Viewing All 177 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Kathryn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Andrea was our guide and he was amazing. He made Pompeii come alive for us. We could feel the people, the animals, the hubbub of the vibrant city as if it were alive today. He was awesome! The hike was great too. Pretty rigorous but great view from the top!

A.B.STRATTONS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just the right amount of time spent in Pompeii. Andrea, our tour guide made the tour a lot of fun and kept all ages engaged. Highly recommend the Vesuvius climb. I was a little worried about the climb from reading other reviews about how difficult it was. My husband, myself, our three teenage daughters, and our 9 year old daughter all did it with no problem on a hot day. Yes, it's steep, but certainly walkable and you have plenty of time if you'd like to take it slow. The views into the crater and out to Naples are beautiful from up there. Lunch was provided at a tourist stop pizza place. The pizza was excellent and the service was friendly and accommodating. BRING A WATER BOTTLE!! You'll even have an opportunity to refill it inside Pompeii from a spring fed fountain.

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour which we thoroughly enjoyed. Full of interesting facts which were delivered with wit and humour from our tour guide. It's not every day you get to climb an active volcano or see the ruins of Pompeii! Once in a lifetime opportunity....do it!

lac732

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Took our group of 6 on this shore excursion. I would never have learned so much about Roman life before the eruption of Vesuvius. Our guide Andreas brought this place to life again with his stories and running commentary, especially at the brothel and the bath house. The is a lot of walking and the reward was stopping for the most delicious pizza before we continued our bus ride up the mountain with lots of hairpin turns-look for some of the sculptures along this road. The parking lot is very close to the top of the mountain. Unfortunately, we did not get to climb to the top since a visitor had been struck by lightning the day before our tour and the path to the top was closed. However, it was still worth the trip for the beautiful views from near the top. Would highly recommend.

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed the tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and also good fun. Would highly recommend.

Leonid S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent trip and guide. Enjoyd it from beginnig to the end.

Barry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We have used a lot of different tour companies but this company is my favoite so far. Our tour guide presented Pompeii by way of telling stories of everyday life. He was funny, entertaining, and had a wealth of knowledge. This was one of my favorite spots in Italy and should not be missed. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was also a terrific experience. You need to be somewhat in shape or have lots of time but how often does one get to see inside a volcano? Do it!

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Simply a fascinating experience of culture, history and delicious lunch! Our tour guide was the best of our entire tour. His humour, understanding of history and incredible knowledge made our day just made the trip come alive in a memorable way! Thanks for a great experience! We'll be back for more travels with Viator!

Bruce D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was great! Our guide blended humour and history. Made for a memorable visit.

suzie q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fascinating! Our tour guide was wonderful, very informative, spoke clearly, and was a wealth of information.

Debra F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Pompeii was amazing our tour guide was great with stories about the city and it's history! If you have trouble walking Pompeii would be very difficult for you because of the uneven terrain and marble and cobblestone. This tour involves a lot of walking and steps also long lines to go in some structures. Mt Vesuvious did not cooperate with us at all! It was pouring down rain and foggy!

Pattie J H Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

One of my favorite tours! So much history! Tour guide was amazing! Lunch was good as well.

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent tour. We had very a knowledgeable guide in Pompeii, excellent service from pick up at the ship to returning us on time. We were impressed that the Mt. Vesuvius trip wasn't cancelled because we were the only ones on the tour. A very good day for us!

marykevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had been on a 16 day holiday and this was only the second tour that we booked with Viator. ( the rest were book thru the cruise line!) Viator was more economical then the ship, and all the tour guides were professional and truly love there job and were very knowledgable!! ( not like the ships tours). Our tour guide was Andre. Andre was wonderful. He was not only full of historical information but also very entertaining and comical!! Pompeii , is truly another world from years gone by and Andre was able to bring that history alive! Mt. Vesuvius, which was what I was truly looking forward to, was questionable . The weather was rainy off and on and foggy, other tour groups ( not Viator) were cancelled in the morning. We were one of the only few on the cruise ship who were able to experience this as planned!! Andre kept an eye on the weather and we went for it. ( after the most delicious pizza!!!) my husband who by this point in our very busy itinerary, was toured out.." This was by far the Best. We have to come back. And can we ask for Andre again?" Lol..thank you for the trip/ tour of a life time!!!!!!

Joyce B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The tour guide was lots of fun and very knowledgable. It was really good value for the money.

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour guides for both Pompeii and Vesuvio. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Loved the pizza stop in Naples too!

LEITHWAY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it . Pompeii is so interesting

Gavin United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent tour and plenty of time for cruise passengers. Travelled from cruise port to Pompeii in bus and then split to join other people wanting to go up Vesuvius. Tour guide Andrei was excellent and maqde Pompeii interesting with his sense of humour.That lasted about 2 hours which in truth is enough. The group going up Vesuvius were then taken to a restaurant for Pizza and a drink (included in tour price) and we had about 45 mins there. We the went in a minibus up the winding road to the Vesuvius car park, very busy and were given just over an hour to climb to the summit (30mins) at a reasonable pace and get back down again. Plenty of time to take pictures and the crater was spectacular. Then returned to the cruise port in plenty of time for the ship departing. A well organised tour and much cheaper than doing it from the Cruise Ship company.

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Highlight of our cruise!!!!!
Had a good 2 and 1/2 hours in Pompeii , lovely pizza and a soft drink , and then a trip to nearby Vesuvius ( well worth it ). Price included all admission fees , lunch and transport . Guides were Maria and Andre (who was absolutely brilliant around Pompeii). Many thanks.

Andrew K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Your representative was very well informed,able to answer all questions.We were pleased to have selected this tour and enjoyed our day very much. Andrew and Anne King

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the first time we used Viator. We were They met us at the ship and our trip began. It was blowing up a storm but we got through the tour of Pompeii before the clouds opened up. Yes we got drenched but
we dried up at the restaurant they provided us with. The pizza was huge-it could have fed all four of us. Although it was raining, we did try to go up Mt. Vesuvius. Unfortunately, the guards had closed the gates because of lightning on the mountain. We made the most of the photo opp and the guide was very sorry-beyond his control. It was neat hearing the thunder on the mountain. A trip well worth booking for sure!

Jean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our excusion to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius although the climb to the top was rather strenuous. The guide we had was very knowledgable and looked after us well.

Km

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

On the whole it was a good tour. Start was not very pleasant, had to wait for the bus to arrive for about 15 mins in July heat. The group was rather large,, but guide was nice and knowledgeable
This is one excursion not to be missed. Pompeii is amazing.

Joshua M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent Tour, highly recommended. The Pompeii tour was priceless.

Lyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our Viator tours were the best and all of the guides were the greatest. We also had tours in Barcelona and Rome but under a different surname, all were outstanding!

Viewing 2 of 8

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 102.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958PRTVESUVPOMPEII

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message