4.5 star rating: Recommended 723 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 723 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best Tour of the Bunch. I took at least one tour each day for four days, this was the best by far. It takes all day but well worth it. The time flies by because there is so much to see and do. Ask for the crazy German Guy "Roman". He is knowledgeable, funny and very entertaining. He adds a great deal to the tour. He also keeps you on schedule, very important. If you only have time for one tour, make sure this is the one you take.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I knew the tour stops would be great but what was unexpected is that Andy, our tour guide, would represent the epitome of customer service! He was friendly and engaging with every guest on the tour. His extensive knowledge of each tour stop made the entire day so enjoyable! Thanks Andy and Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was awesome! The tour guide was a hoot!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I was delighted with this experience. Muir Woods is something beautiful, to see nature, with those fine incredible trees, you would never imagine you are so near civilization. The wine tour was very complete, although the time for lunch was a Little short because they took very long in serving so we didn't get a chance of visiting the misión at Somona.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. Starts with a walk through Muir Woods which is quite close to San Francisco. This is an amazing place with just the right amount of time here. The wineries visited are quite nice with a couple of them only having cellardoor sales. The place we stopped for lunch was a nice area as well with a good selection of places to eat and a nice park to eat in if you don't want sitdown meal.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour of Muir Woods and wine country was outstanding. A big part of the success of the day was attributed to Roman our tour guide. He was informative, knowledgeable and provided a steady dose of good humor. Our visits were an efficient use of time and each a high quality experience. Roman also threw in a couple of surprise stops toward the end of the tour that made the overall trip that much more memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful day and thought the driver/guide did a very good job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was fantastic. The 3 wineries we were brought to were all special for their own reasons. We were offered many wine tastings and were taught a lot about the process of making wine. Lunch in Sonoma was great too. Our little group ate at a burger place on the corner. Muir Woods was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver and tour guide was Ben. He was not only an excellent driver, but also gave us lots of info on San Francisco and the wine country. And good suggestions for lunch in Sonoma. We were glad that Ben was experienced as a driver to Muir woods over twisting roads plus he navigated S. F. very well. Loved the
quiet, coolness and majesty of Muir. Our 3 wineries were all in Sonoma and offered more than enough
wine samples: Mayo, Madonna, and Cline. We learned a lot about wine making and the history of the wine
country. We also appreciated being picked up and dropped off at our hotel. All in all a wonderful experience.
V and V from Clearwater

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I had a great time, the guide was awesome, very informative and funny.
Was a nice group of people, would highly recommend it and would take the tour again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Roman our guide was fun and knowledgable!

Annita A
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A beautiful place well set up to make viewing easy for visitors. The Redwood trees are amazing and very beautiful. Would like to have stayed longer but tour only allowed 1 hour. Will arrange a longer visit next time. A must to visit for anyone who loves nature and the outdoors.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods was an amazing early start to the tour. Being the first to enter the national park, we were able to take in all the meditative peace, quiet and calmness that the Woods has to offer. Although an hour given to walk through the trail was quite tight, it was still manageable. By the time we left, the swelling number of people would have made the Woods an entirely different experience.

The pace of the wine tasting in the country side was just right. There was more than enough wine to taste from the 3 vineyards that we visited. However, we preferred the first vineyard more than the other two, namely because it is an intimate family business with very cosy grounds, not unlike a family home, for its showroom. It made a very relaxing environment for tasting and browsing the wines available.

However, the star of the tour had to be Roman, our tour guide AND driver for the day. With his acidic sense of humour and numerous punchlines, which were quick and sudden, the atmosphere was light and fun, just like on a road trip. He made everyone both at ease, and yet willingly at edge, keeping to his time limits. Nobody wanted to be that "douche who kept everybody waiting".

The highlight of the tour was also Roman's "little surprise" toward the end of the tour. He brought us to fantastic photo spots of the Golden Gate Bridge. Accompanied with namesake songs on San Francisco and whatever he had to say at that moment, it was a truly romantic soundtrack ending to the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods was an amazing early start to the tour. Being the first to enter the national park, we were able to take in all the meditative peace, quiet and calmness that the Woods has to offer. Although an hour given to walk through the trail was quite tight, it was still manageable. By the time we left, the swelling number of people would have made the Woods an entirely different experience.

The pace of the wine tasting in the country side was just right. There was more than enough wine to taste from the 3 vineyards that we visited. However, we preferred the first vineyard more than the other two, namely because it is an intimate family business with very cosy grounds, not unlike a family home, for its showroom. It made a very relaxing environment for tasting and browsing the wines available.

However, the star of the tour had to be Roman, our tour guide AND driver for the day. With his acidic sense of humour and numerous punchlines, which were quick and sudden, the atmosphere was light and fun, just like on a road trip. He made everyone both at ease, and yet willingly at edge, keeping to his time limits. Nobody wanted to be that "jerk who kept everybody waiting".

The highlight of the tour was also Roman's "little surprise" toward the end of the tour. He brought us to fantastic photo spots of the Golden Gate Bridge. Accompanied with namesake songs on San Francisco and whatever he had to say at that moment, it was a truly romantic soundtrack ending to the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, will highly recommend.

From USD $ 105.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2402MUIRWINE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message