• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 26 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 26 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

A nice way to climb Vesuvius at your own pace. Tour guide gets you through the gate, and then you are on your own. Only annoying thing was that the guide spent most of his time talking about women being stupid, useless, etc. Our group was mostly comprised of women.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Great tour with a great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The view is spectacular from the top of Mt. Vesuvius! Although we had to hike up a mile to get to the summit, but it was worth every step. The crater is amazing to see, and phosphorous and sulfur gas are seeping out of the crater, which was really cool to see. Remember to wear hiking shoes and be ready for a climb. The guy at the bottom who offers hiking sticks is a savior! Make sure to bring tip money for him. This tour gives you more than enough time to even visit the little shops on the way to the top.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Trip was ok, wish I had more info from the guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

This was just transport from Naples hotel to Vesuvius so don't expect anything more.Good if you don't know how else to get there and don't won't to combine it with a visit to Pompeii (we did Pompeii in another tour). Mini-van from our hotel to outside Pompeii where we picked up another couple (so 4 of us in total) then we drove most of the way up Vesuvius. Not much commentary from the "guide" so thats why this isn't really a tour. We were given about 40 mins to walk from the carpark at the top to the crater and back to the van so felt a bit rushed. If you can make your own way to Vesuvius or work out the public transport then do so otherwise this is adequate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

We didn't have enough time at the mountain. Wasted too much time waiting and picking up people in Pompeii.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

the guide was very knowledgeable but trip felt a bit rushed - woiuld have liked a bit longer at the top. the driver was also very helpful .

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

The pick up and drop off from hotel were very convinient, and the guide had a lot of interesting facts to share. However I felt very rushed since she only gave us 45 minutes to go to the top and meet her again at the bottom, that left us less then 10 minutes at the top to actually look at the volcano and enjoy the breathtaking views! I would have liked a lot more time to enjoy the sights and not felt like I had to run down the mountain to get back to her in time, which was unfortunate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

This tour was great fun and our guide was wonderful. Wear your walking shoes. The view is awesome but don't expect to see lava flowing and bubbling down the mountain.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Great views, interesting spot.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Had a terrific afternoon. walking and the view is amazing. However was disappointed that the guide did not give any info at all to us unless asked directly. Also, we travelled from Pompeii in the morning to pick up the tour in Naples and it then travelled back to Pompeii to pick up other tourists for the afternoon tour with us. I was disappointed that the tour did not advertise that you could be picked up in Pompeii as it would have made a huge difference to our travel plans

From USD $ 70.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958V

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message