Insider's Guide to Negril

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Negril, Jamaica
  • Duration:  6-8 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great! Loved it all! Well organized and very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

It was super!!! However we forgot to leave tips in a hurry to grab our stuff and jump off the bus after a long tiring day and were sleepy in the dark. Feeling horrible afterwards. Is there anyway we could mail the tips to the tour guide and bus driver?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Excellent day out. Guide was just right, not pushyand just let us get on with exploring especially at YS Falls, a really beautiful and unspoiled place. We all said that we would have liked a little more time at the falls.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This excursion was so very worth it! The Black River was amazing. We got tons of photos at YS Falls and had a lot of fun. Finally, the rum factory was very interesting and tasty ;-)

Our tour guide was delightful and we had a wonderful day!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The trip was awesome...Georgia and the driver Scotty did a fantastic job. Georgia was very knowledgable and made the almost two hour drive fly by.

Ys falls was slightly disappointing in that we only had 1 hour there and it was a beautiful place and I would have loved to spend more time.

Overall great trip! Would definitely recommend this tour and viator again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was the best tour we had been on while in Jamaica. The driver and the tour guide introduced themselves to the group. They gave us local history and fork lore that made the long 3 hr trip enjoyable. We stop for a break and they let us take pictures at a beach. Get something to drink and just stretch our legs. The riverboat captain was great he told us about the crocodiles and he even had one come to the boat so we could take a picture up close. YS Falls was beautiful My sister really enjoyed this part of the tour. We were given time to explore on our own. The climb up the stairs to the different levels of the waterfall was difficult at times, but they had guides to help you. The Appleton Rum Estate was nice. They greeted us with a rum punch when we arrived. We had a traditional Jamaican meal of Jerk chicken,peas and rice and local vegetables. On the drive home the driver stopped so we could buy snacks from the local food vendors along the road. This tour gave you a real since of life on the island.I would take this tour again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Trip was well worth it. The Black River was amazing, as was the YS falls. Lunch was fantastic. Great local cuisine. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly and provided a good feel of the country.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The YS Falls are not to miss!!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Black River is good fun. Had a few hiccups with the weather, but overall this was a fun day out for the family. Definitely recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was great to have various flavors of Jamaica! The tour guides were great! The only issues I had was not being able to sit next to my boyfriend during the long drive (other tourists were super friendly though) and not being able to eat breakfast since pick up was scheduled at 8am. Recommend trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We travelled as a group of 6 to Negril and were all interested in different tours. This tour was well worth the money as it covered everything that we wanted to do.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Our only complaint was that we wished we had more time at the YS Falls. We were only there for 50 minutes.
There was a lot that we could do there but not enough time.
Our next trip to Negril we will just spend the day there to enjoy everything that it had to offer.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great way to seeing Jamaica attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The black River and YS Falls were absolutely amazing! The rum tour was very interesting however lunch there made me sick. It was worth going regardless. The tour company was very organized and arrived on time. The tour guide did an excellent job.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The safari, YS falls, and Appleton were all great. However be Aware from Negril it's a 3 hour drive. Also everything was a bit rushed, and we only had about 10 minutes for rum tasting. The dinner provided was delicious jerk chicken. We would chose this tour again.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour was wonderful. Ladies on the bus were funny and friendly and made the bus ride fun even though we had a small group that was pretty low-key! Drive was about 1.5 hours but well worth it. Crocodiles on Black River were HUGE and this was totally a cool stop. Beautiful mangrove scenery. The YS falls were also beautiful and the guys there help you walk on them and take photos for you for tip - excellent photos! We of course wished we stayed longer at falls than 45 min-hour, but understand we are fitting in 3 tour places. The Appleton Estate was awesome also...beautiful scenery and mountains, and such a smaller factory to produce so much rum - WOW. My only comment was when I tried to call Tourwise Limited via phone number on voucher to confirm hotel pickup location/time, it kept ringing and no VM machine. Then I found their Facebook and website online and also emailed two different email addresses. I was so worried first days of trip that this wasn't legit as they had no way to contact them via email or phone number. So it would've saved me a great deal of worry to have finally had Tourwise Limited email me back, or have a voicemail machine and call me back. This was the only disappointing part. What if I had changed hotels and had no way to contact them? I also wrote VIATOR.COM customer service to ask for another phone number or contact info. You say you get back to us in 12-24 hours or 36 hrs in extreme cases. I NEVER HEARD FROM YOU. So you're customer service failed. Not sure if I will book a tour through your website ever again. So tour, when we got picked up, wa GREAT. But these details were not and that's why the 4 and not a 5.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

YS Falls was the best part! It was fun to jump off the falls into the water below! :) The Black River was cool also, and it was neat to learn so much about the local wildlife (and get upclose with crocodiles!). Of course the rum factory was a hit! Beware, it stinks but you get used to it after awhile. Also, be ready to spend a lot of time driving. All three places are fairly distant from eachother and it was close to a 3 hour car ride back to our hotel in Negril from Appleton.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Although the tour was informative and fun, the bus should be replaced or upgraded. I didn't feel safe on those mountain roads and would like to have had a seat belt.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The Guides were very informative and helpful. Excellent tour. I would recommend it to anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

All around nice tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

I'm rating this tour as a four star only because of the very long bus ride along a terrible road. The bus bounced around alot and it took approx 1:45 mins to get to the Black river Safari. The actual events were very good. Black River, excellent. YS Falls Beautiful and Appleton Tour, excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We really enjoyed the trip. Our guide was fantastic, warm, funny and full of great information. The only downside to the trip was our time at YS falls was very brief and a bit rushed. It was so lovely that I wanted to spend more time than the tour allowed.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Except for the being told that we had to wait for a later date to take excursions because not enough at the time and we had a flat tire with our excursion plus it rained on the posponed. The excursion itself was very good. We enjoy using viator for excursions. If is wan't for us to notify of course 24 hours in advance we were wondering if we would of been notified of the delay.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

I met a wonderful group of peopleon this tour! You do not have to wear a bathing suit if you don't mind getting a little wet, I didn't want to go under the water. You do need a pair of water shoes. It was a great time! I took lots of great pics on this tour. It is long, so your whole day is basically gone, but seeing the beautiful country and mountains and rivers are worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The Black River Safari and YS Falls were great. They were worth every penny. I could have done without the rum tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Our tour was good! We got shifted to a tour that included the Appleton estate and it ended up being a highlight. Our tour guide was fun and friendly and kept the discussion on track. Our first stop was the Black River and our guide knew just where to find the crocodiles in the river. The second stop was at YS Falls. Gorgeous to be sure, but maybe not enough time allotted for the location. Appleton was delightful! The rum punch was the best as well as the lunch! The tour was informative and fun. It made me feel like I was on a plantation tour. The all you can sample rum made the long ride back to Negril tolerable and nearly enjoyable!

From USD $ 89.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2424N_BRS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message