4.5 star rating: Recommended 692 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 692 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods was an amazing early start to the tour. Being the first to enter the national park, we were able to take in all the meditative peace, quiet and calmness that the Woods has to offer. Although an hour given to walk through the trail was quite tight, it was still manageable. By the time we left, the swelling number of people would have made the Woods an entirely different experience.

The pace of the wine tasting in the country side was just right. There was more than enough wine to taste from the 3 vineyards that we visited. However, we preferred the first vineyard more than the other two, namely because it is an intimate family business with very cosy grounds, not unlike a family home, for its showroom. It made a very relaxing environment for tasting and browsing the wines available.

However, the star of the tour had to be Roman, our tour guide AND driver for the day. With his acidic sense of humour and numerous punchlines, which were quick and sudden, the atmosphere was light and fun, just like on a road trip. He made everyone both at ease, and yet willingly at edge, keeping to his time limits. Nobody wanted to be that "jerk who kept everybody waiting".

The highlight of the tour was also Roman's "little surprise" toward the end of the tour. He brought us to fantastic photo spots of the Golden Gate Bridge. Accompanied with namesake songs on San Francisco and whatever he had to say at that moment, it was a truly romantic soundtrack ending to the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, will highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Picked up from my hotel our driver Ben was polite and friendly told us lots of local info. The drive up to Muir Woods was breathtaking a very relaxing walk through the woods. Then on to the Vineyards again stunning scenery and a relaxing afternoon. A great lunch stop and a final vineyard at Cline beautiful gardens.
Finished the day with a stop in Susscaleido (not sure if thats the right spelling) then a fast ferry ride back to San Fransisco with views of the bridge Alcatraz and the city from the bay WHAT A DAY.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was great. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Paul was fabulous. He was knowledgable and created a nice enjoyable tour for us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable. Great to get to Muir woods before the crowds. As we were leaving all the tour busses were pulling in. Sonoma valley stunning. Really enjoyed the wine tasting and again the scenery was fantastic. Excellent tour guide (cant recollect his first name).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My trip 6/22-Roman was absolutely fantastic, the best tour guide I have ever had! So nice, knowledgable, funny, and professional. This tour far exceeded my expectations in so many ways! It was the perfect way to see Muir Woods and Wine Country in a day. I was concerned about going on a tour like this as a female alone (especially with wine), but I was happy to find that I felt extremely comfortable and safe the entire time. The shuttle bus was large and roomy. The time allowed at each destination was perfect and appropriate. Roman provided excellent information about everything we were doing and seeing so I felt prepared and informed before arriving. I was so impressed with the variety of wineries selected. Getting dropped off at Salsalitos was definitely worth the extra time. Also a cute and safe town for walking alone as a female. Taking the ferry back to SF was a breeze. I was blown away by how much value was in this day trip, well worth every penny! Also want to include that I was lucky enough to book this trip the day before and get one of the last seats on the bus. The customer service person I spoke with was excellent, making sure every detail was handled and confirming that I would be picked up at my hotel at a specific time (which I was). Roman even called me 2 minutes prior to let me know that he was approaching. Thank you for making this an unforgettable experience. This was my first trip to SF and my first tour with Viator. Perfect in every category! Thank you!! Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time! Andy did a wonderful job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was amazing. Roman was the best tour guide Ive ever been with. The day before, I almost cancelled the tour but decided to go with it. I'm so glad that we went on a wine tour. Worth all the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour with a great tour guide, Andy. Tour guides make the trip educational and personal.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour bus was the first to arrive at Muir Woods giving us the advantage to experience the quiet serenity and majesty of these magnificent giant sentinels of the centuries they took to become the towering masters of this area. The experience of walking through this woods and seeing the history and wildlife and vegetation was both spiritual and enlightening. Our guide was very informative about the areas we travelled through and made the tour interesting.
The travel to Sonoma and Napa wineries took us through amazing country-side. We met wonderful hosts at the wineries visited and tasted some of the fine wines that they produce. Lunch in Sonoma was a fine break to the day.
The return brought us to an opportunity to a spectacular viewpoint above the Golden Gate Bridge for some amazing photos of the bridge and bay area since the skies and air were clear.
The pickup and return to the doors of our hotel made this a special tour that is highly recommended to become more acquainted with the Bay area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was very memorable and enjoyable. Every part of the tour ran efficiently and smoothly from one place to another. Muir woods was inspiring and humbling. The vineyards were not large corporate vineyards, and that's what made the tour more unique and special- it showed the touring company preferred quality over quantity with whom they did business with. The tour guide, Roman, was not only very knowledgeable but also very personable and hilariously entertaining. I would definitely book another tour with the Extranomical company that provided this trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide, Roman, was so entertaining and hilarious! He really was knowledgeable and even fitted in some extra stops to get some breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge! His food recommendations were excellent. I had the pizza from Swiss Hotel in Sonoma and it was the best pizza I have ever had!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great time at the woods -- arrived early so there was no entry fee AND barely anyone else there (got crowded as we were leaving). Had lunch at a cute spot in town called the Sunflower (GREAT FOOD!!). The Tour Guide, Ben, was great! Very knowledgeable, funny and made sure we were able to get every photo opp possible! Vineyards were also nice -- wish we got more of an opportunity to go through the fields though.. i HIGHLY recommend this tour. You get a lot done and don't feel rushed, everything moves at a great pace. We got to take pictures by the Golden Gate bridge (before going over it and on our way back to the city).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour I would recommend it to anyone. Our tour guide was great. Both I and my girl friend really Loved Muir Woods and the wine tour. Sonoma was a great lunch stop.

From USD $ 101.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2402MUIRWINE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message