4.5 star rating: Recommended 921 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 921 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide in Pompeii - Andrea - was highly knowledgeable and made the experience extremely fun. The guides that we had were very well organized and able to deal with the issues that our group (20+ people) created.
Pompeii was a highlight.
The lunch was authentic Naples style

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Really good tour of Pompeii with stories about each site as you explore the ancient village. Our guide Andre was super! Great pizza for lunch. Plenty time to explore Vesuvio! Hotel pick up and drop off was very convenient.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide in Pompeii was fabulous!! He really made the experience complete and way better than just walking through the ruins on your own. The pizza lunch was tasty and quick, and the hike of Mt Vesuvius is on your own, but a cool way to end the day. Overall, I definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was amazing! The guides were excellent, bus ride was great, clean and comfortable. The view from the top of Mt Vesuvious was a perfect way to end the day and the hike was worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommend this tour. The tour of Pompeii was extremely interesting- our tour guide was amazing! The climb of Mt. Vesuvius was very scenic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vraiment à conseiller, bus pile à l'heure, guides sympatiques et très compétant, paysage superbe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide (Andreas I think) who made the Pompeii trip so memorable. Bursting with knowledge, wit and enthusiasm. Don't miss Pompeii it is a marvel to see - so much history preserved it is absolutely fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

great tour and different with the mt versuvius climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing, great and well worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent value for money, wouldn't have liked to put together ourselves for that amount. Pickup at hotel on time. Coach comfortable and clean. Guide at Pompeii such good fun, knowledgable and funny. Lunch adequate. Time at Vesuvius a little short for some to make the top and back in time. Thank you

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

tour guide was absolute gold: funny, knowledgeable, and very vigilant on our whereabouts at all times. the tour itself was well organized. the bus picked us up from the hostel at exactly the right time, the time spent at pompeii and vesuvius each was also just right though we could have done with a bit longer at vesuvius, twenty five minutes was not sufficient time to walk up the volcano as the tour guide claimed! but overall we left the tour feeling very satisfied. five out of five, we were very happy customers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic, really recommended. We were picked at our hotel 5 minutes later than expected time however we rec'd a call at the hotel to advise of this small delay so that was not a problem. We went to Pompeii first and our guide, Maria, was fantastic, her knowledge was impressive to say the least. We were shown several places of interest but if you wanted to see it all you would have to go for at least one full day if not more as the sight is so big. What we saw was brilliant.
A lunch stop at a nice restaurant with a choice of pizza or pasta with a drink. Basic was it was delicious and authentic.
After lunch we headed up to Mt Vesuvius where was were given plenty of time to be able to walk from the car park area to the summit, and back again with spare time to look at the stalls and buy a postcard etc from the shop.
Fabulous day in all, my mum and I loved it :-

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very good tour.
Tom and Adele
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing and

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I were picked up for this tour from the Naples train station. We had to cross the road and go slightly to the left. Simple enough, but it was a bit awkward as we weren't sure we were in the right place until other couples showed up. Two vans showed up on time to take us on the tour. We started off at Pompeii where we met our tour guide and picked up a microphone relay system. He was really friendly and telling lots of jokes which helped make the tour fun as well as informative. Pompeii is amazingly well preserved. I loved hearing about the streets and how they were named based on the Roman god's face who dispensed water at the corners Roman empire was huge with many languages from conquered areas, but everyone knew the Roman gods. The streets were sunken a bit so that when the animals did their business it stayed there. The stepping stones to cross the road were really neat as were the water fountains at the end of the streets which were used to fill up a basin that could be used to clean the road since the whole town was on a tilt. We walked through a bath house with beautiful frescos, and saw two molds of poor souls who lost their lives when Pompeii was buried. We also went to a brothel that had interesting frescos again different languages so pictures were used to communicate, I'll leave it at that. All the time we were in Pompeii, I couldn't help but notice Mt Vesuvius looming in the background. Lunch was simple and quick, then we were driven to Mt Vesuvius. We climbed up an amazingly steep grade for what seemed like an eternity, taking numerous breaks to catch our breath. The view from the top was well worth it though.

Highlights:
Tour guide knew his stuff and was fun to be around
Pompeii is amazingly well preserved and is a must see if you're in/near Naples
Mt Vesuvius provides stunning views of the surrounding area, if you're up for the hike
Microphone relay system from tour guide to you no issues whatsoever hearing all the details

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

brilliant trip and lovely staff. would recommend xxxx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour was absolutely wonderful. Great insight and history! Our guide was extremely good and provided a good sense of knowledge and humor. We would have liked to linger longer but realize that there was only so much time available. We also appreciated the door to door bus service! We would do it all again, given the opportunity. QS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and I took this tour during our honeymoon trip to Italy. We thought everything about it was awesome--our guide was funny and informative, Pompeii itself was much better preserved than we had anticipated with some really cool sites, and hiking up Vesuvius was a very unique experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was really worthbit adreaus the guide was excellent worth paying for

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour very well organized and very friendly guides

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thought the tour was great. Our guide provided us with plenty of intetesting information. I would love to go to Pompeii again and explore other areas. The included lunch was a huge plus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the most amazing tour I did while in Italy. Our tour guide was amazing and made it easy to follow along. He had a great personality and sense of humor. Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius were both unbelievable. The included lunch was great! Definitely worth it, recommended to all

From USD $ 100.51

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message