4.5 star rating: Recommended 276 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  11 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 276 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Salzburg was nice, and we had a fair of time to walk around, do some shopping, and get some lunch. The Lake District and boat trip on this tour really made the trip though! The boat ride did cost extra (our tour guide collected the money on the bus), but it was absolutely worth it!
Our tour guide (we didn't catch his name unfortunately) was probably the best tour guide we've ever had. He was knowledgeable and genuinely wanted each person to enjoy the day. He even came around the bus on the way back to Munich to answer any questions anyone had. He went above and beyond.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great organised trip. Highly recommend bus tour over the train tour. Guide was wonderful and had good knowledge of Austria. Plenty of time in Salzburg (considering it's only a day tour) and I thoroughly enjoyed the lake district which really made the tour. You had to pay a small extra for the boat cruise but that was an amazing experience and a highlight of the day. No point doing the tour without the lake district as others offer. This is why we booked with Viator. Very happy with the service and highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Very lovely day! Both places were beautiful and the boat ride was relaxing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great tour ! Best way to spend a day ! Don't miss this tour !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Our tour guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent value for money. A well-organised trip in a very comfortable coach allowed us to see some very picturesque scenery both in Salzburg and the Lake District. There was sufficient time both to explore Salzburg ( given a day trip ) and Sankt Wolfgang. Also enjoyed boat trip across from Sankt Wolfgang to Sankt Gilgen. Excellent weather was a bonus. Our guide Bettina was very pleasant and kept us well-informed about the area we were travelling through, while still giving us time to sit back and enjoy the scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great tour, one of the best I have been on in my semester in Europe. Very enthusastic tour guide with personality and character. Really made a concerted effort to get to know tourists. HIGHLY recommend the Lake Distrct. Only disappointment was that we didn't have time for the Sound of Music Tour. It is a quick visit to Salzburg itself, but the boat ride of Lake Wolfgansee makes up for it. Definately go on the boat tour! Overall, great experience. Would tour with Vaitor again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

very interesting,professional guide.very nice
places to visit,in one word WONDERFULL!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Brillant trip for a nature lover and a mountain lover person. Awsome scenery, great group, funny and friendly tour guide. Highly recommended get away from Munich.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Guide could not made it better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very nice and leisure tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A very good tour: (longer) drive to Salzburg, get there a little after 10:30 AM. A walk in the city and across the river up to Mozart’s house – free time from 11:15 AM to 1:30 PM. Mozart’s house is EUR 10 if you want to visit it, the old city is superb (no time to visit the fortress though).
At 1:30 PM walk together back to the bus and drive to St. Wolfgang – almost 3 PM, quick visit here and at 3:30 PM take a private boat to the other end of the lake (EUR 9 per person, cash only – one could stay on the bus I presume) and after 4 PM head back to Munich.
No idea why/what is this: [On Lake Wolfgangsee, there is the possibility of a boat ride to the famous White Horse Inn overlooking the lake, and a visit to the pilgrim church.]
Great guide – Fred: a little stern but knowledgeable, efficient, great English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

One of the best tours we've ever been too. Salzburg is a lovely city to visit but the most beautiful place was St.Wolfgang! Not only the lake itself but its surroundings were simply breathtaking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very well organized, our guide Charles kept us in good humor during the whole tour. Well done Charles, super job done and Mike for driving us safely on the entire trip. The timing was perfect and the tips given to us as to where to visit in Salzburg were helpful. The locations selected to visit were to our liking and we enjoyed every single place we visited. The boat ride was lovely and the scenery was like out of the “picture post card”, highly recommend anyone to take the boat ride. My family enjoyed every moment and my 6 year old daughter loved singing the songs from the movie “Sound of Music” that were played on the boat, sad though most people on our tour did not know the songs. Suggest that Viator should try and include a visit to the “Von Trapp” family home or the hall that was used for the movie and the church where the wedding ceremony was held in the movie. Good job Viator and keep it up…Thank you so much - Marque and Family

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great day trip from Munich. Well organised, plenty of time in Salzburg and the boat trip was very pleasant. If you can't stay in Salzburg do this day trip it is well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent guide, driver and bus. Everything ran to schedule and was explained thoroughly. A very knowledgeable guide who was of great assistance. Would recommend highly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

It was an excellent trip would highly reccoment it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

What a beautiful trip, Salzburg is lovely and the lake tour by cruise boat was amazing. Loved it all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Beautiful and worth the money.. Guide had good knowledge of the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Bettina was an excellent tour guide. Salsburg is a truley wonderful tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Ellen was a perfect guide. On the way she explained we would see the city by ourselves and she provided us with maps. She gave us great advice on where to eat and what not to miss. We took her advice on the restaurant and saw her there also. The "Zum Mohren" Restaurant. It is located in a cellar. The atmosphere, service and food were all excellent. We all met up at bus and drove to Lake Wolfgangsee. What a beautiful town and lake. Spectacular views. the highlight of the trip was on the boat! Not to be missed. Thank you again Viator.

shazza
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great tour and beautiful landscape of Salzburg.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Amazing city, beautiful scenery. Definitely worth visiting. Good guide, nice itinerary, and confortable tour bus. Highly recommend this day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This is an excellant trip unfortunately we had rain but was still enjoyable and lunch was great

From USD $ 54.44

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 285012

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message