Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ken H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is a great tour. I recommend it to anyone, who doesn't mind a hike and likes a good view

ken w

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

weather wasn't great but the tour guide did a great job

Frantisek K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Trip was good but guide was not necessary and organization of transport from Mt.Vesuvius to Naples was a little bit confusing.

Rachel W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The trip itself was brilliant from the bus trip (with sing along) and the 'climb'. My only issue is that we had to rush as other members had to get back for trains and their cruise ship. I felt this was unfair as we did not get the full time allowance due to the pressure placed on us by the other people. I also felt it an unreasonable demand on the guide and driver as the days timings are made very clear on booking. I would recommend it however as it was very enjoyable and the view was amazing.

kettwigefrau

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

an easy way to see the volcano altho the guide didnt accompany us up the final (walkable) stretch there was probably little for her to tell us at the top that she hadn't already told us.

Panayioti A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

We really should have combined our tour with the tour of Pompeii, but we didn't as we weren't sure if our incoming train to Naples would allow us enough time to check in and make the combined tour on time. Regardless, this part of the tour is really only transport to Vesuvius which you climb on your own without the guide. Vesuvius really is worth going to, so would really recommend.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A bit of difficulty phoning to re-confirm but a fantastic trip, well organized, and very slick!

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

A nice way to climb Vesuvius at your own pace. Tour guide gets you through the gate, and then you are on your own. Only annoying thing was that the guide spent most of his time talking about women being stupid, useless, etc. Our group was mostly comprised of women.

Robyn W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Great tour with a great guide.

Lori B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The view is spectacular from the top of Mt. Vesuvius! Although we had to hike up a mile to get to the summit, but it was worth every step. The crater is amazing to see, and phosphorous and sulfur gas are seeping out of the crater, which was really cool to see. Remember to wear hiking shoes and be ready for a climb. The guy at the bottom who offers hiking sticks is a savior! Make sure to bring tip money for him. This tour gives you more than enough time to even visit the little shops on the way to the top.

Guilherme R

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The lunch was not good margherita pizza with almost no cheese, the guide did not gave to much informations/curiosities and we had very few time at the top of Vesuvius. Totally recommend the trip to Vesuvius, but if you can do it by yourself you will probably enjoy more and spend less.

Federico B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Las vistas desde la cima valen la pena. La subida al volcán es un poco difícil y casi no da tiempo a descansar hay que estar en buena condición física para hacerlo en el tiempo que te dejan. Todo muy puntual y buen servicio así como el almuerzo. El guía muy simpático aunque se limita a acompañarte en el bus y no te da casi información. El tour simplemente te soluciona el tranporte lo cual no es sencillo en ese lugar.

Henry C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The initial walk up Mount Vesuvius was a little strenuous, but after the first 10 minutes or so, you will get used to it and it gets easier. Of course, the fitter you are, the easier it will be. Especially if you walk up hills or mountains regularly.

Very dusty path up, so good walking shoes which you don't mind getting dusty is recommended.

There are 2 checkpoints along the way, of shops which sell souveniers / refreshments. One halfway up, the other all the way up. There is also a shop at the entrance.

Peering down Vesuvius is just a large crater, with white smoke still exiting on one of the sides.

Views of Pompeii, Naples and its surroundings are incredible, so take your camera for that.

I would recommend booking the trip for the minibus ride up to the entrance of Mount Vesuvius itself, as it is about a 30 minute ride up the hill from Pompeii.

Rebecca H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

After reading various reviews about the fitness levels required for climbing Vesuvius, I was extremely apprehensive about taking my 65 year old, rather overweight Mother on this trip. However, although it is pretty hard going at times, we made it with no problems and I certainly wouldn't class myself as "fit" either! My only complaint about the trip is that it is so rushed. We were given just 90 minutes to get up the Volcano and back down to the bus. The tour guide was lovely and very funny, but didnt actually tell us anything about the history of Vesuvius and just kept repeating that we needed to be back at the bus by 4.30... If we had longer to do the trek then it would have been amazing. Even just half an hour more would have meant being able to walk up a little slower then have longer to take in the views at the top. But I would still recommend this trip, just dont expect to have very long at the top!

James M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Fantastic opportunity to see the crater of Vesuvius. Be aware you are taken to the Pompeii ticket area first, so if coming from Naples or Amalfi be prepared for a lengthy wait there before you join the main group up the mountain.

Christina S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Trip was ok, wish I had more info from the guide.

Ria

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

This was just transport from Naples hotel to Vesuvius so don't expect anything more.Good if you don't know how else to get there and don't won't to combine it with a visit to Pompeii (we did Pompeii in another tour). Mini-van from our hotel to outside Pompeii where we picked up another couple (so 4 of us in total) then we drove most of the way up Vesuvius. Not much commentary from the "guide" so thats why this isn't really a tour. We were given about 40 mins to walk from the carpark at the top to the crater and back to the van so felt a bit rushed. If you can make your own way to Vesuvius or work out the public transport then do so otherwise this is adequate.

Frank P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

We didn't have enough time at the mountain. Wasted too much time waiting and picking up people in Pompeii.

Gillian T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

the guide was very knowledgeable but trip felt a bit rushed - woiuld have liked a bit longer at the top. the driver was also very helpful .

Sarah G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

The pick up and drop off from hotel were very convinient, and the guide had a lot of interesting facts to share. However I felt very rushed since she only gave us 45 minutes to go to the top and meet her again at the bottom, that left us less then 10 minutes at the top to actually look at the volcano and enjoy the breathtaking views! I would have liked a lot more time to enjoy the sights and not felt like I had to run down the mountain to get back to her in time, which was unfortunate.

Heidi O USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

This tour was great fun and our guide was wonderful. Wear your walking shoes. The view is awesome but don't expect to see lava flowing and bubbling down the mountain.

EDWARD D Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Great views, interesting spot.

Kevin B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

I booked this tour a week in advance after first checking that the weather forecast was for a sunny day. Of course, on the day the forecast was wrong and we were unlucky to have cloudy, drizzly weather. However, this is not the reason for my low rating. At the restaurant our guide assured everybody not to worry - because of the weather, he said, we would not be able to enjoy the views over the bay but the crater was above the cloud and was clear. Of course it wasn't. It was completely shrouded in mist and we saw nothing. The disappointment for me was that during the bus trip up the guide said very little and gave virtually no insight into the history of the volcano. Most people were disappointed with the weather and I felt the guide could at least have used some enthusiasm to brighten the mood a bit. Then when we arrived at the gate to the Vesuvius National Park the guide announced, almost with relief I sensed, that, happily, the gate was open. Really? What would have happened if we'd got there to find it closed? It was clear the guide did not know the conditions at the top. Of course, we are disappointed that the tour did not work out as expected because of the weather, however, at least my wife and I can now claim that we've been to the top.

Horst P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Trip was nice but confusing. Pickup as great. Time to Vesuvius and lunch was good.
Return was a problem. Bus was not able to leave in time to return us to the cruise ship.
We were loaded onto a van which hurried in order to arrive at the port before the ship sailed.
If we were left on the bus we would have been left behind as the ship would have sailed.

Alberto H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

I'm sure this tour would have been nice, but the weather was terrible and we couldn't see anything. It would be nice if the tour operator offered another day. I know weather is difficult to control, but this was a wast for us. In retrospect I would do an adhoc tour for this depending on the weather.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 69.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958V

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message