• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 2221 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2221 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour company did a good job on this and the countryside was beautiful. We actually think that Linderhof was the better of the two, and the stop at Oberammergau was fun. Our guide, Sophie, was both bubbly and informative and we enjoyed the day with her.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic! The Linderhof castle and surrounding grounds were beautiful. The Neuschwanstein Castle had unbelievable scenery. I recommend taking the horse drawn carriage up the hill. It is a steep walk to the castle, the tour does not provide transportation from the parking area to the top of the castle entrance.

G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A good whole day trip, but be prepared to wear good walking shoes for a 20 minutes walking uphill. Tour guide Francesca gave a lot of history, very active and lively guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A must see!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful trip in Bavaria. Guide was a little too talkative but, the bus was comfortable. Both castles were amazing and the stop in the small town was quaint.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well organized tour, good guide. Beautiful castles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

.The tour guide (Brigitte) was very friendly and spoke excellent English.... She lived in colorado for a number of years. The double decker bus was clean and very comfortable and had a bathroom onboard. You are allowed to eat on the bus as long as it's nothing messy, no ice cream, and drinks are allowed and even are sold on the bus for €1.5 . I advise that you bring snacks since it's a long day.
The tour departed on schedule and we were promptly made aware of the days itinerary and the expected departure times from each location . Linderhof is small but very ornate on the interior and height decadent as it is modeled on the palace of Versailles ( no photography allowed inside). At this stop there are a couple reasonable gift shops and clean restrooms. It is a short walk from the bus parking area to the, it is a beautiful stroll but know that it is a gentle uphill climb. Oberammergau was a nice stop for about 50 mins - the shops there are generally reasonable and the town is absolutely adorable. Very quaint and picturesque Bavarian village. The shops boast many carved wooden objects of beauty. We could've spent more time there but were aware that the main attraction was the next stop,
Neuschwanstein. There The tour had made a reservation at hotel restaurant for lunch called Hotel Muller in Hohenschwangau, located right by the trails that lead up to the castles. We ordered from the express menu and our food arrived hot and tasty in less than 60 seconds!
This allowed us plenty of time to line up to catch the bus up the hill to Neuschwanstein . When you get off the bus you go on a short but steep walk up to Mary's bridge (Marienbrucke) ...Which affords an absolutely not to be missed view of the castle but is a very high pedestrian bridge that is scary for anyone who does not like heights! from there it is a short downhill walk to the castle. Be on time for your tour! FYI, There are 200 steps inside but not to be missed for all who are able.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a terrific tour. We loved our tour guide Elizabeth - she was extremely friendly and helpful. We went to Linderhof first and we were more impressed with the interior than we expected to be. Then we stopped in a small town that was fairy-tale like for about an hour and made our way to Neuschwanstein. The views from the bridge here are incredible and WELL worth the walk over to it. We didn't have clear weather and still think this to be a can't miss! We had a great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour time was adequate to see everything. My husband and I enjoyed the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was wonderful. Both castles were beautiful. The tour guide was very informative and wanted us to see as much as possible. The stop off at the little tourist town was good but would have been better if there was more time. It is a trip that should not be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding, absolutely outstanding. I switched to the 1st class tour. If you do this do it 1st class. Tickets covered, free wifi, water and snack, a live tour guide, and not too crowded. The bus stopped just below Neuschwanstein to take pictures. I used the wifi to Skype live back home what I was seeing. I would take this tour again in a second.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a really great time on this trip. The two castles are incredibly beautiful, the inside tours are definitely worth it. Our guide made sure all questions were answered and gave lots of great tips on where to eat and the best ways to do things. The bus is really comfortable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved this tour. After touring Linderhof we opted not to go through Neuschwanstein. Instead we took the bus to Merienbrucke for perfect photos of the castle, then walked down to the castle and took the horse buggy the rest of the way down where we had an excellent meal at the Hotel Merien. . It was an enjoyable day..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Linderhof Castle was very ornate. Each room is highly decorated and quite stunning. Very well preserved. Next we stopped in the town of Oberammergau, famous for wood carvers and richly painted houses. The Passion Play is dramatised every 10 years here. Later we stopped in Hohenschwangau, a small but pretty town, at the base of Castle Neuschwanstein. The castle itself is a 35 - 40 min walk uphill. It is rather spectacular and well worth seeing!

From USD $ 69.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285016

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message