4.5 star rating: Recommended 1028 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1028 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful time. Our guide Alun was excellent and showed us so much. Really knew his stuff. Am glad that we did this tour. Beautiful county.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Interesting and fun day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Salzburg was amazing! The town is beautiful and the trip from munich was very easy on the train. Our tour guide was lovely, Yolanda. And she was very knowledgeable! I would have liked more time in the city because the day flew by. I would have enjoyed more sound of music connections.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an excellent time on our day trip to Salzburg and back. Our tour guide Alun was friendly and informative and gave us all the practical details (where to eat, how long we should take at every place of interest etc) which was very helpful. Salzburg is only a 2 hour journey from Munich and as such is a small-ish city, so although we were there only for a day we did get a good sense about the layout of the city and it's history. It was a beautiful day to visit, and we had a lovely time. Thanks Alun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful little city and great, knowledgeable guide. I would definitely recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great tour, even in the rain! We had over 3 hours to explore the city on our own after an excellent guided walking tour of the main points of interest. I would skip the fortress museum tour and the incline lift and just walk up to the fortress and take pictures and then walk back down, spending even more time exploring the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour. Our guide Ian was fantastic. Got a good historical run down from Ian and then just enjoyed the city. Highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would do it again if anyone wants to go to Salzburg again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful. Very informative. Would love to take with Ean again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was also very well organised and enjoyable, leaving Munich by rail around 7.30 am to allow ample time for us to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg in detail. Our guide was both informative and entertaining, the price competitive and we can also recommend this tour to others without hesitation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Geoff (Jeff?) did an outstanding job with transportation in a day when the rail workers were on strike. The tour itself was delightful. Not only were sites described to us as we were in Salzburg, but also on the train (and bus in this case) as we traveled. Recommendations for eating and shopping were appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good guide. Excellent experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My partner and I enjoyed this tour very much. Salzburg is a fairytale town filled with lots of beauty.
Our tour guide Maxine is wonderful! She loves what she does and is so well informed about the history and places. She stopped and made sure everyone was together and that we understood everything. She always asked if we had any questions. Told us of all the places to go to and shared with us at our table her stories over lunch. We had time to relaz and enjoy the time we were there.

Thank you Maxine.
Ana and Adriana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with Alun (Welsh). I think that is how you spell it. He was English and stayed in Munich for the past 10 years. He was concise and had a clear voice and let everyone know what was going to happen at the right times. Getting on the train and getting on the bus was made simple because of his instructions.
It was a really hot day and the journey by train took 2 hours from Munich and then the short 10 mins bus ride in to Salzburg from the station. We were given a map and how the walking tour would proceed. If you wanted to go your own way that was fine once you knew where the rendezvous was for return.
there was visits to churches, the castle, Mozart's two homes in Salzburg and key places where the Sound of Music was filmed. The special cake shop which you could buy authentic cake unique to the city is a must. The tour went well and Alun was the perfect tour guide. We have no hesitation on recommending this tour for cost and experience. A very pleasant time was spent by the four in our party.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Maxine was amazing! Very knowledgeable about her subject! It was a rainy day for us but she managed a really nice walking tour moving from one sheltered location to another. Good advice on the Mozart Chocolate and on places to visit during our free time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lovely trip - well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

BEAUTIFUL!!! Enjoyed our guide but did wonder why she did not sit with us on the train so we could visit and learn more, there were only four in our group. We did invite her to do so. The ride was absolutely beautiful. Salzburg was absolutely fantastic. People were kind and helpful. I would love to again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was a blast . She played music from The Sound of Music for us while she explained the tour. Her enthusiasm brightened our day even though it rained much of the day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fabulous! A wonderful day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed the day. Thank you very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best day of our 16 day vacation. We had the best time, and Iain is the very best tour guide we've ever had. His breadth of knowledge was outstanding. He was fun, interesting, and insightful. He truly made this experience a 5-star one. He gave us such a deep and detailed background of Salzburg during our train ride from Munich. My best advice....don't take this tour UNLESS Iain is your tour guide. GOOD MORNING!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Alun did a great job. He knew about the best spots and identified good options for the free time we had. I would recommend this tour as it is a day well spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide (Maxine) made this a very enjoyable day excursion out of Munich. I found the guide the be very knowledgeable about the history of the area and the meeting place was easy to find, overall very well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alun is a very professional and friendly tour guide who provided us with useful glimpse and tips on touring Salzburg within a few hours. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I have done this our twice and we have had two great tour guides. Salzburg is igorgeous and there is a good mix of guided tour and free time in the city. Lucia was the best, she gave us maps and circled places she thought we would be interested in seeing. She also told us where to get a great view of the city.

From USD $ 51.23

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2666MUSIC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message