4.5 star rating: Recommended 866 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 866 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Salzburg is a beautiful city, especially when lit up for Christmas. The guided tour covers the main points of interest without getting into too much detail. Surprise the guide by knowing what the Doppler Effect is! The free hours leave time to choose 2 or 3 places to spend longer at. The views from Hohensalzburg fortress are magnificent on a clear day. Suggest taking the funicular railway since walking up and back eats too much into the free time available.

If you’re a Mozart fan needless to say you’re in your element with 2 museums, i.e. his wohnhaus – the house where he lived – and his geburtshaus – the house where he was born – to lose yourself in! Following this you can get lost in the world of red and gold which signifies the Mozart chocolate. Suggest the brand Reber does an infinately superior job to Mirabell. If you want to splash out move on up to the premium world of blue and silver where you will find the ‘Original Salzburger Mozartkugeln’ produced by Café Konditorei Fürst. The guide will point out one of their shops during the tour.

If you want to buy a Sachertorte at the Sacher Hotel shop be aware that it closes at 5 pm on a Sunday!

We were a large group so it was split in two and left in the charge of Susan and Geoff. There was a problem with the train. Having waited an hour or so it was announced that the train wasn’t going anywhere and we were to get off and on to the next scheduled train, in effect joining everyone who had originally planned to take the later train. You can only imagine the pandemonium! Despite all of this Susan and Geoff managed to set off from Salzburg station with a full complement of tourists!

The train journey is 2 hours each way so bring something to entertain yourself with!

The voucher says that you can present either a paper or an electronic voucher for this activity, however you need to queue at the local agents office (Radius Tours) at the hauptbahnhof to exchange the voucher for a ticket.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The trip was great. The old city is not very large, so there is plenty of time to see everything during the free time period.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Salzburg very nice place good have time to expore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a lovely trip. Our guide was funny and knew all his stuff. The tour was well planned out to take us to the best sites as well as the best local spots to eat. I'd definitely suggest this trip to anyone,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour to a wonderful city. Tour guide Susan was knowledgeable and well organized. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a beautiful place! Franz we really knowledgeable and explained everything quite well! He is such a hospitable person and made sure everyone in the tour understood how to get around once we had personal time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

it was very nice tour. our guide was Jeff, he was very friendly and helpful. he provides you with a lot of interest information and knowledge about salzburg. it is very nice city to explore. i highly recommended this tour. i really like to go again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour to Salzburg was wonderful and our tour guide Maxine was excellent. She knew everything there was to know about the city and markets. We really enjoyed her and the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Sadly we had travel problems, the train kept breaking down and arrived 3 hours late to Saltzburg which spoilt the trip somewhat as by the time we had lunch it was getting dark. Maxine, our tour guide, helped to keep spirits up and did everything in her power to make the day a success - she even worked late so we could get a later train back so we could make the most of our time in Saltzburg. we intend to come back to see it in daylight and learn more about the city - we would definitely use Viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour. Ian was friendly, courteous and highly informative. Plus, he insured we all knew where to be and when to be there. Bernie, the dog, was entertaining. My only complaint was that we met to start the tour on one side of the Munich train station but had to walk all the way across the train station to the other side to board. Would readily recommend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it here. A beautiful city. We would have liked to spend a night here.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great and enjoyable tour. We learned a lot. Tour guide (Ian) was organized and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was very informative and was always available for questions! I had 2 children with me and he even recommended things to do with them as well. It rained all day and we still had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was fantastic, the tour was well-organized. The weather wasn't so great but that's out of our control.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful excursion from Munich. Tour guide was outstanding. The City of Salzburg is a jewel.

From USD $ 58.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666MUSIC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message