4.5 star rating: Recommended 787 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 787 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing tour and our tour guide Andre was wonderful. Really knew his subject and shared it with the group....very interactive.....one of the best tours so far!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved Pompeii! Our guide was very funny and knowledgeable. Mt. Vesuvius was also nice but I was unable to climb to the top with a not so strong knee. Would have like to have known that the path to the top was small loose gravel and a very steep incline. Otherwise, we loved this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome guide, a little crazy which made the information and tour much more enjoyable. Gave us more info concerning the everyday life in Pompeii than expected ... didn't want this to end! Mount Vesuvius was fogged in but made the hike to the top, another do not miss as long as you're physically able!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide we had for visiting Pompeii was terrific. He gave wonderful insights as to how life would have been then and daily routines, while totally explaining the ruins. We walked through most of the site and he thoughtfully pointed out highlights and was very patient until everyone could hear and see. The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was well worth the effort. There was steam coming out of one side of the caldera and the views from the top were incredible. It would have been nice to have more time to spend at the top. It was a very worthwhile day and a tour that we would not hesitate to recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide at Pompeii was excellent and funny. Really super. The bus guide was also very good. One of the best tours I have ever had.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Guide was good. Pizza lunch was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip!,
Andres was very knowledgeable and told us a typical day of the people of Pompeii He knows his subject well.
He had good answers for all questions
He did as well at Vesvuius
An excellent guide!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous tour guide. The man's a natural. Had us laughing and held our attention the whole way through Pompeii and kept us entertained to and from Mount Vesuvius. Thoroughly enjoyed our day.

Hannahpan
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was fantastic. It was very well organised and we were looked after all day. It was quite tight with the timescales, but considering it was very busy everywhere, the team did a good job to give us the full experience.
We were picked up from our Naples hotel at 10:15 and taken to Pompeii with Maria who was very friendly. There we joined the rest of the group of about 40 people. We were taken on the tour of Pompeii with Gino who was great - he spoke excellent English and was a good laugh. He was very knowledgeable about Pompeii and took us around the main areas in the hour and a half that we had with him. There were loads of other tours at the same time, so it was a bit hectic to keep up and beat the crowds, but Gino did a great job.

After Pompeii we had a nice pizza lunch with a drink, then it was back on the coach to go to Vesuvius. The coach was comfortable and we had Maria again for this part of the tour where she gave us lots of information (in English) about Vesuvius and its history, so the journey didn't seem to take too long. Once the coach stops you walks the final mile to the summit, it is pretty steep so you need good sturdy walking shoes/trainers. The ground is very loose too. There are a few souvenir stalls and shops and you can get drinks and light snacks at the bottom and at the top. It took around 20 minutes to get to the top with a good walking pace, it is worth it as the views are stunning! It was very special for me as my boyfriend proposed at the top, so this trip will definitely be unforgettable. We got back to our Naples hotel around 6pm.
I looked at the cost of this trip if you were do it yourself, travelling from Naples. It wasn't too much difference in cost (around 20 Euros each) but I would recommend it through Viator as you get lovely guides and the ease of being picked up and taken back is worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

From start to finish the tour was fantastic. I was picked up and returned to my hotel by friendly staff, Andrea was the guide for the tour, he speaks excellent English, was very informative and fun, the lunch was delicious, I would recommend the trip to all age groups, singles, couples and families.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing places to visit with so much information. Large group although the guide was hilarious so made it all worth while. Pompeii is a must see! Mt Vesuvius is wonderful to see. Had fun hiking up the hill.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent day trip. Our guide was very good, he was informative and funny and made sure everything was just right for our group. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide (Andrea) was amazing! Climbing the Mt Vesuvius let us see amazing views of Naples bay. I recomend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

After being collected from our hotel at the alloted time, the minibus made several pick ups on our way to Pompeii. After arriving and a short rest stop by stalls and a cafe, we met our guides and the group split by language preference. Our guide spoke fluent English and was very knowledgable about where to go and what to say. An excellent tour. We then had lunch at a local restaurant and headed off to Mt Vesuvius. We were left to climb the path and given a deadline to be back. A great experience. The path is fine grained pumice stone, so hard going on the steeper sections, though finely dressed Italian ladies passed us on the way down without breaking a sweat. A 4x4 fiat panda can drive the entire footpath in an emergency. I highly recommend this trip.

From USD $ 112.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message