• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 607 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 607 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a fantastic trip and I am so glad that I booked it. I travelled alone to Naples and it was nice to have a well organised trip booked up, I was collected from my hotel and dropped back there at the end of the day so felt very safe. Pompeii was amazing and the guide made it even better he was very knowledgeable and funny too which made it more enjoyable. Lunch was ok choice of pizza or pasta and a drink. Versuvius was also amazing it is the main reason I went to Naples and I am very glad I was able to climb it. I have to admit it wasn't as easy as I thought especially as it was quite a hot day but even so it was very enjoyable and the view was amazing. They give you an hour and ten minutes to go up and back again and I would have liked a bit longer just so I was able to sit at the top for a bit longer and take it all in (and cool off a bit haha). All in all a fantastic trip and would recommend it to anyone, good value and a great day out

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I liked this tour so much that I booked another tour with the same company! Very professional and guide was excellent! They pick and drop you at your hotel!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour to cover both sites. The tour through Pompeii was terrific and the hike of Mt Vesuvius breathtaking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Definately recomended be prepared for some time under the sun though as shaded spots are very limited

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a very satisying tour and very competently handled by Andre and ably supported by the driver. The tour was very interesting and informative mainly due to Andre and his deep knowledge of the subject and his ready wit. We were very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Pompeii and Vesuvius.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful and imposing trip, recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Guides were very funny and had tons of things to say. Mount Vesuvius was a bit disappointing as the weather did not allow us to see anything while on top.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was great, the tour guide was very informative and kept us on track.
The pick up location was a little tough due to construction in front of the train station.
Please use clearer wording on voucher, wether we need to call to 24hours before trip to do what,
We thought we might of needed to call them 24hours to confirm the tour.
Thanks
Tommasa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I was fulfilling an ambition held for more than 50 years so it's no wonder that I thoroughly enjoyed the two excursions.
Our guide (Andreas?) for Pompeii was outstanding: he brought the place to life in a knowledgeable and humorous way interacting well with disparate elements in his audience.
The pizza lunch was enjoyable both because of the food and because of the opportunity it gave us to chat with other members of the group.
Vesuvius too was an enthralling experience.
Throughout the day the organisation of the groups/tours managed to be both 'Italian' and efficient.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour was of high quality and well conducted. The guide was informative, clever and funny. Some guests were unable the tour due to a tragedy and our guide handled this very well at short notice. Lunch at the restaurant was well timed and delicious. Maybe a little longer than 1 hour and 10 minutes is needed for some people to get to the top of the volcano. I was almost there after taking it slowly and carefully and I needed to turn back. Another 20 minutes would have done. But well done tour. Especially the pick up points and very clear information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Definitely a must, especially combining the two together as it's cheaper this way. Our guide was very knowledgeable and funny. Lunch was at a typical noisy and colourful trattoria. The choice was pasta or pizza with your choice of beverage (including wine and beer). Ample time to eat, however, we felt a bit rushed going up mount Vesuvius and back...Although of course, they would not leave without us. Haha.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

it was AWESOME! - the guide was knowledgable in telling the story of this history. i was impressed and glad i booked this tour. vesuvio was the best part...just wish we had clear skies and sun, boo!

the guide also made us feel safe, the driver was great, and i met some amazing people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

If you find yourself in Naples, I'd HIGHLY recommend an excursion outside of the city. This tour was the highlight of our trip. Where Napoli Centrale was squalor, the tour was redeeming. It was extremely informative, well-managed, and comprehensive. We were able to see the ruins of Pompeii, street-by-street, and climb Mt. Vesuvius without feeling rushed.
The price was quite fair, especially with transportation, meal and tickets included. The tour guide managed our small group in both English and Italian, and conveyed the history of the sites perfectly.
It's also worth mentioning: we were able to bypass the lines entirely, and were never left waiting. We were dropped off at our hotel feeling great about the tour choice. What more can be said?
Five stars.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples was perfect. They found us waiting at the train station near the Star Hotel Napoli side. They took us to pompeii and vesuvius and lunch was amazing. The only issue we had that our initial tour guide that took us from Naples to Pompeii's accent was very difficult to follow. I could follow most of it to get an idea of what she was saying, this was the same for the two other travelers with me. However once we got to Pompeii there was a different tour guide who spoke perfect english and spoke through headsets so we could all hear him clearly. We didn't expect Pompeii to be sooo huge. You have to be quick in some areas with your camera included the body that is pyroclasted, and the brothel. You're rushed through it quick because its a small area where every goes through and you're rushed quick on those parts. The tourguide was very humourous and friendly. He even took our cameras and took pictures for everyone in the center of Pompeii who wanted it (free of course). During the trip another group spoke spanish only and he was able to switch off between giving us a tour in english and then speaking spanish to them. Mount Vesuvius was great as well. It was about a 25 minute walk to the top, and you're given about 1.5 hours. We had enough time to go to the top, take pictures, enjoy the view, but quickly buy souvenirs. The lunch was also very deliciuos with a choice of pizza or pasta. When they ask what you want to drink, ask for soda if you'd like or if they offer wine. We made the mistake of water thinking we'd have to pay for drinks, but it was included as well. Very great tour, couldn't have done it ourself with the bus ride up to the mountain. Very breathtaking.

Melvyn J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great guide at Pompeii. Great informative host on the small bus. Personalized service. Tasty lunch provided. A BIG walk to the crater. Found it a little scary but well worth it.

From USD $ 126.17

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message