Viewing All 49 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Madan J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Overall very satisfied with this 1 day trip. We the family members of 3 have been provided a very comfortable 4-wheel drive vehicle fitted with individual single seating space. Though the journey time from Delhi -Agra-Delhi was bit hectic but our guide-cum Escort from Delhi kept us occupied with local information and stories. On arrival to Agra we were provided a local guide who was very friendly and knowledgeable, took us to Tajmahal and Agra Red Fort. Though it was very wintery time with fog and mist but by the time we arrived Tajmahal, sun appeared and we were delighted to have magnificent view of one of wonders of world! We were then taken to very authentic Indian restaurant for lunch followed by marble souvenir shopping. Next destination of Agra Fort was equally fabulous. Really got impressed to see huge red forts with many historical landmarks inside. Thanks viator and your Delhi based tour company for making our trip memorable!

Tori B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It was a full, rich day from Delhi to Agre. A private car, driver and guide leader drove us to the Taj Mahal and Red Fort providing us with a weath of information along the way. Once we arrived at the famous sights, another guide from the local area took over. He was very knowledgable and passionate about the hstory and architecture of the Taj Mahal. We were taken to a wonderfully tasty and very affordable restaurant for lunch. Aside from the brutal July heat and humidity, it was a great and truly memorable day. One should not go to Dehli without seeing he Taj Mahal, and this is definetly the way to see it! Many thanks Viator!

Robert M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is a trip of a lifetime! We had a wonderful day in Agra and Taj Mahal. This is our third Viator tour two in Thailand at a different visit, and this one and we have not been dissapointed at any of them. This particular trip is a long day, as we left around 7 am and returned about 10 pm to our hotel, but it was worth it. The guide in the car was average, but the guide that was contracted to give the tour of the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort was very good and served both as guide and photographer. Our family of five was the totatily of the group, so this was a very personalized trip and the late return was really because we chose to take it very leasurely. For anyone visitng New Delhi, this is a must.

Oleg A Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Taj Mahal and Red Fort are definitely worth loooking at. The trip was perfectly organized as always, touch wood, by Viator.

Christine C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great day that has so much to offer. The Taj Mahal and Red Fort are awesome, but there is so much more, just the drive from Delhi is great in itself.

Stepahine G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The trip to Agra was something I was so looking forward to doing. It was wonderful. The guide from New Delhi as well as the guide we met in Agra were both wonderful. The Agra guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to impart interesting information at both Red Fort and the Taj Mahal. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Allan R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

An excellent experience and well explained by tour guide. Drive is a testing one from Delhi due to traffic but driver handled in brilliantly. It is a long day and probably does not need the visit to the Persian carpet showroom. The Taj and Red Fort are sufficient on their own.

rmstricky

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I was very disappointed with the transport, a car for 5 plus driver. Back row of seats very uncomfortable for 2 people for a long trip of over 3 hours each way. Extreemly cramped when picked up guide in Agra. I expected Viator to be better than this . I have often used Viator and never been disappointed. I scored the trip high despite this because our guide was excellent. Mana not only great guide but a photographer and bird watching expert whixh pleased all of us.

Rebecca A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was great to have a friendly driver and personal tour guide that worked together to ensure you had a good trip as well as a comfortable one.

I just wish Viator gave them a fairer cut of the fee they had charged us, because I got the impression they hadn't.

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great experience!

Rphael Gonzalez Puerto Rico

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellet!

The traxi that picked up us at the hotel was in time. Nice driver. In our case we had a good air conditioned car and the car was in good conditions. It was 3 hour and a half drive from Delly to Agra. We meet with the Guide in Agra. He was great, and took us to the Taj Mahal. It is Awsome! This is somnethig you must see in life. The guide asked to take us to the agra fort but we wanted to stay longer in Taj Mahal and he did not complain. He was ver kind and instructive. After 2 hours there he took us to a carpet store. We were there for arround 20 minutes and left. We did not buy anything. Then he asked us if we like to go to a marble stor and we said no because we weren't goin to by anithing. So after that we went back to Delly.

Markus P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a really amazing tour! My guide was very knowledgeable and always explained the reason of architectonic features. This is much more interesting than just listening to historic facts as it is often the case in similar tours. He knows great photo spots and is not tired to try again and again until you have that perfect photo.
The only downside was the visit to an art store at the end of the tour. Even tough I pointed out several times to the shopkeeper that I am not interested in buying anything, he gave me a guilty feeling and my guide didn't help me to get out of there.
Altogether I can recommend the tour and would book it again.

Dawn B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The drive to the Taj took five hours and the return was six hours long. Be prepared for a really long day! Otherwise, the driver was very courteous and professional and the tour guide in Agra was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Patricia L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Wonderful local agent intrepid journeys great tour guide FAB so knowledgeable loved every minute of this trip

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Taj Mahal and other sights in Agra were very impressive. The guide and driver were very pleasant and gave me all of the information that I could want. The drive was long and tiring but that's India. I did not care for the side trips to various shops. I could do without those shopping trips unless I specifically asked to be taken there.

