4.5 star rating: Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Muscat, Oman
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Punctual and informative guide and driver made this a trip to remember attentive to our every need and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone interested in Omani history and culture. No detail was too small to share no question left unanswered.

Ian M
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

A really good tour to recommend to anyone who would like to see the countryside outside of Muscat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Very, very well done and informative.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Nizwa is well worth the trek from Muscat. Recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The driver/guide was so flexible to change the itinerary in response to our requests and the changes in the circumstance such as hitting Dates Festival, which I was satisfied with. He was also helpful to learn the reasonable prices of goods at the souk. He did not, however, seem to be a professional guide in explaining the historical stories.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pick up was prompt and the guide/driver very pleasant and eager to please. We visited all attractions as advertised. The only negative in my opinion was that we did not have a guide to accompany us through the forts and castles. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to a lack of other takers this tour turned into a private tour ! Everyone else probably wisely chose not to travel to Oman in the HOT season. Rasheed, my driver and guide, was excellent in both roles and a nice man to boot. Unfortunately the aforementioned 48 degree heat made everything - apart from sitting in the aircon in the car - difficult if not impossible. Bahla Fort was certainly of interest and also the old village of ???
This tour is definitely recommended but just do not do it in June, July or August.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great guide. Very interesting site seeing.

Barbara H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

There were six members of the group in the land cruiser so it was a little tight. However out guide spoke excellent English. It is a long day but well worth the journey. I expected the forts to be in little villages and wasnt expecting the large towns that surrounded most of the forts. Make sure you take your own water and money to buy lunch as this isnt provided. A very informative day though.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice tour, interesting sights like the old town of Nizwa, the Jabreen Fort and some old villages with their typical irrigation system. We've been only 2 persons on our group tour and have been transported in a comfortable, normal car. The driver was a nice elderly Omani who explained a lot about his country. He was not a guide though, so we had to experience some sights on our own - but they are well explained or with (exeptionally good!) AudioGuides. The tour is really worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Excellent day. Very friendly and informative driver/guide. Highly recommend this tour for families, just remember water and snacks for the little ones.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Rachid was a very friendly and informative guide who made sure we got the best out of the day. We saw Nizwa and Bahla forts and Jabrin Castle as well as a Wadi and two interesting ruined settlements and had time to wander round the main sights at our leisure.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was a great tour and an excellant value at less that $100 U.S. per person. I got to see many more placese than I would have found on my own with a rented card. The driver/guide named Rasheed was very pleasant and knowledgeable, making the trip quite enjoyable. In one day we managed to see three historic castles or forts and much more. It was great to see all the beutiful rocky mountains and desert landscape. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Oman.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Everything worked perfectly, our guide was excellent, both as guide and driver, and we saw everything we hoped to see. The only slight downside was the place we were taken for lunch - a bit sub-standard, especially toilet facilities.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Good value - a full day of sight seeing including some nice forts.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

For our tour, there was only my mum and me, so it felt very personal indeed. Our guide was great, offered interesting knowledge of surrounding areas and was very friendly. We both enjoyed getting out and seeing different parts of Oman and enjoying the Omani hospitality of receiving Coffee and dates after a tour. Would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Very good tour, excellent car and driver, well paced.

Jan V
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Good.

Sam F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

A long hot day was forgotten in the variety of places visited and by the easy way our driver guide imparted his knowledge of the country, history and customs. The experience opened us up to a country that we had never previously given a lot of attention.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

great trip, tour guide/ driver very informative, loved the Nizwa Souq.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative. The forts were gorgeous. Wish we got to see more of Bahla. The lot of us were tired; it was an extensive and tiring day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Rasheed is a great tour guide, he really knows his stuff. Nizwa is a charming old town.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Nice day out, to see the sights around Nizwa. Jabreen Castle was the highlight of the tour. Also stopped by a couple of abandoned villages which were also nice. Scenery of the mountains was nice and felt like it saved on doing another trip. The stop for lunch was poor however, very cheap and you got what you paid for could have been better. Nothing groundbreaking in the trip but well worth it especially when compared to the 'sights' on offer in Muscat itself which was very disappointing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The trip got slightly repetitive after a while as each fort looks exactly the same when there is no explanation of the history or significance.

The driving was slightly erratic at times and the driver often used his mobile whilst driving. He was however very accommodating to our requests to stop for bathrooms and food.

Overall it was a good cultural experience that could be improved with guides that knew more about each individual fort.

From USD $ 67.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168MCT002

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message