5 star rating: Highly Recommended 29 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Delhi, India
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 29 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Oleg A
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Taj Mahal and Red Fort are definitely worth loooking at. The trip was perfectly organized as always, touch wood, by Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great day that has so much to offer. The Taj Mahal and Red Fort are awesome, but there is so much more, just the drive from Delhi is great in itself.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The trip to Agra was something I was so looking forward to doing. It was wonderful. The guide from New Delhi as well as the guide we met in Agra were both wonderful. The Agra guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to impart interesting information at both Red Fort and the Taj Mahal. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The drive to the Taj took five hours and the return was six hours long. Be prepared for a really long day! Otherwise, the driver was very courteous and professional and the tour guide in Agra was very knowledgeable and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Wonderful local agent intrepid journeys great tour guide FAB so knowledgeable loved every minute of this trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Taj Mahal and other sights in Agra were very impressive. The guide and driver were very pleasant and gave me all of the information that I could want. The drive was long and tiring but that's India. I did not care for the side trips to various shops. I could do without those shopping trips unless I specifically asked to be taken there.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Good tour. We liked the driver and the guide. It was a long drive and very hot. Is the train an option?

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The trip is wonderful, but way too long. We had terrible traffic jams. Please consider the train to Agra to meet your guide. Our trip was 14 hours/12 in the car.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Well this is a tough one. Let me talk about this trip in 3 parts. The first part was absolutely terrible. We had 1 day set aside on our trip to India for a day trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. It was the last day before flying out. The driver was on time and off we go. About 5 minutes into the trip I realize that the air conditioning is not working...are you kidding me ? We are going to spend 4 hours in a car in summer in India and the a/c doesn't work ??? Unforgivable...but we have no choice...last day in India and we didn't come all the way here to not see the Taj Mahal. So on we go. After a hot nasty ride to Agra we met our guide and proceeded to the Taj Mahal. The guide was excellent and the Taj is truly magnificent well worth a visit, a must see. We decided to skip the Red Fort visit as we were now very hot, hungry and dreading the 4 hour ride home. To the credit of the tour company we had a nice lunch in a cool restaurant and while we were eating they sapped out the vehicle and we were able ride back to Delhi in a car with working a/c. If not for part 1 of our journey I would have given the rest of this tour a 5 star.

Sam
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Higlhy recommended. Although was dissapointed that the driver was not happy with my tipping amount. Felt so bad at the end i gave him just a little more.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Although getting to see the Taj Mahal was absolutely amazing, the drive itself and the tour guide could have been better. The driver got into an accident on the way to Agra, and had me step outside the car (onto a VERY busy road) while 12 people ran out from the side of the road to "lift" the car off of the truck that it was stuck on. This delayed our arrival to Agra, upon which the driver told the tour guide that he hoped the "accident" was not going to affect his trip! Although the tour guide was very knowledgeable about the Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort, I did not appreciate being taken to shops that he would he would get commissions from. I was taken into basements of buildings with doors closed behind me - and felt very uncomfortable. Even after I expressed my displeasure at being taken to the first stop, I was taken to another shop with a similar method of "shopping". If you say you don't want to purchase something, you are taken into a room of "cheaper" stuff that they hope you will purchase. I felt compelled to purchase something just so they would let me out of the store - which made me completely uncomfortable. The drive was long, but the sights were amazing. Recommend this type of travel for a single woman traveling alone.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Taj Mahal is worth seeing and this goal was achieved by the trip. We (2 people) went on a private tour assisted by the guide and the driver in a small, uncomfortable Tata car. The guide was friendly and answered all our questions. However, at the beginning of the tour, before leaving Delhi, he told us, that he and the driver are hungry and need breakfast. They stopped to eat, while we waited by the car. On the way back they stopped several times to either eat or to drink tea, while we waited. The program of the tour did not include such stops, but the guide explained, that food is very important for people in India. We found this annoying, especially on a private tour, where we expected a service tailored to our needs.

From USD $ 118.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5524HUW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message