Terrence H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Good tour. We liked the driver and the guide. It was a long drive and very hot. Is the train an option?

baetenv

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The trip is wonderful, but way too long. We had terrible traffic jams. Please consider the train to Agra to meet your guide. Our trip was 14 hours/12 in the car.

Daniel T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Got to see the Taj Mahal and Red Fort in Agra easily and comfortably. Guide gave good knowledge on the buildings/history/navigating the crowds and good spots for photos. Transportation was comfortable and the driver was safe when you come to Delhi/Agra you will appreciate this with the local driving style!. Only downside was the hinting of taking us to see knotted carpets, jewellery and local craft code for taking you to a shop where they get a kickback/commission - having previous experience in this I was clear this is not something we wanted to do, and the hint was taken. The restaurant recommendation in Agra was terrible - worst Indian food I have tasted anywhere in the world. Overall a decent trip, and worth doing.

Thomas D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was my second tour to the Taj Mahal, so I thought I knew what to expect. The driver was on time, but we were 15 minutes late departing because the hotel Concierge told us to wait inside the lobby while the driver was told to wait outside - not his fault - just a communication problem. The vehicle was in poor condition. The windshield had a crack that spanned the entire windshield, the left side view mirror was damaged / useless. We tried to fasten our seatbelts and were told "no seatbelts for the back seat - you'll be OK"... we only had one day to make the trip - refusing this driver and car could have jeopardized our trip.

The driver spoke very little English - which is OK because he wasn't the tour guide. We made the trip much faster than my previous trip as there is now an expressway all the way to Agra and almost all the way to the Taj Mahal... it was at least 90 minutes faster via the expressway. We met our guide and proceeded to tour the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very accommodating with helping to take pictures for us, etc.

We were asked if we would be willing to visit a crafts museum where craftsman whose ancestors carved the Taj Mahal would demonstrate their skills - I said no - I'd been through that the last time - it's a tourist trap / gift shop with disinterested craftsman that wake up and pretend to carve and shape inlaid stone... if you pay enough attention - it's obviously a staged demo that ultimately leads to the showroom. It's nice stuff if you're into it - the second showroom is where you can pick up gifts for friends and family - prices are negotiable. Overall another good visit to Agra that would have gotten 4 stars if it weren't for the missing seat belts.

Michael M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Well this is a tough one. Let me talk about this trip in 3 parts. The first part was absolutely terrible. We had 1 day set aside on our trip to India for a day trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. It was the last day before flying out. The driver was on time and off we go. About 5 minutes into the trip I realize that the air conditioning is not working...are you kidding me ? We are going to spend 4 hours in a car in summer in India and the a/c doesn't work ??? Unforgivable...but we have no choice...last day in India and we didn't come all the way here to not see the Taj Mahal. So on we go. After a hot nasty ride to Agra we met our guide and proceeded to the Taj Mahal. The guide was excellent and the Taj is truly magnificent well worth a visit, a must see. We decided to skip the Red Fort visit as we were now very hot, hungry and dreading the 4 hour ride home. To the credit of the tour company we had a nice lunch in a cool restaurant and while we were eating they sapped out the vehicle and we were able ride back to Delhi in a car with working a/c. If not for part 1 of our journey I would have given the rest of this tour a 5 star.

Sam Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Higlhy recommended. Although was dissapointed that the driver was not happy with my tipping amount. Felt so bad at the end i gave him just a little more.

Stephanie S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Although getting to see the Taj Mahal was absolutely amazing, the drive itself and the tour guide could have been better. The driver got into an accident on the way to Agra, and had me step outside the car (onto a VERY busy road) while 12 people ran out from the side of the road to "lift" the car off of the truck that it was stuck on. This delayed our arrival to Agra, upon which the driver told the tour guide that he hoped the "accident" was not going to affect his trip! Although the tour guide was very knowledgeable about the Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort, I did not appreciate being taken to shops that he would he would get commissions from. I was taken into basements of buildings with doors closed behind me - and felt very uncomfortable. Even after I expressed my displeasure at being taken to the first stop, I was taken to another shop with a similar method of "shopping". If you say you don't want to purchase something, you are taken into a room of "cheaper" stuff that they hope you will purchase. I felt compelled to purchase something just so they would let me out of the store - which made me completely uncomfortable. The drive was long, but the sights were amazing. Recommend this type of travel for a single woman traveling alone.

Lidia R Poland

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Taj Mahal is worth seeing and this goal was achieved by the trip. We (2 people) went on a private tour assisted by the guide and the driver in a small, uncomfortable Tata car. The guide was friendly and answered all our questions. However, at the beginning of the tour, before leaving Delhi, he told us, that he and the driver are hungry and need breakfast. They stopped to eat, while we waited by the car. On the way back they stopped several times to either eat or to drink tea, while we waited. The program of the tour did not include such stops, but the guide explained, that food is very important for people in India. We found this annoying, especially on a private tour, where we expected a service tailored to our needs.

Paul S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

driver was on the phone constantly, which does not help in crazy india traffic. i rejected the offer of a sales tour, and than all of a sudden the tour was ended early. Taj was great, but not thx to Viator
so, not a good as previous tour and not worth the money. there are better and cheaper tours available.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 115.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5524HUW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message