• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 609 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 609 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a very good and humouristic guide, Andrea!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very educational. Andreas our tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining that made our tour much more fun than boring.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was the highpoint of our trip to Naples. Should any of our friends go to Naples I would definitely recommend them using Viator for the Pompei and Vesuvius trip.
The guide (André I think) was great, he was really good at making the Pompei trip a storytelling experience, where he drew comparisons to how things are the same in several ways today, as they were back in the Pompei days.
On Mount Vesuvius we didn’t get as much time as I would have liked to have. We got 25 minutes for the trip up and 25 minutes to walk back down, and then a bit extra to look around at the top. I believe we had just over an hour, before we had to be back at the bus, which we only just made. My boyfriend is a runner, so he had no problems with the trip up, where I don’t have the best high-intensity shape (I’m not overweight or in poor shape), and I struggled a bit on the way to the top. I didn’t have proper shoes on either which I came to regret several times on the trip up and down Vesuvius. But the view and the sense of accomplishment is worth it all 

To sum up: This trip is worth the cost and very important on Vesuvius: Wear really good sneakers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was great, out guide 'Andre' was so funny and lunch was great. The trip up only take about 30 min to the top, but highly recommended. Wear good shoes, not flip-flops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The mini bus picked us up from our hotel, the guide around Pompeii was excellent: informative and full of little stories that really brought the experience alive. Lunch was very pleasant and the trip to Vesuvius was also very good. All in all we had an excellent day, really interesting and with no hassle for us (we were so glad we'd decided against hiring car and going alone!). Everything was taken care of. Wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent guide. Good way to see both places in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Tour guide(s) were great and very funny! I had a great time and would book additional trips with this company!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great trip, lots to see, lots to of walking, lots of great picture spots!
Andrea was very knowledgeable and fun tour guide!
There's no need to bring a jacket for the mountain during the summer time.
Mt Vesuvius has very loose grounds and extremely dusty, a bit hard to hike up so proper shoes really helps!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fabulous day. Tour was perfect and tour guide very knowlegable and friendly. I recommend to all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We arrived at the meeting point early. Our guide arrived at the appointed location about 5 minutes before he was supposed too. We found the meeting point easily based on the description provided.

At Pompeii, Andre was an excellent guide, informative and his English was very good. We liked how he would draw comparisons between Roman and modern culture. Considering Naples traffic the bus driver deserves kudos for his skills too.

We climbed Vesuvius. Sneakers or shoes are essential. I saw one girl in flip-flops but she was struggling. The pea size rocks on the trail are sharp and slipping is a distinct possibility. It is not a hard or long climb, if you are moderately active. My wife, who is inactive, did make it up and back but required several rests along the way. Nonetheless the tour allowed sufficient time for us to complete this.

This tour delivered exactly what was stated in the description. I would recommend this excursion to anyone who wants to see these sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great experience from start to finish! The tour guide was a lot of fun, too. If you are in Naples, this trip is a must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic trip and our guide was awesome---wish I could remember his name. He was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor--highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

After researching the reviews on Viator, I booked this tour from Naples instead of from Rome because this tour from Rome included taking a bus from Rome to Naples ~ 3 hours each way which would have been uncomfortable. I made separate train reservations (Rail Europe) in advance which turned out to be a great move. We took NTV train from Rome to Naples (~ 1.5 hours) - easy and comfortable. Picked up tour in Naples right outside the Train Station in front of the STAR HOTELS TERMINUS (hotel). We were bused from there to POMPEII. POMPEII tour was awesome. Exceptional tour guide (Andrea - sp?) - with great historical insights and combined with some humor. Our Tour included Lunch - very nice restaurant - choice of Speghetti or Pizza - basic but good. Then bused to Mt. Vesuvius. Great experience. Hiked up path to top of cone to see inside crater. Outstanding views of Bay of Naples. Fast Paced - but GREAT. Would recommend to Tour Company starting tour earlier (started at 10AM) and allow more time at Mt. Vesuvius. Highly Recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Friendly informative and not to fast paced

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide, Andre, could not have been better! So informative and entertaining! This is someone who loves their job and it is appreciated by his guests. Nothing but praise!

From USD $ 126.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message