4 star rating: Recommended 47 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 47 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A bit of difficulty phoning to re-confirm but a fantastic trip, well organized, and very slick!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

A nice way to climb Vesuvius at your own pace. Tour guide gets you through the gate, and then you are on your own. Only annoying thing was that the guide spent most of his time talking about women being stupid, useless, etc. Our group was mostly comprised of women.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Great tour with a great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The view is spectacular from the top of Mt. Vesuvius! Although we had to hike up a mile to get to the summit, but it was worth every step. The crater is amazing to see, and phosphorous and sulfur gas are seeping out of the crater, which was really cool to see. Remember to wear hiking shoes and be ready for a climb. The guy at the bottom who offers hiking sticks is a savior! Make sure to bring tip money for him. This tour gives you more than enough time to even visit the little shops on the way to the top.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The initial walk up Mount Vesuvius was a little strenuous, but after the first 10 minutes or so, you will get used to it and it gets easier. Of course, the fitter you are, the easier it will be. Especially if you walk up hills or mountains regularly.

Very dusty path up, so good walking shoes which you don't mind getting dusty is recommended.

There are 2 checkpoints along the way, of shops which sell souveniers / refreshments. One halfway up, the other all the way up. There is also a shop at the entrance.

Peering down Vesuvius is just a large crater, with white smoke still exiting on one of the sides.

Views of Pompeii, Naples and its surroundings are incredible, so take your camera for that.

I would recommend booking the trip for the minibus ride up to the entrance of Mount Vesuvius itself, as it is about a 30 minute ride up the hill from Pompeii.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

After reading various reviews about the fitness levels required for climbing Vesuvius, I was extremely apprehensive about taking my 65 year old, rather overweight Mother on this trip. However, although it is pretty hard going at times, we made it with no problems and I certainly wouldn't class myself as "fit" either! My only complaint about the trip is that it is so rushed. We were given just 90 minutes to get up the Volcano and back down to the bus. The tour guide was lovely and very funny, but didnt actually tell us anything about the history of Vesuvius and just kept repeating that we needed to be back at the bus by 4.30... If we had longer to do the trek then it would have been amazing. Even just half an hour more would have meant being able to walk up a little slower then have longer to take in the views at the top. But I would still recommend this trip, just dont expect to have very long at the top!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Fantastic opportunity to see the crater of Vesuvius. Be aware you are taken to the Pompeii ticket area first, so if coming from Naples or Amalfi be prepared for a lengthy wait there before you join the main group up the mountain.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Trip was ok, wish I had more info from the guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

This was just transport from Naples hotel to Vesuvius so don't expect anything more.Good if you don't know how else to get there and don't won't to combine it with a visit to Pompeii (we did Pompeii in another tour). Mini-van from our hotel to outside Pompeii where we picked up another couple (so 4 of us in total) then we drove most of the way up Vesuvius. Not much commentary from the "guide" so thats why this isn't really a tour. We were given about 40 mins to walk from the carpark at the top to the crater and back to the van so felt a bit rushed. If you can make your own way to Vesuvius or work out the public transport then do so otherwise this is adequate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

We didn't have enough time at the mountain. Wasted too much time waiting and picking up people in Pompeii.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

the guide was very knowledgeable but trip felt a bit rushed - woiuld have liked a bit longer at the top. the driver was also very helpful .

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

The pick up and drop off from hotel were very convinient, and the guide had a lot of interesting facts to share. However I felt very rushed since she only gave us 45 minutes to go to the top and meet her again at the bottom, that left us less then 10 minutes at the top to actually look at the volcano and enjoy the breathtaking views! I would have liked a lot more time to enjoy the sights and not felt like I had to run down the mountain to get back to her in time, which was unfortunate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

This tour was great fun and our guide was wonderful. Wear your walking shoes. The view is awesome but don't expect to see lava flowing and bubbling down the mountain.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Great views, interesting spot.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

I'm sure this tour would have been nice, but the weather was terrible and we couldn't see anything. It would be nice if the tour operator offered another day. I know weather is difficult to control, but this was a wast for us. In retrospect I would do an adhoc tour for this depending on the weather.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The guides don't really do much except drive you up 2/3 of the mountain, drop you off as they wait in the car. You have 20 minutes to walk up, 20 minutes to walk around at the top of Mt Vesuvius, and 20 minutes to walk down. It wasn't that grand of an experience.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We did get some information about the area and Vesuvius on the way up, which was interesting. It was a good hike up anf it was pretty amazing to see. I am glad I went but I am not certain a person or small group couldn't find their own transportation and accomplish the same thing. Not enough time is allowed for this. You have to hustle up to the top, look quick and get right back down.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Had a terrific afternoon. walking and the view is amazing. However was disappointed that the guide did not give any info at all to us unless asked directly. Also, we travelled from Pompeii in the morning to pick up the tour in Naples and it then travelled back to Pompeii to pick up other tourists for the afternoon tour with us. I was disappointed that the tour did not advertise that you could be picked up in Pompeii as it would have made a huge difference to our travel plans

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I found the tour rushed, arrived at Pompeii first stop lunch then driven to site to be told maximum stay at top of vesuvius was 30 mins and it takes 30 mins to climb to the top and 15 mins to return to coach, that's OK if everyone is under 30 and a physical trainer, it does not allow time for older people to climb the slopes to the top maybe have a drink or to catch their breath, it can take 45 minutes to walk round the top and take in the veiws, history etc. Maybe a little more thought for those over 30.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I wouldn't do the tour. The guide was terrible, didn't tell us anything about Mt Vesuvius and we did the hike alone . The bus was from the ancient times and the a/c didn't work which made it a "joy" after doing the hike

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Missed the tour because of change of time from our booking paperwork

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We were picked up on time however were driven to pompeii to pick up the guide and other people going up Vesouvious who had had an earlier alternative tour. Unfortunately we were then left sitting in the mini bus for half an hour in a car park waiting for them to finish lunch. Very unorganised.

From USD $ 66.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958V

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message