• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 692 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 692 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anne E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A well organised trip. Our guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. A good day out all round.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pompeii was so much bigger and fascinating than expected. Several times, however, our guide said that 200 Allied bombs during WWII were dropped on Pompeii which I don't think is historically accurate. Mt. Vesuvius was also great. We were there on a clear day so the views were spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide really made this tour, very knowledgable and funny, fantastic customer service!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We really enjoyed seeing this bit of history. It's amazing what they've been able to find. We had a great, sunny day to see this beautiful area. Being Geocachers, we had a lot of fun caching on our tour. We even were able to find a cache on top of Mt. Vesuvius. We were able to get back to our van as the rain began to fall at the end of the tour. Well worth the money to see! A good lunch is included.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He encouraged questions and adjusted the tour to what we wanted to see, spending more time in some areas and less in others. He really made the history come alive. Unfortunately because of the weather the 2nd half of the tour, to Mt. Vesuvius, was canceled but the tour company was very responsive in providing a refund for that portion of the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip to Pompeii from Naples was well organized and ran very smoothly. The guide that led the Pompeii tour was knowledgeable and very animated. His descriptions of what we were seeing were very descriptive, which made for a very enjoyable and enlightening experience. The location where the pizza and soda lunch after the Pompeii tour took place was very convenient, however, the pizza was not particularly good. The walk up to Vesuvius was somewhat challenging due to the loose “gravel” on the path. Regardless, the climb to the top was a nice hike that could easily be made in the one-hour allocated by the tour guide. Regretfully, our day on Vesuvius was somewhat overcast and the pictures of the Bay of Naples will not be as spectacular as they would be during a clear day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a day trip booked for Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius on the same day as part of our anniversary trip to Naples. Unfortunately, the trip to Pompeii descended into to bad weather late in the morning and the touring guide told us that following a phone call from her office Mt Vesuvius was closed due to pouring rain and low cloud and we should claim a refund. We did not even get the included pizza for lunch! However, all that said, I rang the touring office from the hotel and indicated that we could do the remaining trip on the following day if they had one available. They agreed and we were picked up from our hotel at lunchtime, driven through the wacky races that is Naples and arrived to join the rest of the part that had visited Pompeii during the morning and sat down to a giant pizza with a drink then transported to Mt Vesuvius whereupon having climbed to the top it snowed. We were able to see the crater before the cloud descended once more. Overall a brilliant trip and a company that bent over backwards to furnish our needs. Good value for money and a great trip! We will use Viator again in the future. Thanks Bob and Tracey Clark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Pompei is absolutely amazing, we enjoyed the lunch and then the trek up the mountain, This is an awesome tour and I would highly reccommend it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved this trip, our guide "Andrea (?) " was excellent. He certainly knew his stuff. Pompeii was an incredible experience. Learnt so much and a lot bigger than we were expecting. Highly recommend visiting Pompeii. Mt Vesuvius would have been a brilliant experience had it not been bitterly cold and exceptionally windy !!! My 13 year old daughter had visions of being blown off the side of the volcano !!!! Would definitely visit both again, with the hope of reaching the crater next time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was very well organised. It was a bit rushed, as there is soo much to see at Pompeii, so our lunch was very quick. But the guide was very informative and spoke very good english (as well as french). I would recommend this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The trip was great in short! Andre our guide was extremely knowledgeable and explained the history of Pompeii with great details. We were really impressed with his knowledge. Only thing that can be improved is that instead of the 1 hour lunch break, the tour should be flexible enough to allow tourists to go to places like ' the garden of the fugitives' in Pompeii etc. Vesuvius was impressive as well. The time allowed for the trip could be extended a bit as well. Overall will recommend the tour to all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Was a brilliant day - well worth the money! Our guide Andreas was sooooo helpful, informative and amusing - his non-stop commentary throughout the tour really helped us understand what life was like back in Pompeii before Mt V changed all that forever.

The climb to the top of Mt Vesuvius wasn't as bad as I had expected - unfortunately, the cloud was so low that you couldn't see into the crater when you reached the top but it was very atmospheric and sorta exciting to be walking in the clouds on this infamous volcano.

I also loved that fact that there were only 9 of us in the group - but guess that's just a bonus of going 'out of season'.

And the pizza and vino didn't disappoint either!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was very well organized. The office was reachable over phone to co-ordinate logistics for pick up. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour worth the time and money. I would definitely recommend this tour as this was a day well spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed a full day tour of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. The morning was spent at Pompeii with our guide who was very knowledgeable and fun to be around. I am so glad we had a guide on this tour; otherwise there would have been a lot that we would not have understood. After lunch at a nice restaurant, our guide took us to the base of Mt. Vesuvius and we had the option of hiking to the top or just relaxing at the base. There was 4 of us in the group and we all decided to go to the top. We were glad we did as it gave us an appreciation for this incredible volcano. All in all, it was a great day and I would highly recommend the tour with Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Knowledgeable guide. Lunch not great but the view atop Vesuvius is well worth the hike.

From USD $ 123.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message