4.5 star rating: Recommended 901 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 901 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Salzburg tour was one of our favorites on this trip. Our guide Anuschka Debes was outstanding. She gave us a very thorough history of the area while on the train to Salzburg. Touring the various sites of the famed musical was a treat, and the castle in Salzburg was like stepping into a time machine. Anuschka acquainted us with everything from chocolate Mozart balls to the best cafes in town. There was enough time left to stroll the streets of this ancient city and visit Mozart's home. A great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful time. Our guide Alun was excellent and showed us so much. Really knew his stuff. Am glad that we did this tour. Beautiful county.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Interesting and fun day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Salzburg was amazing! The town is beautiful and the trip from munich was very easy on the train. Our tour guide was lovely, Yolanda. And she was very knowledgeable! I would have liked more time in the city because the day flew by. I would have enjoyed more sound of music connections.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an excellent time on our day trip to Salzburg and back. Our tour guide Alun was friendly and informative and gave us all the practical details (where to eat, how long we should take at every place of interest etc) which was very helpful. Salzburg is only a 2 hour journey from Munich and as such is a small-ish city, so although we were there only for a day we did get a good sense about the layout of the city and it's history. It was a beautiful day to visit, and we had a lovely time. Thanks Alun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful little city and great, knowledgeable guide. I would definitely recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great tour, even in the rain! We had over 3 hours to explore the city on our own after an excellent guided walking tour of the main points of interest. I would skip the fortress museum tour and the incline lift and just walk up to the fortress and take pictures and then walk back down, spending even more time exploring the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour. Our guide Ian was fantastic. Got a good historical run down from Ian and then just enjoyed the city. Highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would do it again if anyone wants to go to Salzburg again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful. Very informative. Would love to take with Ean again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was also very well organised and enjoyable, leaving Munich by rail around 7.30 am to allow ample time for us to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg in detail. Our guide was both informative and entertaining, the price competitive and we can also recommend this tour to others without hesitation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Geoff (Jeff?) did an outstanding job with transportation in a day when the rail workers were on strike. The tour itself was delightful. Not only were sites described to us as we were in Salzburg, but also on the train (and bus in this case) as we traveled. Recommendations for eating and shopping were appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good guide. Excellent experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My partner and I enjoyed this tour very much. Salzburg is a fairytale town filled with lots of beauty.
Our tour guide Maxine is wonderful! She loves what she does and is so well informed about the history and places. She stopped and made sure everyone was together and that we understood everything. She always asked if we had any questions. Told us of all the places to go to and shared with us at our table her stories over lunch. We had time to relaz and enjoy the time we were there.

Thank you Maxine.
Ana and Adriana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with Alun (Welsh). I think that is how you spell it. He was English and stayed in Munich for the past 10 years. He was concise and had a clear voice and let everyone know what was going to happen at the right times. Getting on the train and getting on the bus was made simple because of his instructions.
It was a really hot day and the journey by train took 2 hours from Munich and then the short 10 mins bus ride in to Salzburg from the station. We were given a map and how the walking tour would proceed. If you wanted to go your own way that was fine once you knew where the rendezvous was for return.
there was visits to churches, the castle, Mozart's two homes in Salzburg and key places where the Sound of Music was filmed. The special cake shop which you could buy authentic cake unique to the city is a must. The tour went well and Alun was the perfect tour guide. We have no hesitation on recommending this tour for cost and experience. A very pleasant time was spent by the four in our party.

From USD $ 55.54

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666MUSIC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message