4.5 star rating: Recommended 2896 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2896 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide and bus driver. Unbelievable scenery and just a great day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both castles were absolutely amazing! Our tour guide was very nice and helpful. I also recommend walking up to Neuschwanstein castle and the bridge instead of taking the horse-drawn carriage or the bus. The walk was not hard. Slope was gentle, and it took me 18 minutes only to the castle. I enjoyed the walk as much as the castle itself.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very professional.
As a airline professional, I have a chance to travel around the world and found out that the tour leader of this local tour is the best I have ever met.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was wonderful, very knowledgeable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very cool castles and grounds and a very good tour guide. They booked lunch at a hotel's restaurant by Neuschwanstein but you didn't have to eat there. We did and thought the lunch was very good. If you want to walk to Neuschwanstein, it's a bit of an uphill hike, so it wouldn't be for people with mobility issues, but we enjoyed it, especially after spending so much time on the bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

fantastic,recommend to anybody

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very great experience! Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful scenery and lovely tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Sophie was an excellent tour guide - very knowledgeable about the family and the history of the castles. The bus ride was relaxing and pleasant. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great tour, on time and well run and informative. We had a blast! Thankyou.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a highly recommended tour. The tour company is very efficient. Nice and comfortable vehicles and knowledgeable tour guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day looking around Bavaria and its major castles. Done at a leisurely pace (with a bit of exercising involved - steep walking), very well planned and enjoyable. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

While we didn't actually get to tour Linderhof due to the G7 conference that was occurring in Germany at the time, this tour was nevertheless excellent. Linderhof was replaced with Hohenschwangau castle which was very impressive. Neuschwanstein itself is spectacular. Entertaining guide also.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant day trip to the castles , informative and witty tour guide Maria.
Comfortable double decker air condition coach.
Excellent driver , cheap cold beer and water on board.
Couldn't have imagined trip to be any better ... Though would have liked longer at Linderhof to look round gardens and also would have preferred to take lunch at Obergmau passion play village!

jhart02
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was excellent tour, walk up to castle was hard unless you are in good shape.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and the tour guide was simply the best! Loved the castles and Oberammagau. I would have loved to hop off the bus to pretend I was twirling like Maria Von trapp on the mountain, that was the only negative. Otherwise, the whole day was fabulous, thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, very informative, our girls enjoyed it, it was a great way to spend the day away from the city. Our driver Mike and guide Sopie were awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was amazing! The best tour ever! It was truly a fairytale world. And our tour guide Joseph was the best!
Everything on this tour was a great experience from start to finish.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she stayed with us throughout the day aside from when we were touring the castles. She warned us ahead of time about the long walk to Neuschwanstein and informed us about the other means of travel available. If the line is short I recommend the bus so you can ride up to the top, above the castle and two minutes from the bridge. Otherwise you have to walk up to the castle, then walk uphill further to the bridge worth it for the view. The only complaint I had was that we were unable to see Linderhof, but this is because of the G7 summit and not because of the tour. Instead we viewed Hohenschwangau which was still very nice.

Overall, great tour, though be warned the price you are paying here only covers the trip with the tour guide. It does not cover entry to the castles. We were asked to pay 22 euro for entry to both.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed this! My husband says it's one of his best memories over the past 6 weeks of travel. We were gonna do a train visit but this included more stops, and was great to see more of the countryside. Liked seeing Ommergau and walking around the shops. I liked that the guide told us alot about what we were driving through on the way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip especially to Neuschwanstein Castle! The tour guide is friendly and experienced to share the path to go to the castle. For me, Neuschwanstein Castle is not to be missed when you are in Munich! Marvellous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love the castles! I have been wanting to see Neuschwanstein for years, so was surprised when I toured Linderhof as it became my favorite inside and out!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the trip. Bring your walking shoes, as there is some hiking to the castles from the bus parking and even from the shuttle bus drop off. Danielle and the driver were superb. Understand that, when Danielle gives a departure time, BE THERE! I almost missed the bus at Linderhof. There are strict time constraints, due to the distances, also resulting in not enough time at any of the sites. Still, well worth it. Highly recommended.

From USD $ 59.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285016

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message