2 hour bus ride from Munich but the view was worth it. When we got to Linderhof castle, the tour was quick and not much time to explore the grounds but we did get a chance to see the gardens and take pictures. There are timed entrances to Neuschwanstein so we had lunch where the guide recommended. We also made a much too quick stop in Oberamergau for shopping. I do wish more time was allowed for that because there were many beautiful wood items made by the people of the Black Forest but we needed to make spot decisions on some expensive items and I regret we didn't get more time to decide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide with a deep knowledge of history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome little day trip. Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are awesome places to visit. Interesting history and beautiful landscape around the castle grounds. Our guide was funny and knowledgeable. No regrets!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed the trip and the tour. Our guide Christine was knowledgeable and friendly and very helpful. It was pouring rain on our walk up the hill to the castle but it was still very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family really liked this tour. Our guide was informative and funny. Neuschwanstein is absolutely worth the trip out of Munich to see. When you get to Neuschwanstein, I would suggest you take the bus uphill and not try to walk up. The castle is so grand! And as my son calls it tiny baby Linderhof Castle is also beautiful. Overall, a day well spent.

From USD $ 58.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285016

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message