4 star rating: Recommended 41 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 41 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is a great tour. I recommend it to anyone, who doesn't mind a hike and likes a good view

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

weather wasn't great but the tour guide did a great job

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Trip was good but guide was not necessary and organization of transport from Mt.Vesuvius to Naples was a little bit confusing.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The trip itself was brilliant from the bus trip (with sing along) and the 'climb'. My only issue is that we had to rush as other members had to get back for trains and their cruise ship. I felt this was unfair as we did not get the full time allowance due to the pressure placed on us by the other people. I also felt it an unreasonable demand on the guide and driver as the days timings are made very clear on booking. I would recommend it however as it was very enjoyable and the view was amazing.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

an easy way to see the volcano altho the guide didnt accompany us up the final (walkable) stretch there was probably little for her to tell us at the top that she hadn't already told us.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

We really should have combined our tour with the tour of Pompeii, but we didn't as we weren't sure if our incoming train to Naples would allow us enough time to check in and make the combined tour on time. Regardless, this part of the tour is really only transport to Vesuvius which you climb on your own without the guide. Vesuvius really is worth going to, so would really recommend.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A bit of difficulty phoning to re-confirm but a fantastic trip, well organized, and very slick!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

A nice way to climb Vesuvius at your own pace. Tour guide gets you through the gate, and then you are on your own. Only annoying thing was that the guide spent most of his time talking about women being stupid, useless, etc. Our group was mostly comprised of women.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Great tour with a great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The view is spectacular from the top of Mt. Vesuvius! Although we had to hike up a mile to get to the summit, but it was worth every step. The crater is amazing to see, and phosphorous and sulfur gas are seeping out of the crater, which was really cool to see. Remember to wear hiking shoes and be ready for a climb. The guy at the bottom who offers hiking sticks is a savior! Make sure to bring tip money for him. This tour gives you more than enough time to even visit the little shops on the way to the top.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Fantastic opportunity to see the crater of Vesuvius. Be aware you are taken to the Pompeii ticket area first, so if coming from Naples or Amalfi be prepared for a lengthy wait there before you join the main group up the mountain.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Trip was ok, wish I had more info from the guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

This was just transport from Naples hotel to Vesuvius so don't expect anything more.Good if you don't know how else to get there and don't won't to combine it with a visit to Pompeii (we did Pompeii in another tour). Mini-van from our hotel to outside Pompeii where we picked up another couple (so 4 of us in total) then we drove most of the way up Vesuvius. Not much commentary from the "guide" so thats why this isn't really a tour. We were given about 40 mins to walk from the carpark at the top to the crater and back to the van so felt a bit rushed. If you can make your own way to Vesuvius or work out the public transport then do so otherwise this is adequate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

We didn't have enough time at the mountain. Wasted too much time waiting and picking up people in Pompeii.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

the guide was very knowledgeable but trip felt a bit rushed - woiuld have liked a bit longer at the top. the driver was also very helpful .

From USD $ 80.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958V

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message