4.5 star rating: Recommended 756 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 756 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Andreas was the best tour guide! Thank you so much! This my husband and I's first real tour and it was awesome! All because of Andreas! Thank you thank you thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This an excellent tour. Even though the tine in Pompeii was about 2 hours, Andreas covered everything we needed and was a ver entertaining guide. The lunch gave us a small choice (not just pizza) and even covered my wife's Gluten free needs! Also loved the walk up the Volcano.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very impressed with how well-organised the whole day's excursion was; from the confirmation call to our hotel on pick-up time, terrific guide Andreas who delivered the history of Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius in a totally fun and informative way and kept the group moving along timely. Wished we had a history teacher like Andreas; would have learnt and remembered more of Greek-Roman history. The great view of the Napoli and it's Bay at Mt Vesuvius / crater was awesome, well- worth the trek up/down. Truly enjoyed our trip; many thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a really well organised and extremely interesting trip with guides that really knew their stuff.,Everything ran remarkably smoothly from the taxi pickup from our Naples hotel onwards. Well worth doing and nice to leave the organisation to those much better qualified. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip but if anything a little overpriced compared with other tours we did while travelling round Italy. The Pompeii visit was about 2 hours and about the right amount of time for us. The group was fairly large but the guide was very good and kept us all interested. Mount Vesuvius was good and I'm glad we did it! My biggest disappointment with the tour was the fact that we weren't given time to look round the souvenirs and buy postcards. Instead we were shipped straight from the ruins to lunch then on a bus to Mt Vesuvius. Lunch itself wasn't great and it would be better if people were asked to make their own lunch arrangements, giving them time to eat and shop before setting off for the volcano. This would then also make the trip cheaper. In addition it would be better if the tour were to start an hour earlier so that you could get the most out of your entrance fee to Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What an amazing trip! My partner and I had been waiting a long time to do this and we were not disappointed. The guide we had was excellent and he explained everything in extensive detail. I should add that he spoke very clear English and there was no need for an audio guide. The ruins of Pompeii where breathtaking and you get a real sense of the way people lived with the guides story-telling. Would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great guide- funny, personable and very knowledgable. Nice lunch and organized tour. Seemed reasonable for all abilities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was great! Informative guide for Pompeii, comfortable enough bus, quality pizza/pasta lunch and the climb of Vesuvious was defs worth it. The bus pick up was confusing, from the train station it's to the left across the road literally at the corner of the terminus hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had Andreas as our tour guide and he was great! He have us great facts and made some funny jokes, he just made the experience very enjoyable. Pompeii is an incredible place to visit on your own but when someone knowledgable is giving you the tour, it just makes it million times better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was an excellent tour and we really enjoyed it. The tour was well organized right from the hotel pick up to the co-ordination of the guides at Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius and the hotel drop off. Enjoyed the commentary of the guide, Andre, who was very humorous and informative. Well worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour of Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius was absolutely amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Incredible! The guides were professional and well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Before booking this tour I read many reviews about booking through Viator, and was hesitant about it due to the fact that Viator then books it with a local operator. Some of the reviews were positive, and others not so. I went ahead and booked with the understanding that it might be really great, or less than, depending on the company that we got hooked up with.
We had a wonderful experience. Our tour guides (both on the bus and at Pompeii) were friendly, knowledgeable, and very professional. The tour was well organized from the pick up time and place to the final drop off near our hotel. The entire day was planned for us and couldn't have been more enjoyable. If you are thinking of doing only the half-day trip to Pompeii, I recommend that you do the full-day excursion and visit Mt. Vesuvius as well. It's incredible!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing! Gave us exactly what the description indicates. Tour guide Andrea was amazing, funny and knowledgable. It was an amazing day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic. Picked up and dropped off right at the front door of our hotel. Tour Guide for bus gave alot of history of Napoli. Tour Guide at Pompeii very knowledgeable and gave us more than I had ever hoped for. Tour Guide was also very observant and realized I would not be able to make the walk up the mountain, but made sure I was comfortable and was waiting somewhere he would find me. Highly recommend this adventure to everyone!

From USD $ 118.54

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message