• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 271 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Naples, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 271 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really interesting and informative. Small group, which was nice and the guide Maria Louisa knew the best ways to avoid the crowds. She also could point of things that perhaps other guides might not. The whole thing ran very smoothly. Guide was there to greet us when we arrived off the ship and we were taken back at the appointed time. If I had realised, I would have booked another 1/2 day (Sorrento) as Naples was 'under construction' so not so great for sightseeing. Well worth booking this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

simply nice day we spend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Perfect

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was very good. Our guide Maria Luisa was excellent. She gave us lot of information about Pompeii life. If you like history, you must do this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. Wonderful tour guide...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Interesting and entertaining! Made to feel like a guest with the personalized attentions and tour content.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hi, initially I had doubts that a three hour tour through Pompeii wasn't enough but I've changed my mind. It gave us an insight into this famous place and with our guide's (?Andreas) entertaining commentary was a very enjoyable and informative experience, never to be forgotten. Thanks for your smooth and seemingly effortless transfer. I have one suggestion. Could the handing out of audio equipment be dealt with already in the coach and then just checked once over at the destination? Also, I've written to you using the appropriate website regarding my camera case which I had left on the coach to Pompeii. It was a sentimental item and therefore very dear to me.. I never had a reply even though you promise to reply within 36 hours.

Also,A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was great. Very informative!
I would recommend this with the following information...
Things I wish I knew first:
You only see two of the people who were preserved in the eruption.
More can be seen at the museums apparently so make time for this. We didn't because we were unaware and I'm still very annoyed!
Negatives:
The group was too large
Once again, the lack of bodies! Because that's what makes this place so cool and there are only two to be seen! DISAPPOINTING! :(

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My Wife and I both enjoyed the Half-Day Tour of Pompeii from Naples. We were only going to be in Naples for an overnight visit and needed to return to Fiumicino Airport the next evening to catch our early morning flight the following day. We were very glad to find your website and happy that we were able to use it to schedule a tour for the next day.
We appreciated the fact that we could be picked-up by bus in front of our hotel, especially so as we were able to load our luggage on the bus and get dropped off afterwards at the Napoli train station to catch our trains back to Rome and the airport.
There was some minor confusion w/the driver about our names, but he eventually realized we were supposed to board the bus for the tour. We weren't able to print our tour reservation info at the hotel and I strongly recommend having a copy for the driver.
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and courteous. Due to the hot weather we found the half-day tour to be just about the right length, especially w/all of the other tourists in Pompeii.
We highly recommend Viator and will definitely plan on checking w/Viator for any future trips. Fair prices, short notice availability, courteous staff and knowledgeable tour guides. Great overall service.

Tanja K
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing!!! Beautifual to have experienced a part of history. The tour guide was very friendly and informative. Definitely a must for any traveller.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour guide. Picked us up from the cruise port. Maria did a great job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed the tour very much. Andrea, our tour guide, is knowledgeable about the history and has a good sense of humour. With him, history is not boring!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Beyond amazing. We thought it might be too short a time, but 2 hours at Pompeii was just right and it is such a difference seeing a full city preserved (rather than just a few corners as is the case nearly everywhere else). You can begin to imagine how daily life was like for ordinary citizens. Our teenagers loved this one too - fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really enjoyed the tour of Pompeii! Would have enjoyed a little more time to souvenir shop.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I was initially quite hesitant about booking a tour (I'm generally a solitary traveler and don't like group travel), but the reviews on Viator helped ease my concerns. We were staying in Rome, so we took an early train and arrived in Naples about an hour before our tour departed. The couple of hours we had to kill in Naples was the most difficult part of the entire trip. Although we were a bit concerned about how close the Star Hotel was from the train station, we were relieved to discover that it was, literally, across the street. Don't freak out if you're the only person standing in front of the hotel--eventually others will join you! Our group was quite diverse and featured travelers from around the world. Our bus ride was quite comfortable and uneventful. The guide had useful information for us without being too chatty. The tour was amazing! Because I was accompanied by my seven-year old son, I only booked the 1/2 day tour. Were I to do this again, I would definitely book the full day tour. Our guide was wonderful-- she had scholarly-level information for us, was funny, organized, relaxed, and not pushy at all. My only complaint about Pompeii were the masses of vendors (who were pushy) just outside the gates of the city. That, however, is beyond the control of Viator! I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to explore Pompeii in the company of others.

From USD $ 79.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2958P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message