• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 700 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 700 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had a fantasic day out. Pompeii was very interesting and worth having a guided tour. The tour guide was really good and I really liked having the ear piece - you could wonder off a bit to take pics and still hear the info. The lunch was nice - pizza or canelloni, with a drink. The walk up Versuvius was good, I was pleased I had my trainers on, some of the girls had open sandles, which must have been uncomfortable. The walk is rubble all the way up. We were told to take a jacket, but it was just something to carry, it was a hot day and still warm at the top of the mountain. Everything went very smoothly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a great experience and lots if interesting sights to see

jeremy p
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Well organized trip. All the arrangements went smoothly and the guides were helpful and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I absolutely loved this tour. It started that we were picked up and our tour guide, who picked us up with a driver, was super punctual and everything was just great. Had a little bit of a drizzle on the way to Pompeii, but the sun came out as soon as we got there. Our tour guide had a lot of knowledge and it was entertaining to listen to him. Vesuvius was unbelievable. Could have spend a little bit more time on the crater, but everything else I really enjoyed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderfully organized, informative and enjoyable trip that I might not have done on my own considering how much more labor intensive it would have been trying to get there by rental car or public transportation. We were picked up at our hotel in Naples and our only responsibility was to enjoy ourselves throughout the day which we did. The tour guides were excellent and Pompeii and Vesuvius should not be missed! I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The Vesuvius/Pompeii full day tour was amazing. I highly recommend if you have the interest in history and energy to walk in the ancient ruins. Andre was a animated tour guide whose enthusiasm kept the tour interesting and engaging!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a very good and humouristic guide, Andrea!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very educational. Andreas our tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining that made our tour much more fun than boring.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was the highpoint of our trip to Naples. Should any of our friends go to Naples I would definitely recommend them using Viator for the Pompei and Vesuvius trip.
The guide (André I think) was great, he was really good at making the Pompei trip a storytelling experience, where he drew comparisons to how things are the same in several ways today, as they were back in the Pompei days.
On Mount Vesuvius we didn’t get as much time as I would have liked to have. We got 25 minutes for the trip up and 25 minutes to walk back down, and then a bit extra to look around at the top. I believe we had just over an hour, before we had to be back at the bus, which we only just made. My boyfriend is a runner, so he had no problems with the trip up, where I don’t have the best high-intensity shape (I’m not overweight or in poor shape), and I struggled a bit on the way to the top. I didn’t have proper shoes on either which I came to regret several times on the trip up and down Vesuvius. But the view and the sense of accomplishment is worth it all 

To sum up: This trip is worth the cost and very important on Vesuvius: Wear really good sneakers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was great, out guide 'Andre' was so funny and lunch was great. The trip up only take about 30 min to the top, but highly recommended. Wear good shoes, not flip-flops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The mini bus picked us up from our hotel, the guide around Pompeii was excellent: informative and full of little stories that really brought the experience alive. Lunch was very pleasant and the trip to Vesuvius was also very good. All in all we had an excellent day, really interesting and with no hassle for us (we were so glad we'd decided against hiring car and going alone!). Everything was taken care of. Wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent guide. Good way to see both places in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Tour guide(s) were great and very funny! I had a great time and would book additional trips with this company!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great trip, lots to see, lots to of walking, lots of great picture spots!
Andrea was very knowledgeable and fun tour guide!
There's no need to bring a jacket for the mountain during the summer time.
Mt Vesuvius has very loose grounds and extremely dusty, a bit hard to hike up so proper shoes really helps!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fabulous day. Tour was perfect and tour guide very knowlegable and friendly. I recommend to all.

From USD $ 122.97

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958VP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message