4.5 star rating: Recommended 121 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 121 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent tour. We had very a knowledgeable guide in Pompeii, excellent service from pick up at the ship to returning us on time. We were impressed that the Mt. Vesuvius trip wasn't cancelled because we were the only ones on the tour. A very good day for us!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had been on a 16 day holiday and this was only the second tour that we booked with Viator. ( the rest were book thru the cruise line!) Viator was more economical then the ship, and all the tour guides were professional and truly love there job and were very knowledgable!! ( not like the ships tours). Our tour guide was Andre. Andre was wonderful. He was not only full of historical information but also very entertaining and comical!! Pompeii , is truly another world from years gone by and Andre was able to bring that history alive! Mt. Vesuvius, which was what I was truly looking forward to, was questionable . The weather was rainy off and on and foggy, other tour groups ( not Viator) were cancelled in the morning. We were one of the only few on the cruise ship who were able to experience this as planned!! Andre kept an eye on the weather and we went for it. ( after the most delicious pizza!!!) my husband who by this point in our very busy itinerary, was toured out.." This was by far the Best. We have to come back. And can we ask for Andre again?" Lol..thank you for the trip/ tour of a life time!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The tour guide was lots of fun and very knowledgable. It was really good value for the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour guides for both Pompeii and Vesuvio. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Loved the pizza stop in Naples too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it . Pompeii is so interesting

Gavin
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent tour and plenty of time for cruise passengers. Travelled from cruise port to Pompeii in bus and then split to join other people wanting to go up Vesuvius. Tour guide Andrei was excellent and maqde Pompeii interesting with his sense of humour.That lasted about 2 hours which in truth is enough. The group going up Vesuvius were then taken to a restaurant for Pizza and a drink (included in tour price) and we had about 45 mins there. We the went in a minibus up the winding road to the Vesuvius car park, very busy and were given just over an hour to climb to the summit (30mins) at a reasonable pace and get back down again. Plenty of time to take pictures and the crater was spectacular. Then returned to the cruise port in plenty of time for the ship departing. A well organised tour and much cheaper than doing it from the Cruise Ship company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Highlight of our cruise!!!!!
Had a good 2 and 1/2 hours in Pompeii , lovely pizza and a soft drink , and then a trip to nearby Vesuvius ( well worth it ). Price included all admission fees , lunch and transport . Guides were Maria and Andre (who was absolutely brilliant around Pompeii). Many thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Your representative was very well informed,able to answer all questions.We were pleased to have selected this tour and enjoyed our day very much. Andrew and Anne King

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the first time we used Viator. We were They met us at the ship and our trip began. It was blowing up a storm but we got through the tour of Pompeii before the clouds opened up. Yes we got drenched but
we dried up at the restaurant they provided us with. The pizza was huge-it could have fed all four of us. Although it was raining, we did try to go up Mt. Vesuvius. Unfortunately, the guards had closed the gates because of lightning on the mountain. We made the most of the photo opp and the guide was very sorry-beyond his control. It was neat hearing the thunder on the mountain. A trip well worth booking for sure!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our excusion to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius although the climb to the top was rather strenuous. The guide we had was very knowledgable and looked after us well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

On the whole it was a good tour. Start was not very pleasant, had to wait for the bus to arrive for about 15 mins in July heat. The group was rather large,, but guide was nice and knowledgeable
This is one excursion not to be missed. Pompeii is amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent Tour, highly recommended. The Pompeii tour was priceless.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our Viator tours were the best and all of the guides were the greatest. We also had tours in Barcelona and Rome but under a different surname, all were outstanding!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic! Andrea was an amazing tour guide and knew everything there was about Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Our guide Andrea (hope that's how he spelt his name) was so knowledgeable while being humorous and made the whole experience bring history alive. Well worth every penny.

From USD $ 115.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958PRTVESUVPOMPEII

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message