4.5 star rating: Recommended 968 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 968 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

BEAUTIFUL!!! Enjoyed our guide but did wonder why she did not sit with us on the train so we could visit and learn more, there were only four in our group. We did invite her to do so. The ride was absolutely beautiful. Salzburg was absolutely fantastic. People were kind and helpful. I would love to again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was a blast . She played music from The Sound of Music for us while she explained the tour. Her enthusiasm brightened our day even though it rained much of the day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fabulous! A wonderful day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed the day. Thank you very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best day of our 16 day vacation. We had the best time, and Iain is the very best tour guide we've ever had. His breadth of knowledge was outstanding. He was fun, interesting, and insightful. He truly made this experience a 5-star one. He gave us such a deep and detailed background of Salzburg during our train ride from Munich. My best advice....don't take this tour UNLESS Iain is your tour guide. GOOD MORNING!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Alun did a great job. He knew about the best spots and identified good options for the free time we had. I would recommend this tour as it is a day well spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide (Maxine) made this a very enjoyable day excursion out of Munich. I found the guide the be very knowledgeable about the history of the area and the meeting place was easy to find, overall very well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alun is a very professional and friendly tour guide who provided us with useful glimpse and tips on touring Salzburg within a few hours. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I have done this our twice and we have had two great tour guides. Salzburg is igorgeous and there is a good mix of guided tour and free time in the city. Lucia was the best, she gave us maps and circled places she thought we would be interested in seeing. She also told us where to get a great view of the city.

Kerri M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of my favourite days on my entire Europe trip! Alun our guide was fun and interesting. Easy meeting point at the station. Train down to Salzburg was comfortable and fast. On the train, Alun gave us our map with some points of interested marked out, talked us through our plan and once there, he walked us around for 45 mins of so, getting our bearings, then left us to explore this wonderful city on our own for about 3.5 hours which was perfect. My main reason for visiting was mainly for Sound of Music sites, of which I managed to see about 4 (3 with the group, then 1 on my own afterwards), wished I'd had a bit more time to get out to some of the others, or at least done a bit more research myself before hand so I knew exactly where to head to get to some of the main ones. However! Apart from Sound of Music, it was great seeing the birthplace of Mozart, also where the delicious Sacher Torte originated from, and the pedestrian shopping street has amazing atmosphere and lots to see and do (and buy!). Definite must, great value for a great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was wonderful ! We loved our tour guide (Jeff) and it was well worth the money! Would highly recommend -

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A must do while in the region.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful city and excellent tour guide in Alun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Iian (with two i's) was the man! Nothing but good things to say about this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a lovely trip from Munich to Salzberg.. Fantastic scenic journey in 2/12 hrs train journey. Competent tour host . MUST SEE THIS BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC CITY AND DO NOT FORGET TO TAKE TRIP TO CASTLE AND VIEW AND ENJOY NATURAL BEAUTY. THIS WILL BE LONG PART OF MEMORY. CHOCOLATE AND CAKE EXTRA ORDINARY RECIPE. DR.SAJJAD AND RAZIA SAJJAD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Terrific tour led by Alun Evans with the tour operators. He pointed out all of the sights of importance on our initial tour of Salzburg and gave great recommendations on things to see during free time. Would highly recommend for those looking for a day trip from Munich.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Brilliant day in a beautiful town. The food was amazing and the location was stunning. Highly recommend eating in one of the cafes in the Festung fortress. The views are stunning!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledge tour guide, beautiful city! Mozart's Birth House is a "must see"!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a beautiful city. I will highly recommend this tour to anyone that goes to Munich. Maxim, our guide was very knowledgeable an professional. We had plenty of time to walk around the city, eat and see other places in the area. A++

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great your, great guide, a lot of fun. Definitely worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent tour with an excellent guide. Timing was absolutely perfect and allowed enough time to see Salzburg.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic tour with a great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A "must do" for Sound of Music or Mozart fans! Allan (sp?) was a great guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent tour, made even more special by our very friendly and professional guide, Iain.
Iain's great sense of humour was second to none which also went a long way to making this trip so memorable.
Salzburg is a beautiful city, steeped in history.
It is also home to the the famous "Von Trapp" family and of course "Maria". But if you want to know the facts, then Iain's your man.
A great day - thank you!

From USD $ 50.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666MUSIC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message