4.5 star rating: Recommended 923 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 923 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thought the tour was great. Our guide provided us with plenty of intetesting information. I would love to go to Pompeii again and explore other areas. The included lunch was a huge plus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the most amazing tour I did while in Italy. Our tour guide was amazing and made it easy to follow along. He had a great personality and sense of humor. Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius were both unbelievable. The included lunch was great! Definitely worth it, recommended to all

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lots of fun and a great tour guide who injected humor into the historical facts he was going over

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our family really enjoyed our tour of Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii. It was well-organized and was an excellent value. We were met in front of the train station and escorted to small touring buses. The on-board guide narrated in multiple languages about the area as we drove from Naples to Pompeii. Upon our arrival to the ancient site the groups were divided into language groups. Our second guide was enthusiastic, informative and highly entertaining. He had a way of bringing the city to life, sharing his knowledge in a way that connected with the adults as well as our teen and preteen. After our great tour of Pompeii we were given a bit of time to find souvenirs and use the facilities. Then we went across the street to a wonderful restaurant. While there we had a huge portion of the best pizza we had during our 10-day stay in Italy. After lunch our tour bus took us to Mt. Vesusvius. Our driver impressively navigate the narrow and winding roads with skill. From the parking lot, we enjoyed our 1.2 kilometers hike to the top of the great volcano. It was a steady ascent, but there were several resting stations along the way. Standing atop the volcano's peak was definitely a highlight of our vacation, as was this tour as a whole.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was excellent and the lunch whilst options were very limited the quality of the food was excellent. Maybe an additional 30 minutes for Mt Vesuvius would have been great, the ages ranges and ability of the group varied, so not everyone was able to got to the top and back in time. Pompeii was very busy but our guide was excellent, engaging and full of enthusiam and knowledge. Definitely worth doing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great day with a great tour guide. Would of been nice to have an additional 30-60 minutes in pompeii

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome! Pompeii is absolutely amazing, probably my favorite historic site in Italy. The climb to the top of Vesuvius is totally worth it so definitely do it. Our tour guide Andre was fantastic and full of information and personality. We had a small group of just four of us so transport was in a mini van which was comfortable. Lunch was delicious as expected.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was awesome! The guide was humours and knowledgable, gave us a great look at like back then.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fabulous! Really interesting, the guide was knowledgeable and funny. Mount Vesuvius climb was spectacular. Really well organised

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved it! We took the express train from Rome to Naples (1-1/4 hour - kids are free - upgraded to business class which was nice - coffee/paper/wine) and caught the tour at the train station. Everything was perfect. The tour was on time and where they were supposed to be. We saw Pompeii and Naples and had a lovely pizza lunch at a quiet out-of-the way restaurant. I choose this tour because it was simple and gave us only what we wanted - no tourist shopping or long bus trips. Met some wonderful people along the way. It was a great introduction to Pompeii - and perfect for my 11 year old son. I think we would both love to go back and spend a few days exploring. Guides were very nice and well experienced on the area and on keeping the group happy. Highly recommend. Very doable trip from Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Friendly and knowledgeable guide made the trip a complete joy. Would book again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well organised trip, entertaining and knowledgeable guide, good lunch. Ideal if you don't speak italian and don't want the hassle of working out how to get there on the train.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent, lots of history made interesting by the guide. Well worth the climb to the top of Vesuvius, but would have been nice to have a little more time to enjoy the spectacle.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were collected at Naples train station exactly on time and taken to Pompeii by mini bus. Our guide, Andreas, was excellent and the group size was just right. We had children with us aged 8 and 10 (the only children in the group) and it was pitched well for both them and adults. After a quick pizza lunch we went to Vesuvius and then back to Naples train station - all exactly on time. Really excellent day out!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We were picked up at the hotel, the guide was very good. All was organized very well. There was no time to get bored. Pizza and pasta was very tasty. Lots of jokes and humor. It was very enjoyable tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An amazing trip and something ticked off my bucket list..... meeting point was confusing but we stood with others that looked confused like us so all good! we had Andrea as a guide and he was AWESOME - ask for him!!! Naples was the most amazing place ever and then the day was topped off with Vesuvius! Great day thanks xx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had an excellent guide in Andrea both informative and entertaining

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We were promptly picked up from a hotel nearby to us in a comfortable coach and driven to Pompeii where we were introduced to Andrea - what a fantastic tour of Pompeii. He made the tour interesting. It was informative, and more importantly allowed us a good opportunity to learn about the history there.
A smooth transition from the tour to lunch where we were given a choice of pizza or pasta with a drink. A whole pizza - and so quick!
From there we jumped back on the bus and were taken to Mt. Vesuvius. As we winded our way up the narrow road there my fiancé and I both agreed how easy this tour was in terms of getting us to these two highly popular tourist destinations on time and easily!
Andrea left us at the bottom to walk up and down on our timetable as long as we were back on the bus by a certain time. Which was a reasonable timeframe considering the age of some passengers.
Unfortunately a couple returned late to the bus, but Andrea was very patient the whole time.
Returning to Naples, we had originally opted for the station drop off but Andrea got us back to our b and b which was fantastic!!
Would highly recommend. Spend the money for the ease of getting to both these places. Considering it's all paid for prior to the day it was just so easy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A fantastic day. We were picked up at our hotel exactly on time. Our enthusiastic guide Antonio provided us with many details about Pompeii, and answered all questions knowledgeably. Lunch was a tasty choice of pizza or cannelloni. We continued by bus to Mt.Vesuvius. The 40 minute somewhat steep climb was worth the view, and it was quite exciting to be at the top of a slightly steaming volcano. A good time was had by all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent guides, a very enjoyable and informative day.
Loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So glad we did this. This the walk is a lot but worth every step.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour. Our guide was very entertaining and really brought Pompeii to life with his descriptions of the daily lives of the people at the time. Great trip to the crater of Vesuvius.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing tour and our tour guide Andre was wonderful. Really knew his subject and shared it with the group....very interactive.....one of the best tours so far!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved Pompeii! Our guide was very funny and knowledgeable. Mt. Vesuvius was also nice but I was unable to climb to the top with a not so strong knee. Would have like to have known that the path to the top was small loose gravel and a very steep incline. Otherwise, we loved this tour!

From USD $ 100.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message