4.5 star rating: Recommended 1015 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1015 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was also very well organised and enjoyable, leaving Munich by rail around 7.30 am to allow ample time for us to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg in detail. Our guide was both informative and entertaining, the price competitive and we can also recommend this tour to others without hesitation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Geoff (Jeff?) did an outstanding job with transportation in a day when the rail workers were on strike. The tour itself was delightful. Not only were sites described to us as we were in Salzburg, but also on the train (and bus in this case) as we traveled. Recommendations for eating and shopping were appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good guide. Excellent experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My partner and I enjoyed this tour very much. Salzburg is a fairytale town filled with lots of beauty.
Our tour guide Maxine is wonderful! She loves what she does and is so well informed about the history and places. She stopped and made sure everyone was together and that we understood everything. She always asked if we had any questions. Told us of all the places to go to and shared with us at our table her stories over lunch. We had time to relaz and enjoy the time we were there.

Thank you Maxine.
Ana and Adriana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with Alun (Welsh). I think that is how you spell it. He was English and stayed in Munich for the past 10 years. He was concise and had a clear voice and let everyone know what was going to happen at the right times. Getting on the train and getting on the bus was made simple because of his instructions.
It was a really hot day and the journey by train took 2 hours from Munich and then the short 10 mins bus ride in to Salzburg from the station. We were given a map and how the walking tour would proceed. If you wanted to go your own way that was fine once you knew where the rendezvous was for return.
there was visits to churches, the castle, Mozart's two homes in Salzburg and key places where the Sound of Music was filmed. The special cake shop which you could buy authentic cake unique to the city is a must. The tour went well and Alun was the perfect tour guide. We have no hesitation on recommending this tour for cost and experience. A very pleasant time was spent by the four in our party.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Maxine was amazing! Very knowledgeable about her subject! It was a rainy day for us but she managed a really nice walking tour moving from one sheltered location to another. Good advice on the Mozart Chocolate and on places to visit during our free time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lovely trip - well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

BEAUTIFUL!!! Enjoyed our guide but did wonder why she did not sit with us on the train so we could visit and learn more, there were only four in our group. We did invite her to do so. The ride was absolutely beautiful. Salzburg was absolutely fantastic. People were kind and helpful. I would love to again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was a blast . She played music from The Sound of Music for us while she explained the tour. Her enthusiasm brightened our day even though it rained much of the day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fabulous! A wonderful day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed the day. Thank you very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best day of our 16 day vacation. We had the best time, and Iain is the very best tour guide we've ever had. His breadth of knowledge was outstanding. He was fun, interesting, and insightful. He truly made this experience a 5-star one. He gave us such a deep and detailed background of Salzburg during our train ride from Munich. My best advice....don't take this tour UNLESS Iain is your tour guide. GOOD MORNING!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Alun did a great job. He knew about the best spots and identified good options for the free time we had. I would recommend this tour as it is a day well spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide (Maxine) made this a very enjoyable day excursion out of Munich. I found the guide the be very knowledgeable about the history of the area and the meeting place was easy to find, overall very well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alun is a very professional and friendly tour guide who provided us with useful glimpse and tips on touring Salzburg within a few hours. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I have done this our twice and we have had two great tour guides. Salzburg is igorgeous and there is a good mix of guided tour and free time in the city. Lucia was the best, she gave us maps and circled places she thought we would be interested in seeing. She also told us where to get a great view of the city.

Kerri M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of my favourite days on my entire Europe trip! Alun our guide was fun and interesting. Easy meeting point at the station. Train down to Salzburg was comfortable and fast. On the train, Alun gave us our map with some points of interested marked out, talked us through our plan and once there, he walked us around for 45 mins of so, getting our bearings, then left us to explore this wonderful city on our own for about 3.5 hours which was perfect. My main reason for visiting was mainly for Sound of Music sites, of which I managed to see about 4 (3 with the group, then 1 on my own afterwards), wished I'd had a bit more time to get out to some of the others, or at least done a bit more research myself before hand so I knew exactly where to head to get to some of the main ones. However! Apart from Sound of Music, it was great seeing the birthplace of Mozart, also where the delicious Sacher Torte originated from, and the pedestrian shopping street has amazing atmosphere and lots to see and do (and buy!). Definite must, great value for a great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was wonderful ! We loved our tour guide (Jeff) and it was well worth the money! Would highly recommend -

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A must do while in the region.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful city and excellent tour guide in Alun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Iian (with two i's) was the man! Nothing but good things to say about this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a lovely trip from Munich to Salzberg.. Fantastic scenic journey in 2/12 hrs train journey. Competent tour host . MUST SEE THIS BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC CITY AND DO NOT FORGET TO TAKE TRIP TO CASTLE AND VIEW AND ENJOY NATURAL BEAUTY. THIS WILL BE LONG PART OF MEMORY. CHOCOLATE AND CAKE EXTRA ORDINARY RECIPE. DR.SAJJAD AND RAZIA SAJJAD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Terrific tour led by Alun Evans with the tour operators. He pointed out all of the sights of importance on our initial tour of Salzburg and gave great recommendations on things to see during free time. Would highly recommend for those looking for a day trip from Munich.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Brilliant day in a beautiful town. The food was amazing and the location was stunning. Highly recommend eating in one of the cafes in the Festung fortress. The views are stunning!

From USD $ 50.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666MUSIC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message