4.5 star rating: Recommended 128 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 128 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic! Andrea was an amazing tour guide and knew everything there was about Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Our guide Andrea (hope that's how he spelt his name) was so knowledgeable while being humorous and made the whole experience bring history alive. Well worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great tour. I have to compliment our tour guide Angelo as being one of the best. He lead us through the busy streets of Pompeii with such ease, knowledge and a good sense of humor. We learned a lot about Pompeii with Angelo. Mt Vesuvius was ....amazing. This is a tour that I would highly recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Beautiful. Guide was very knowledgable. Worth the $.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour guide round Pompeii - he really brought Pompeii to life.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was a real highlight of our Mediterrian cruise. Our guide Andre, was very skilled, personable and informed about the site. The hike was terrific and Pompeii was fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great Excursion with Good Guides!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very good. The guides were fantastic and my group had a great time. Pompeii is very busy but worth the crowds. Recommend this excursion very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

3 parts, Pompeii, lunch, Vesuvius. Tour was compressed to 6 hours so we could get back to our ship on time, which meant our Pompeii tour was rushed. Pompeii is huge, we took the quick route through, but as we walked we looked down side streets - more buildings and streets everywhere. Tour guide was a bit inexperienced, kept having to ask her where we are on the map. Lots of stepping up and down from high curbs, paving stones are rough. Pompeii really needs a full day plus to completely see everything. Lunch was thin-shell pizza or pasta, free drinks, good rest break. Vesuvius was a real hike, the bus goes to the top of the tree line, then it is about a one-mile hike on a 10-foot wide fenced path at about a steady 10%+ grade to the top, 30 minutes up, 20 minutes down. Going up, the back of your legs and buttocks wear out and coming down your thighs wear out. Take one of the staffs offered at the start - they're free (donations please). At the top, they ask you to wait for a free guide, but you can continue on your own - ours was a geologist. I have a problem with heights, so the crater was scary - 500 foot vertical cliffs to the bottom. The only sign of activity was a steam vent in one side. Easy walk 1/3-way around the rim, view Pompeii, etc. Easy walk back down, but the path is loose volcanic material, my legs were trembling afterward. Very first time I've seen a volcano close up.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Andre, the tour guide, was terrific in showing us the sites and keeping us together. We totally enjoyed both Pompeii (with the pizza lunch) and Mt Vesuvius. We'd love to come back when we could spend more time at both. Thanks for being there, Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Pompeii is really interesting. Unfortunately, we did not climb Mt Vesuvius as it was raining too much and they closed it. Our guide was really good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

great trip at half the price of ships tour cost.

Vivienne C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Picked up on time, comfortable transport and an excellent guide in Andrea. Pompeii was wonderful, especially at this time of year, early November, not overcrowded, bright clear skies and very pleasant temperature for walking around such a historic treasure. Well, done Viator, another excellent trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our tour guide was hilarious on this tour. He made the trip. Pompeii is very busy with lots of tourists but we defiately enjoyed seeing the history. A must see if you are in the area. Mt Vesuvius is a nice little hike. Not very challenging for us. The 4 gift shops on the trail on the way u were a bit much. Overall though stunning mountain and worth going to experience while in Naples.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent trip and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. Radio contact was good and Andreas was brilliant with with knowledge, information and humour! The pizza meal was very good as well. Mount Vesuvious trip to the top was breathtaking, even though i had to stop to look at the view occasionally! Back to the ship in plenty of time as well. Everything very well organised and would thoroughly recommend trip to anyone

From USD $ 111.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958PRTVESUVPOMPEII

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message