4.5 star rating: Recommended 154 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 154 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

great trip at half the price of ships tour cost.

Vivienne C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Picked up on time, comfortable transport and an excellent guide in Andrea. Pompeii was wonderful, especially at this time of year, early November, not overcrowded, bright clear skies and very pleasant temperature for walking around such a historic treasure. Well, done Viator, another excellent trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our tour guide was hilarious on this tour. He made the trip. Pompeii is very busy with lots of tourists but we defiately enjoyed seeing the history. A must see if you are in the area. Mt Vesuvius is a nice little hike. Not very challenging for us. The 4 gift shops on the trail on the way u were a bit much. Overall though stunning mountain and worth going to experience while in Naples.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent trip and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. Radio contact was good and Andreas was brilliant with with knowledge, information and humour! The pizza meal was very good as well. Mount Vesuvious trip to the top was breathtaking, even though i had to stop to look at the view occasionally! Back to the ship in plenty of time as well. Everything very well organised and would thoroughly recommend trip to anyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent guide and driver . Will recommend for sure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My husband and I loved this tour. Great service. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Enjoyed the day. Some confusion with other groups being added and divided from ours. Content and meal was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

My grandson and I took a lesiurly trip to Naples to pick up other passengers and then proceded to Pompeii. I was amazed at how it has changed since the last time I was here five years ago. From 1 stand selling cameos to a bunch of businesses selling everything. The tour was was well structured and Andrea was very animated and kept us moviing. He knew all the short cuts and moved us into the heart of the various ruins to provide us with up close contact with the various antiquities to see. There was time for picture taking and discussions. I wish I had more time. I want to go back.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We had an amazing day! Andy was a GREAT tour guide! He was very professional, knowledgeable and fun. We had no worries in regards to getting back to our cruise ship on time. We can not wait to go back and would use Viator again. We would also request Andy again as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Tour guides were great, very enthusiastic and interesting. Prompt in leaving and returning to ship. Lunch was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Pompeii is amazing. Our guide, Andrew, was extremely knowledgable and ready to answer all questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Can't fault it. Guides, driver, vehicle, punctuality all very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent! Loved our guides, both were very funny and knowledgeable. Had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We were there on June 20, 2011. This was an excellent excursion at a very good price. The tour guide was extraordinary. We were picked up at our cruise ship dock on time and taken to Pompeii for a very informative tour. Not rushed at all. Pizza lunch was delicious, then a tour to the top of Vesuvius. Taken back to cruise ship dock on time. We would highly recommend this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Really good day though lunch was a bit too long so had less time on Mt Vesuvius then would have liked.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very good. Pompeii was one of our favorite cities/excursions on our 16 day vacation in the Mediterranean. Mt. Vesuvius was a challenging hike and we were short on time, so had to hustle to get the top in time. But, the views once you were there were worth it. The downside is that the tour group was large 20 people that we had to drive all over Naples to pick up which wasted time, but once we were all collected it was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This trip was sensational, the guide was fantastic and the scenery spectacular!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed all parts of this trip.. the guided tour of Pompeii, the delicious lunch, and the visit to Mt. Vesuvius. But I wish the tour had started earlier in the day, so we didn't feel so rushed to get back to our cruise ship. We made it back with only 15 minutes to spare, which created unnecessary stress during the excursion. I also wish we had been able to stay with one guide throughout the day, instead of being handed off from one person to the next when our groups split up.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was excellent! Really 4.5 stars, but that's not an option. It was difficult to hear the guide from the headsets. To not have to choose between Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius was great. Both were wonderful in their own right.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our group was picked up near our tour ship. Then traveled through heavy traffic to pick up several small groups in Naples. Our tour guide spoke in a heavy accent. Our large group needed the transmitters the host provided. Pompeii was good with the tour guide explaining much. A full lunch was provided at a restaurant but the food was plentiful but not good. The walk up to Mount Vesuvius was strenuous but well worth it. There was no guide up there. On our own for about 90 minutes. Long day but well worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Would have given you 5 stars but for the fact that your guides forgot a cardinal rule, people come to these places to see, touch, experience, not listen to someone albeit a knowledgeable someone, talk about it. We spent a significant portion of our very limited time in Pompeii, standing around while our guide talked and talked and talked. We did not see several things that we expected to see whether that is because they were barricaded off or our guide skipped them because we ran out of time. Mt. Vesuvius was much better. Our lady guide entertained us with song and information on the drive to the beginning of the climbing trail. Once there, she gave us a time and set us free. The climb up was amazing. Seeing a storm rolling across the opposing mountain and hearing the roll of thunder just added to the intensity of the experience. Smelling the faint odor of sulphur and hot rock in the steam from the numerous fumaroles served to remind that this volcano wasn't dead, it was only sleeping. To anyone thinking of visiting these places, I recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very good excursion to see Pompeii. Great guide. Mount Vesuvius was covered in fog so did not walk to the top as you couldn't see anything even if you did. The drive up to mount Vesuvius was very exciting. How the bus could maneuver the winding road was beyond believe. Was like driving up a corkscrew..

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was fantastic. Pompeii was stunning.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I enjoyed this overall. We had a good guide-- his English was a bit rough, but far better than any of my second languages certainly and he had a good sense of humor. The walk through Pompeii was quite interesting and he pointed out a number of amusing features in the city (possibly not quite appropriate for children in some cases). The hike up Vesuvius afterwards was fairly challenging, but certainly not impossible-- a couple of the people in our group had bad knees or were fairly out of shape for that level of activity and they managed to make it up with some effort. The view from Vesuvius wasn't much to write home about simply because of the cloud cover, but it was definitely worth doing.

From USD $ 100.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958PRTVESUVPOMPEII

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message