4.5 star rating: Recommended 724 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 724 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was very well organised. It was a bit rushed, as there is soo much to see at Pompeii, so our lunch was very quick. But the guide was very informative and spoke very good english (as well as french). I would recommend this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The trip was great in short! Andre our guide was extremely knowledgeable and explained the history of Pompeii with great details. We were really impressed with his knowledge. Only thing that can be improved is that instead of the 1 hour lunch break, the tour should be flexible enough to allow tourists to go to places like ' the garden of the fugitives' in Pompeii etc. Vesuvius was impressive as well. The time allowed for the trip could be extended a bit as well. Overall will recommend the tour to all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Was a brilliant day - well worth the money! Our guide Andreas was sooooo helpful, informative and amusing - his non-stop commentary throughout the tour really helped us understand what life was like back in Pompeii before Mt V changed all that forever.

The climb to the top of Mt Vesuvius wasn't as bad as I had expected - unfortunately, the cloud was so low that you couldn't see into the crater when you reached the top but it was very atmospheric and sorta exciting to be walking in the clouds on this infamous volcano.

I also loved that fact that there were only 9 of us in the group - but guess that's just a bonus of going 'out of season'.

And the pizza and vino didn't disappoint either!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was very well organized. The office was reachable over phone to co-ordinate logistics for pick up. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour worth the time and money. I would definitely recommend this tour as this was a day well spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed a full day tour of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. The morning was spent at Pompeii with our guide who was very knowledgeable and fun to be around. I am so glad we had a guide on this tour; otherwise there would have been a lot that we would not have understood. After lunch at a nice restaurant, our guide took us to the base of Mt. Vesuvius and we had the option of hiking to the top or just relaxing at the base. There was 4 of us in the group and we all decided to go to the top. We were glad we did as it gave us an appreciation for this incredible volcano. All in all, it was a great day and I would highly recommend the tour with Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Knowledgeable guide. Lunch not great but the view atop Vesuvius is well worth the hike.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good organization and great guide at Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A great day out. Pompei was magical and climbing to the top of Vesuvius breathtaking.
A must do trip.
Our guide was terrific and so enthusiastic, loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An outstanding way to spend the day. To walk the streets of 79 AD was quite an experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an excellent tour! We felt very cared for throughout the day. The guides were very attentive and ensured that all of our tour needs were met. Our guide for Pompeii was very knowledgeable. She left us in the capable hands of the guides for Mt. Vesuvius. All was complemented by a great sense of humor and accommodation. I strongly recommend this tour. Julie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fantastic. Loved Pompeii and Vesuvius. It was great having a guide at Pompeii because he pointed out little things you wouldn't even notice if you went by yourself. Meet some lovely people along the way. The walk up Vesuvius was a hard slog but well worth the effort-Amazing!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great trip to Pompeii with entertaining and interesting tour guide. just great to walk through the streets of this ancient city overshadowed by the sleeping giant of Vesuvius in the background.
Then after lunch we climbed to the top of Vesuvius to look down into the crater and see the fantastic views over Naples. A very enjoyable day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pick up close to the hotel was on time and efficient. Tour excellent. Guides very good and a very nice lunch by the ruins in Pompeii. A great overview for Pompeii and just enough time to do Vesuvius - the most difficult part of the walk up are the zig-zag bends at the beginning - don't be put off!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

September 2013
The Vesuvius/Pompeii full day tour was amazing. Andrea our tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining with stories. Lunch was pleasant. Would definitely recommend this tour to my friends. Make sure you wear joggers/comfortable walking shoes not flip flops as some people did and found it difficult to climb Mt Vesuvius.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hello!
This tour was the reason we visited Naples)) And one of the reasons we decided to visit Italy. It was August 25. How very convenient - all the pick ups and drop offs. The tour was a lot of fun, many thanks to our highly professional guide Andrea! So many memorable comments and explanations! About donkeys and pizzas, saunas and gladiators.. The most exciting moment was when we approached the Pompei city-centre square, which is kind of sandy, and at that very point in time the storm began - so very cloudy and windy - because of all the sand in the air it was hard to see and hear. Vesuvio looked gorgeous then. Absolutely stunning! Really symbolic. It couldn't have been any better. I've made a video of that storm. Unfortunately, I've accidently deleted it..((
Soon it started to rain. The tracks turned into streams.. no, rivers! "Close your eyes and follow me" said Andrea)) This shower was heavy, then there was this just in time lunch. We wern't able to make it to the top of Vesuvio due to this weather conditions, but we came on our own the next day and made it!


Thank you very much!

From USD $ 122.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message