4.5 star rating: Recommended 871 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 871 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Despite a very rainy day, the tour was wonderful, and Jeff was a true professional ... Very knowledgable, informative, and personable. He also had a great sense of humor and made the train trip to and from Munich very enjoyable. We had lunch at the oldest restaurant with a lovely family from Atlanta. All in all, a great day in Salzburg.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It's heaven on earth, very beautiful city, it's a must to visit. The tour were very organized and the tour guide were informative, yet free time needs to be increased at least with an hour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful tour of Salzburg. Alun was a knowledgeable and friendly guy who gave us lots of detail and plenty to know about before allowing us free time to really walk around and see what we were interested in at our own pace. Salzburg is a beautiful city and a smooth trip there, excellent guide and wonderful views of Mozart and Sound of Music areas, the fortress and beautiful old churches made it a trip we wouldn't have wanted to miss!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

FANTASTIC! It started off with a wonderful train ride from Munich to Salzburg. Our guide, Ian (and his mate, Bernard the dog) were super knowledgeable. Ian gave us about a one hour history lesson on Salzburg (and threw in a little Germany history too) leaving us with more free time in this beautiful city. We toured the famous "Sound of Music sites" , as well as the Old Town of Salzburg. We toured castles, sweet shops,as well as the old market square. Ian recommended places to eat, places to drink and the history of where these delicacies come from. We were very happy with all our tours we booked through Viator, but this was one of the best , hands down. Thank you Ian!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guide was absolutely wonderful and so knowledgable of the area and history! The tour itself was fast-paced and left us wanting to come back and spend more time here. The old town was quaint and beautiful. Shopping area was a bit commercialized but packed full of a variety of different stores. The train ride to and from Salzburg was very comfortable and pleasant. Our guide kept us posted on the highlights of the local areas as we passed through them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Even with a grey sky, Salzburg is such a beautiful city. Go up with the lift to the fortress the views are incredible! Our guide Alun was funny and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent day trip from Munich to Salzburg. Tour guide provided great information on the history, culture, sites, local food favorites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Would do it again great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I was in Europe for 10 days and participated in 11 different tours. This tour was BY FAR the best. Maxine, our Tour Guide, was attentive to each member of our tour group and made sure that our expectations were reached (and exceeded!). She was well prepared with information, pictures and music and we had a blast with her. She even helped arrange a specific taxi trip for my husband and me during our "free time" in Salzburg. WOW! I would do this again in a heartbeat! Thanks, Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Salzburg was a surprise because it has a relatively small Old Town area where the film Sound of Music was filmed. The film sites are all very close together in the town. It was lovely to have a few hours on our own to navigate the town and have lunch (city map provided by the tour guide). Salzburg is very hilly and touristy, but in early April, there were very few crowds and lovely weather. The crowds in summer must be overwhelming. We ate at a lovely restaurant at the top of the fortress (the only one up there) with a gorgeous view. Buying a ticket for the cable car to the fortress is about 10 Euros per person, but it includes entry fee to the fortress museum itself which is worthwhile. Restaurants abound in the city below as well. The tour guide, Ian, and his pup Bernard, accompanied us and gave most of the history lecture on the two hour train ride into Salzburg. He gave us about another hour's worth of info in town hitting the main film and city sites before turning us loose. Be prepared to walk a lot, but you will be looking in every direction to capture the quaintness all around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were so grateful Maxine came in on her day off to do the tour, otherwise it would have been cancelled, and we would have been very disappointed. She did an excellent job familiarizing us with the town of Salzburg. We enjoyed this tour very much and would recommend it to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome!!! Salzburg is gorgeous and I honestly wish we would've just stayed there the whole time. Our tour guide did a great job. Beautiful city. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Munich.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was my favorite of all the tours. It was absolutely beautiful, the lunch was great, the tour guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The Tour guide - He was a very friendly, full of knowledge about Germany history included Salzburge and a very organised person. He was make sure that he let us know what we going to do, what should we will aware off. We were very enjoyed. The view point was very good as we took lots of nice photos of the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highly recommended. We want to say thank you to the tour guide and the best part of the tour was viewing Salzburg from the top.

From USD $ 57.97

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666MUSIC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message