4.5 star rating: Recommended 765 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 765 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I just have to say the local tour company that provides the tour was superb!! We were coming by train into Naples to catch the tour bus but we took the wrong train and missed the bus. The gentleman at the office helped coordinate a minivan to pick my family up and get us to Pompeii to catch up with the tour. He was patience and very helpful and I can't commend him enough for everything he did to get us on track with the tour. The tour was amazing and Andres (hopefully I got his name right), the tour guide, was informative and very funny. He made the tour enjoyable even though we were melting under the sun's heat. The climb up Vesuvius was great and had a wonderful view. I would highly recommend this tour, it's not one to miss.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, saw everything and a decent pizza for lunch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

POMPEII WAS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF OUR TRIP TO ITALY, OUR GUIDE WAS TERRIFIC, (SORRY I FORGOT HIS NAME). HE MADE IT INTERESTING AND ENJOYABLE, HE SPOKE GREAT ENGLISH AND POPEII ITSELF IS A WONDERFUL TIME CAPSULE. IT WAS SOMINTERESTING AS HOW MANY MODERN DAY EXPRESSIONS AND ITEMS WERE INFLUENCED BY A CIVILISATION SO LONG AGO.

VESUVIUS WAS ALSO GOOD BUT OUR GUIDE FOR THIS PART OF THE TRIP WAS USLESS, TOLD US VERY LITTLE ABAOUT THE VOLCANO. THE CRATER WASN'T AS IMPRESSSIVE AS I HAD IMAGINED BUT STILL WORTH THE HIKE.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was great and I would highly recommend taking the tour. Transportation is completely taken care of for you so that you don't have to worry about it. First you go to Pompeii where you walk around the ruins while your guide will give you the historical background of the city. Then you are dropped off more than halfway up Mt. Vesuvius from which you can hike up to the summit. The hike takes about 30-40 minutes to reach the summit but it is completely worth it. The view was breath taking and it was a great experience. It is great for all ages whether you are a child or an adult, I went with my parents and younger brother and we all had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour guide. Really knew his stuff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We booked this trip to allow us to go to both Pompeii and Mt. Versuvius and we initially skeptical as we normally like to do things at our own pace but we were not disappointed. We enjoyed the whole trip and our tour guide was just excellent - really informative but also very humourous. We would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing trip! Very interesting, extremely well organised and the tour guide was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Saw many amazing sights and learned about the history of Pompeii and mt. Vesuvius. The tour guide knew the ins and outs of where to take the group and allowed plenty of time for pictures. The company provided all transportation and food. Would love to do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Enjoyable tour with a great guide. His educational points of Pompeii were excellent. It was extremely foggy on Mt Vesuvius because of the elevation so although we climbed the mountain, we could only see 3 feet in front of us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour,very informative,my daughter loved hiking up mt Vesuvius,would highly recommend this...................

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A perfect, stress-free way to do a lot in one day! Tour guide was excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

EXCELLENT DAY! VERY WELL ORGANISED.FUNNY, FRIENDLY and VERY INFORMATIVE GUIDE. THE HEADSETS WERE GREAT.. DELICIOUS LUNCH! PERFECT and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED EXCURSION.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely one of the best tours I have ever taken!! Our guide was unbelievably funny and knowledgable. No matter what question was thrown his way, he knew the answers. He made us laugh, learned quite a few new things and very personable.

First part of the trip was the tour of Pompeii. Couldn't have had a better day. Sunshine, not too hot, and a great group of people in the tour group. Spent a couple hours touring Pompeii but it definitely didn't seem like that long. Was sad for it to end. From there we walked across the street from Pompeii for our Pizza lunch. Great pizza!! I would definitely eat there again. Once lunch was over, we caught the van from Pompeii to Vesuvius with our guide.
A 20 min drive later and we are ready for the hike up! And when I say hike I mean HIKE! But it was absolutely worth it. The views are breathtaking, and it was definitely an accomplishment for me to make it to the top!!
I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone and everyone!! Definitely worth the money spent. It wouldn't have been as fun for me if we had tried to do it on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A really well organised trip. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Pompeii was enthralling and it was incredible to think you were literally walking through history. The steep walk up to Mt. Vesuvius took about 25 minutes and was totally worth it. The view of the Bay of Naples from the top was spectacular and seeing the crater was so good. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We found the tour so interesting and Pompeii is a must if you are visiting Naples.
The climb up Mount Vesuvius is worth the 25 minute walk to enjoy the beautiful views.

From USD $ 116.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message