4.5 star rating: Recommended 138 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 138 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My husband and I loved this tour. Great service. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Enjoyed the day. Some confusion with other groups being added and divided from ours. Content and meal was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

My grandson and I took a lesiurly trip to Naples to pick up other passengers and then proceded to Pompeii. I was amazed at how it has changed since the last time I was here five years ago. From 1 stand selling cameos to a bunch of businesses selling everything. The tour was was well structured and Andrea was very animated and kept us moviing. He knew all the short cuts and moved us into the heart of the various ruins to provide us with up close contact with the various antiquities to see. There was time for picture taking and discussions. I wish I had more time. I want to go back.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We had an amazing day! Andy was a GREAT tour guide! He was very professional, knowledgeable and fun. We had no worries in regards to getting back to our cruise ship on time. We can not wait to go back and would use Viator again. We would also request Andy again as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Tour guides were great, very enthusiastic and interesting. Prompt in leaving and returning to ship. Lunch was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Pompeii is amazing. Our guide, Andrew, was extremely knowledgable and ready to answer all questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Can't fault it. Guides, driver, vehicle, punctuality all very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent! Loved our guides, both were very funny and knowledgeable. Had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We were there on June 20, 2011. This was an excellent excursion at a very good price. The tour guide was extraordinary. We were picked up at our cruise ship dock on time and taken to Pompeii for a very informative tour. Not rushed at all. Pizza lunch was delicious, then a tour to the top of Vesuvius. Taken back to cruise ship dock on time. We would highly recommend this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Would have given you 5 stars but for the fact that your guides forgot a cardinal rule, people come to these places to see, touch, experience, not listen to someone albeit a knowledgeable someone, talk about it. We spent a significant portion of our very limited time in Pompeii, standing around while our guide talked and talked and talked. We did not see several things that we expected to see whether that is because they were barricaded off or our guide skipped them because we ran out of time. Mt. Vesuvius was much better. Our lady guide entertained us with song and information on the drive to the beginning of the climbing trail. Once there, she gave us a time and set us free. The climb up was amazing. Seeing a storm rolling across the opposing mountain and hearing the roll of thunder just added to the intensity of the experience. Smelling the faint odor of sulphur and hot rock in the steam from the numerous fumaroles served to remind that this volcano wasn't dead, it was only sleeping. To anyone thinking of visiting these places, I recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very good excursion to see Pompeii. Great guide. Mount Vesuvius was covered in fog so did not walk to the top as you couldn't see anything even if you did. The drive up to mount Vesuvius was very exciting. How the bus could maneuver the winding road was beyond believe. Was like driving up a corkscrew..

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was fantastic. Pompeii was stunning.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I enjoyed this overall. We had a good guide-- his English was a bit rough, but far better than any of my second languages certainly and he had a good sense of humor. The walk through Pompeii was quite interesting and he pointed out a number of amusing features in the city (possibly not quite appropriate for children in some cases). The hike up Vesuvius afterwards was fairly challenging, but certainly not impossible-- a couple of the people in our group had bad knees or were fairly out of shape for that level of activity and they managed to make it up with some effort. The view from Vesuvius wasn't much to write home about simply because of the cloud cover, but it was definitely worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very nice tour. The tour guide was excellent and very entertaining. We saw the highlights of Pompeii. Could have done without the lunch as it was not the excellent pizza that is available in Italy as we found out later. Would have left us more time at Mt Vesuvius. An hour was not enough time to get all the way around unless you were very young.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A great day. Our guide had the right balance of fact and humor. Very satisfying that we climbed the mount. Only regret was the clouds obliterating the view.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall a good experience and worth the money. Andrea and Maria were excellent guides and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Showed up on time in the morning and got us back to our ship on time, most important!

A couple of suggestions to improve the experience: 1) Schedule a washroom break BEFORE entering Pompeii, please. By the time we were done at Pompeii, it had been at least 4 hours since we had access to a washroom.
2) Please make different lunch arrangements. I don't expect gourmet food in this situation but I shouldn't have to tolerate rude waiters. Also, the length of the lunch break (due to the slow service) left us only 30 mins or so in Sorrento (we had originally booked for Vesuvius but they kindly let us change, so we do appreciate that). Not nearly enough time.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A great day with a great guide, Andreas. We were picked up right at the port terminal and bussed to Pompeii where we were taken on a fantastic tour of the ruins. He knew the answer to every question our group had and he had a great humour. Then on to a lovely restaurant for pizza and a bevy which was so good. Next was the hike up to Mt Vesuvius. The bus takes you most of the way up and then you hike. It is a good, steep hike so keep that in mind! and it was a challenge with your belly full of pizza and wine. It was very cool to see steam still coming from some rocks. The view from up there was fantastic too. All in all a great day.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This trip was one of the highlights of our 5 week trip through France, Spain and Italy. The tour operator met us at the cruise terminal on time and we had a great day at Pompeii and then climbed Mt. Vesuvius. The guide was knowledgeable as well as entertaining. The included lunch restaurant was excellent, a whole pizza each and beer if you wanted.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Andrea our guide was very informative with a wonderful personality. I would have liked another 20 minutes at mt versuvius but as we were on a cruise ship, we were on a tight schedule to get back in time, perhaps the tour could start 30 min earlier, but no complaints really.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Over all we were pleased with our tour. The ear phones worked well. Our guide was pleasant and understandable. She was also very knowledgable on the topic. The bus was very comfortable. The meal was a really good pizza and I could not believe the size of the personal one I received. I was impressed also with the driving skills of the bus driver on a very narrow mountain road.glad I wasn't driving

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The sights were amazing and I only wish there were more thorough detailed information, but that would have taken more time. We will come back. The meal at the base of Pompeii was not great, and the service was poor, but overall it was a good excursion.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We took this tour because we wanted to have the experience of visiting both Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. The tour guide was wonderful and took us around the long line and right into the heart of our experience at Pompeii. We got to see just the highlights of the unbelievable city and then had a quick lunch at a nearby pizza restaurant. Those of us who had the Mt. Vesuvius tour were divided into two groups. Our group left first because our cruise ship had an earlier departure time. We were taken up to Mt. Vesuvius where we climbed the last mile to the crater because the vehicles aren't allowed any higher. It was some seriously good exercise getting up to the top, but it was worth it when we reached the summit. We were greeted with views of the lava flows and a panoramic view of Naples. The best part was seeing a bit of steam still emerging from a point inside the crater. This was a highlight of our trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide's English was pretty basic and not as articulate as some other guides we had in Italy. Pizza lunch was not too great but the restaurant was very pretty. Pompeii and Vesuvius were both well worth seeing.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great shore excursion for the full day.
A winding route on the coach through Naples for pick ups took some time, traffic is MAD!
Our guided tour around Pompeii was led by Andreas, he was excellent, very knowledgable and humorous, and chatted with individuals between stopping points. We joined other groups to make a rather large tour party, but use of radio sets balanced this out.
Pompeii is large and has a fascinating history - no spoilers here, go and see it. The pace was good and never rushed, but wear comfortable shoes.
The coach journey onward to Vesuvius took us up the mountain on a very windy road. The final walk of 1 mile was tiring in the 34'C heat, but you've now been at the top of a volcano, and the views are stunning.
Finally, the cost through Viator was significantly lower than that offered directly by the cruise line.

From USD $ 101.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958PRTVESUVPOMPEII

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message