4.5 star rating: Recommended 756 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 756 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip out to Pompeii with a very informative guide, took us to all the places where I probably would have missed if I was on my own. Got a an air conditioned car to Mt Vesuvius, about 20-30 walk to the top. The tough walk to the top is worth it after seeing the view of the Bay of Naples.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

seeing an active volcano was amazing.. Pompeii was amazing too... loved the history in the city

Natalie
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour guide, he was funny and knowledgeable. Skip-the-line tickets were also a great time saver. The mountain climb was enjoyable even though the weather wasn't great. A jacket is a must as it can get quite cold up at the top. Pompeii was great although there were a lot of people there. Would be worth going at a less populated time. Being picked up and dropped off at the train station was excellent and made the day much easier. Lunch was also delicious. A must-do tour if you have the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fabulous day tour, our guide through Pompeii was very knowledgable and the walk to the crater was well worth the climb - you will not be disappointed. The only negative feedback from many of us on the day was the constant counting of numbers by the tour operators - esp in Pompeii where we lined up at least 5 times within 15min in the hot sun for the tour operator to count us before our lunch because she kept getting different figures. This happened again after lunch - I would suggest a better counting system as this wasted so much time throughout the day esp in the heat which was over 30 degrees.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip to Pompeii , even though our guide was a fill in She did fine. Driver was great. Went we got to Mt Vesuvious we couldn't climb to top due to rain and mud slide. A little disappointed but mostly a great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius were amazing. The guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Tour was great. ANDREA the guide was funny and explained all the historical details even the smallest one. Great job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. Guide very entertaining and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The pick up was perfect and a pleasant coach drive to Pompeii. The guided tour was first class. You have your own little radii receiver and earpiece. The guide was knowledgable, had good English and a great sense of humour! I honestly enjoyed every minute of it. The lunch was also great quality. Service was quick and the staff attentive. Was a big Pizza too!!
The afternoon at Vesuvius was amazing. Top marks to the coach driver for getting us up there. Amazing driving skills. We were then left to walk up the final few hundred feet to the top. The walk is steep and dusty and a total adventure. The views as you climb up are awesome and once you reach the top it is breathtaking. If you are reasonably fit, this trip is a total must.
A great day which has left us with fantastic memories and talking points forever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I just have to say the local tour company that provides the tour was superb!! We were coming by train into Naples to catch the tour bus but we took the wrong train and missed the bus. The gentleman at the office helped coordinate a minivan to pick my family up and get us to Pompeii to catch up with the tour. He was patience and very helpful and I can't commend him enough for everything he did to get us on track with the tour. The tour was amazing and Andres (hopefully I got his name right), the tour guide, was informative and very funny. He made the tour enjoyable even though we were melting under the sun's heat. The climb up Vesuvius was great and had a wonderful view. I would highly recommend this tour, it's not one to miss.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, saw everything and a decent pizza for lunch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

POMPEII WAS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF OUR TRIP TO ITALY, OUR GUIDE WAS TERRIFIC, (SORRY I FORGOT HIS NAME). HE MADE IT INTERESTING AND ENJOYABLE, HE SPOKE GREAT ENGLISH AND POPEII ITSELF IS A WONDERFUL TIME CAPSULE. IT WAS SOMINTERESTING AS HOW MANY MODERN DAY EXPRESSIONS AND ITEMS WERE INFLUENCED BY A CIVILISATION SO LONG AGO.

VESUVIUS WAS ALSO GOOD BUT OUR GUIDE FOR THIS PART OF THE TRIP WAS USLESS, TOLD US VERY LITTLE ABAOUT THE VOLCANO. THE CRATER WASN'T AS IMPRESSSIVE AS I HAD IMAGINED BUT STILL WORTH THE HIKE.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was great and I would highly recommend taking the tour. Transportation is completely taken care of for you so that you don't have to worry about it. First you go to Pompeii where you walk around the ruins while your guide will give you the historical background of the city. Then you are dropped off more than halfway up Mt. Vesuvius from which you can hike up to the summit. The hike takes about 30-40 minutes to reach the summit but it is completely worth it. The view was breath taking and it was a great experience. It is great for all ages whether you are a child or an adult, I went with my parents and younger brother and we all had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour guide. Really knew his stuff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We booked this trip to allow us to go to both Pompeii and Mt. Versuvius and we initially skeptical as we normally like to do things at our own pace but we were not disappointed. We enjoyed the whole trip and our tour guide was just excellent - really informative but also very humourous. We would highly recommend this tour.

From USD $ 118.54

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message