4.5 star rating: Recommended 2430 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2430 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing. The tour guide was fantastic . Spoke English realy good with a British accent. It took about ten hrs. Wish the weather was better. Found out that the Germans are very prompt. So if they say the bus lease at 8am. You better be there at that time. Great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunningly gorgeous. Neuschwanstein is simply amazing, a must see for anyone in the area. Seeing the castle as you walk up to mountain towards it is breathtaking. When you finally get to the top (a 15 minute walk), you can then choose to go yet further up. This is also a must do, you can climb up to a bridge that overlooks the castle. This is where the beautiful photos really come from, as you can get a bird's eye few of the castle, and the land falling away behind it. Linderhof was more of an interesting place, than it was gorgeous. The castle is full of eccentricities, that make it interesting but also far out of touch with todays tastes. That being said, the trip into the alps, and simply being in that mountain range around Linderhof is worth the trip. Unbelievable area, gorgeous landscape, fresh air! The trip to that area alone, made the trip to Linderhof worth it.

All told, this trip really makes for a fairy-tale day, with the mountain ranges, fantastic castles and quaint little villages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The whole tour was fantastic but Mother Nature had other plans-heavy fog that blocked any views. Our guide was great, informative and personable. Would do it all over again. Well run! We rate the tour as a five star. Definitely worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Was great tour and loved every bit of it. Very recommended. Thanks to our guide Francisca who made the long drive bearable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great day, great guide, both castles worth visiting!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The ease of finding the bus and leaving was great. The tour was exactly what we expected. We were a little disappointed that they were doing renovations at Linderhof so we feel as though we missed something. It was a typical late November foggy day at Neuschwanstein so it was surrounded by clouds. That did not dull the beauty. A lot of walking and stairs so if you have any mobility issues, please let your guide know as the castle has a elevator for such needs. Our bus guide was lovely. Can't remember her name - small blonde. She was terrific and sweet. Highly recommend this tour. Oh yeah - and definitely take the horse drawn carriage up and down - so fun (note: the bus and carriage up and down stop by 3:30 - so plan accordingly or it is a long walk down).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a well organised and enjoyable tour. It may seem a bit rushed to some, and not really recommended if you have mobility issues, but we felt we got enough time at both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein and would definitely recommend it for a great day tour to see the castles, everything is arranged, they recommend a place to eat, so it's made easy. Bus was comfortable and our guide was lovely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

One of the most extraordinary experiences you'll ever have. This is what dreams are made of!!! The feeling you get when you see the castles is priceless. And the guides were very knowlegeable too! Definitely recommend this to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fabulous trip that was very well thought out to ensure complete satisfaction. I will book again with this company. The guide was excellent, most knowledgeable and helpful.

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see three sites, Linderhoff, Oberammergau, and Neuschwantstein. The tour guide Francizka (sp?) was very good and knowlegable with a pleasant, and easy to understand accent and voice quality. The time of year was a double edged sword...the cold weather meant many of the beautiful figures/statues, fountains and plants were covered with structures to protect them from the snow and ice, and the late fall seems to be the time for rennovations after the busy summer, with work trucks, tractors and other temporarty barriers. The colder weather made for quicker tours, although they were still packed with 50 or so per group, possibly more at Neuschwanstein. Speaking of colder weather, the Neuschwantstein schloss was blanketed in fog and drizzle, and was not visible until you were within a few hundred meters from the castle, where it was a dark shape rising out of the fog, totally indistinct...more appropriate for Halloween.
As for separate sections of the tour, there was never enough time, especially in Oberammergau, but enough to give you a flavor and want to come back.

Tours of Linderhof and Neuschwantstein were in English, and very understandable. One caveat. Our tour was separated into two sections, an English guided tour, and multi language guided audio tour. We were disappointed to be put into the audio tour where we picked up an English language device which was keyed on as you moved from room to room. It turns out this was a blessing in disguise. At least we could hear clearly what was being said. The majority of our tour that was placed on the English language guided tour said that with 50-80 people in the group, the tour guide was often not able to be heard, and was hard to keep up with. We travelled in early Dec, and this apparently meant wait times were quite short. In the summer, often there wre 1.5 hour waits, according to the guide, instead of the 20 minutes. Beware the walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein is strenuous for many.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Outstanding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent value for money, very informative and a magical experience.

Special Offer

From USD $ 46.46

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285016

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message