4.5 star rating: Recommended 119 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Customizable Wine Country Tour from San Francisco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 119 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

My husband and I absolutely loved this tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and humorous as well. He offered us different choices on how we wanted to spend the day. I would definitely recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great time and very nice flexibility, you can choose what vineyards and cellars you want to know, I would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very interesting tour for someone like me who knows nothing about American wine.
Visited a number of wineries and the driver was able to arrange last minute visits to a couple of wineries that people expressed an interest in visiting.
Note that lunch and tasting costs are not included.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed our tour guide, he was very knowledgable. Especially loved Silver Oak Winery!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Knowledgeable tour guide. Great wineries.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A most enjoyable day, well organised with comfortable transport. Our guide Don was knowledgeable, helpful and entertaining. Our only concern was the way in which wineries keep creeping up the tasting fees.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The guide Andy was absolutely friendly and knowledgeable. We really enjoyed our tour to Sonoma.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great tour. The only dislike was for the price of the tour, you would think that you wouldn't have to also pay wine tasting fees for every place you visited.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very expensive wine tastings in the Napa but still good trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Sonoma much more realistic pricing. Great trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was awesome! He was well travelled and was able to share a lot of interesting information.
The only drawback is trying to visit several vineyards in one day. We visited four and it would have been nice to have more time. Maybe doing less would allow for a more detailed visit at each one.
I would still recommend it to anyone wanting to see and experience the Napa and Sonoma Valleys.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

If you do well with a group of people you have just met for the first time, this is the tour for you. The tour was fine and the people we traveled with were very nice. Not bad for the price, about a third of the price of a private limo for two people--but keep in mind, you trade personalized service and comfort for a lower price---we'll be taking the private limo next time

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a great experience. The only thing that bother a few people was that they were not informed that they had to pay for the tasting in each winery. A few people decided not to do the tastings because it was too expensive for a couple.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The only thing to make better would be a less 'rickety' van. The seats were great but too much rattling and shaking!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very nice trip with knowledgeable guide. I would suggest skipping Sonoma. Too much driving to get there.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was excellent , the guide was informative but I was unaware that each tasting was additional which
sets you back about 100.00 per person . I would have appreciated knowing that ahead of time , otherwise it was great .

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

What a great day. Our driver was very knowledgable and had great suggestions for places to go. Our favorite vineyard was her suggestion, Milat's. The luxury bus was also a nice touch. It would have been nice to have made it to one more and for the driver to take us to any of our suggestions, but oh well. Still loved it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

My husband and I wanted to get a feel of Wine Country and knew nothing about wine. We were impressed with the bus companies communication and the driver, Sophia. We got a great tour of Napa and Sonoma plus the city! We went to big name and very small wineries; felt like we had a 'taste' of everything.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Awesome tour! Frank was an amazing tour guide and brought us to really great wineries. We stayed in Napa which allowed us to visit more wineries. I have absolutely no complaints about the tour, but be prepared to spend $ 20.00 at each winery for a tasting. It can get very expensive.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Keep your travel plans flexible, or ask ahead of time if other people are scheduled on the same day as you so as to guarantee your tour date will not be moved. Our tour date was moved and it caused a lot of headache and stress to move our other activities around. Extranomical tours seemed less than happy to try and accommodate us.
I would absolutely do this tour again. Even with the scheduling issue.
Buy the "wine skins" that some of the wineries sell if you plan on checking wine to bring home. We used them and they worked GREAT. We bought ours at Mondavi and they were only $2, which is actually cheaper than amazon has them.
The bus was very loud and uncomfortable. The AC did not work it was more like a circulation of the air outside which was HOT. The loudness came from the rattling of the handicap lift.
Our tour guide was great (Mark). He told us some history about San Francisco and Napa. We even played a trivia game. Lots of fun.
Dress for hot weather (we were there in early July)
Plan for a LONG day. Our tour lasted 8:45 am to about 7 pm.
Bring water and snacks.
I'd also like to note for those of you who are not familiar with wine tasting- there was still a tasting fee of anywhere from $15-30 ($30 included a tour) at each winery, so plan for an expensive day. So worth it, though!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a very nice time the wine was ok very dry.but had a good time will come back to take tour. From Double Oak Texas

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Our guide was full of information about the area and the wineries and it was nice to go to some boutique wineries. That said, it seemed like each group on our tour thought that it included something different (tasting fees, lunch, or a ferry trip back from Sausalito). It made everything a bit confusing. All of the wineries that we went to had a tasting fee of $10 (which is pretty pricey for 2) and the "gourmet" lunch was picking up sandwiches at a supermarket. Word to the wise - make sure that you do a lot of research before settling on a tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We had a great day with Dave, our tour guide and eight others in our group. Visited a real Ma and Pa down to the earth winery and also a couple of top end wineries. Lunch stop was in Sonoma where there was a good choice of restaurants and tasting rooms to visit. Continued visiting wineries after our mid day stop and ended our day in Sausalito where we explored on foot before catching the ferry back to San Fransisco. GREAT DAY!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Very nice wine tour. Full van this time, but once we got to the first stop, everyone was happy! We did some interesting stops. Some just tastings, some interesting wineries, stopped in downtown Sonoma for lunch, visited one tasting room that included Olive Oil. Dropped us back at our hotel around 7 pm. Our tour guide was very informative about the area and sights. 5 stars for him. Overall a very interesting and pleasant trip.

From USD $ 130.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2402WINELOVERS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message