4.5 star rating: Recommended 770 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 770 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A really well organised trip. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Pompeii was enthralling and it was incredible to think you were literally walking through history. The steep walk up to Mt. Vesuvius took about 25 minutes and was totally worth it. The view of the Bay of Naples from the top was spectacular and seeing the crater was so good. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We found the tour so interesting and Pompeii is a must if you are visiting Naples.
The climb up Mount Vesuvius is worth the 25 minute walk to enjoy the beautiful views.

blobbydave
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great Tour! The guided tour of Pompeii was very good (you need it as Pompeii is very large, would take you all day to just to have a quick look at all of it) For Mt Veruvius you need good flat shoes (trainers) as you have to walk the last 30 minutes and is step! But what a view when you get to the top! (volcano is still smoking inside) At the top is a few degrees les than the bottom, but was still warm mid May (some days can be cold) Pizza was nice too :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I absolutely loved this tour! Pompeii was captivating and incredibly well preserved. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He was very animated and the way he spoke about everything really solidified the information in our minds. The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was intense, as the incline was very steep, but totally worth it. The view of the Mediterranean Sea from the top was beautiful and it was cool to see the crater. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic! Our tour guide has a lot of in depth knowledge of the ruins which he delivered to us clearly, dramatically and with a zany sense of humour. Very fun and informative!!! It does take a bit of patience and time to get around into the specific spots because of the density of other tourists all trying to get into the same place, but otherwise, it was a lot of fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip was amazing, educative and interesting, and above all very amusing due to our excellent guide Alberto, who did his best to tell us all about Pompeii and amuse us at the same time.
He deserves special revard from Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Anne E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A well organised trip. Our guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. A good day out all round.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pompeii was so much bigger and fascinating than expected. Several times, however, our guide said that 200 Allied bombs during WWII were dropped on Pompeii which I don't think is historically accurate. Mt. Vesuvius was also great. We were there on a clear day so the views were spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide really made this tour, very knowledgable and funny, fantastic customer service!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We really enjoyed seeing this bit of history. It's amazing what they've been able to find. We had a great, sunny day to see this beautiful area. Being Geocachers, we had a lot of fun caching on our tour. We even were able to find a cache on top of Mt. Vesuvius. We were able to get back to our van as the rain began to fall at the end of the tour. Well worth the money to see! A good lunch is included.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He encouraged questions and adjusted the tour to what we wanted to see, spending more time in some areas and less in others. He really made the history come alive. Unfortunately because of the weather the 2nd half of the tour, to Mt. Vesuvius, was canceled but the tour company was very responsive in providing a refund for that portion of the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip to Pompeii from Naples was well organized and ran very smoothly. The guide that led the Pompeii tour was knowledgeable and very animated. His descriptions of what we were seeing were very descriptive, which made for a very enjoyable and enlightening experience. The location where the pizza and soda lunch after the Pompeii tour took place was very convenient, however, the pizza was not particularly good. The walk up to Vesuvius was somewhat challenging due to the loose “gravel” on the path. Regardless, the climb to the top was a nice hike that could easily be made in the one-hour allocated by the tour guide. Regretfully, our day on Vesuvius was somewhat overcast and the pictures of the Bay of Naples will not be as spectacular as they would be during a clear day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a day trip booked for Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius on the same day as part of our anniversary trip to Naples. Unfortunately, the trip to Pompeii descended into to bad weather late in the morning and the touring guide told us that following a phone call from her office Mt Vesuvius was closed due to pouring rain and low cloud and we should claim a refund. We did not even get the included pizza for lunch! However, all that said, I rang the touring office from the hotel and indicated that we could do the remaining trip on the following day if they had one available. They agreed and we were picked up from our hotel at lunchtime, driven through the wacky races that is Naples and arrived to join the rest of the part that had visited Pompeii during the morning and sat down to a giant pizza with a drink then transported to Mt Vesuvius whereupon having climbed to the top it snowed. We were able to see the crater before the cloud descended once more. Overall a brilliant trip and a company that bent over backwards to furnish our needs. Good value for money and a great trip! We will use Viator again in the future. Thanks Bob and Tracey Clark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Pompei is absolutely amazing, we enjoyed the lunch and then the trek up the mountain, This is an awesome tour and I would highly reccommend it

From USD $ 115.51

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message