5 star rating: Highly Recommended 33 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Delhi, India
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 33 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This tour was one of the highlights of our visit to India. Our guide, Imran Khan, was quite knowledgeable and informative about the history and everything surrounding the Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. We really enjoyed his service.

Madan J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Overall very satisfied with this 1 day trip. We the family members of 3 have been provided a very comfortable 4-wheel drive vehicle fitted with individual single seating space. Though the journey time from Delhi -Agra-Delhi was bit hectic but our guide-cum Escort from Delhi kept us occupied with local information and stories. On arrival to Agra we were provided a local guide who was very friendly and knowledgeable, took us to Tajmahal and Agra Red Fort. Though it was very wintery time with fog and mist but by the time we arrived Tajmahal, sun appeared and we were delighted to have magnificent view of one of wonders of world! We were then taken to very authentic Indian restaurant for lunch followed by marble souvenir shopping. Next destination of Agra Fort was equally fabulous. Really got impressed to see huge red forts with many historical landmarks inside. Thanks viator and your Delhi based tour company for making our trip memorable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It was a full, rich day from Delhi to Agre. A private car, driver and guide leader drove us to the Taj Mahal and Red Fort providing us with a weath of information along the way. Once we arrived at the famous sights, another guide from the local area took over. He was very knowledgable and passionate about the hstory and architecture of the Taj Mahal. We were taken to a wonderfully tasty and very affordable restaurant for lunch. Aside from the brutal July heat and humidity, it was a great and truly memorable day. One should not go to Dehli without seeing he Taj Mahal, and this is definetly the way to see it! Many thanks Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is a trip of a lifetime! We had a wonderful day in Agra and Taj Mahal. This is our third Viator tour two in Thailand at a different visit, and this one and we have not been dissapointed at any of them. This particular trip is a long day, as we left around 7 am and returned about 10 pm to our hotel, but it was worth it. The guide in the car was average, but the guide that was contracted to give the tour of the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort was very good and served both as guide and photographer. Our family of five was the totatily of the group, so this was a very personalized trip and the late return was really because we chose to take it very leasurely. For anyone visitng New Delhi, this is a must.

Oleg A
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Taj Mahal and Red Fort are definitely worth loooking at. The trip was perfectly organized as always, touch wood, by Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great day that has so much to offer. The Taj Mahal and Red Fort are awesome, but there is so much more, just the drive from Delhi is great in itself.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The trip to Agra was something I was so looking forward to doing. It was wonderful. The guide from New Delhi as well as the guide we met in Agra were both wonderful. The Agra guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to impart interesting information at both Red Fort and the Taj Mahal. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a really amazing tour! My guide was very knowledgeable and always explained the reason of architectonic features. This is much more interesting than just listening to historic facts as it is often the case in similar tours. He knows great photo spots and is not tired to try again and again until you have that perfect photo.
The only downside was the visit to an art store at the end of the tour. Even tough I pointed out several times to the shopkeeper that I am not interested in buying anything, he gave me a guilty feeling and my guide didn't help me to get out of there.
Altogether I can recommend the tour and would book it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The drive to the Taj took five hours and the return was six hours long. Be prepared for a really long day! Otherwise, the driver was very courteous and professional and the tour guide in Agra was very knowledgeable and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Wonderful local agent intrepid journeys great tour guide FAB so knowledgeable loved every minute of this trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Taj Mahal and other sights in Agra were very impressive. The guide and driver were very pleasant and gave me all of the information that I could want. The drive was long and tiring but that's India. I did not care for the side trips to various shops. I could do without those shopping trips unless I specifically asked to be taken there.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Good tour. We liked the driver and the guide. It was a long drive and very hot. Is the train an option?

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The trip is wonderful, but way too long. We had terrible traffic jams. Please consider the train to Agra to meet your guide. Our trip was 14 hours/12 in the car.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was my second tour to the Taj Mahal, so I thought I knew what to expect. The driver was on time, but we were 15 minutes late departing because the hotel Concierge told us to wait inside the lobby while the driver was told to wait outside - not his fault - just a communication problem. The vehicle was in poor condition. The windshield had a crack that spanned the entire windshield, the left side view mirror was damaged / useless. We tried to fasten our seatbelts and were told "no seatbelts for the back seat - you'll be OK"... we only had one day to make the trip - refusing this driver and car could have jeopardized our trip.

The driver spoke very little English - which is OK because he wasn't the tour guide. We made the trip much faster than my previous trip as there is now an expressway all the way to Agra and almost all the way to the Taj Mahal... it was at least 90 minutes faster via the expressway. We met our guide and proceeded to tour the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very accommodating with helping to take pictures for us, etc.

We were asked if we would be willing to visit a crafts museum where craftsman whose ancestors carved the Taj Mahal would demonstrate their skills - I said no - I'd been through that the last time - it's a tourist trap / gift shop with disinterested craftsman that wake up and pretend to carve and shape inlaid stone... if you pay enough attention - it's obviously a staged demo that ultimately leads to the showroom. It's nice stuff if you're into it - the second showroom is where you can pick up gifts for friends and family - prices are negotiable. Overall another good visit to Agra that would have gotten 4 stars if it weren't for the missing seat belts.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Well this is a tough one. Let me talk about this trip in 3 parts. The first part was absolutely terrible. We had 1 day set aside on our trip to India for a day trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. It was the last day before flying out. The driver was on time and off we go. About 5 minutes into the trip I realize that the air conditioning is not working...are you kidding me ? We are going to spend 4 hours in a car in summer in India and the a/c doesn't work ??? Unforgivable...but we have no choice...last day in India and we didn't come all the way here to not see the Taj Mahal. So on we go. After a hot nasty ride to Agra we met our guide and proceeded to the Taj Mahal. The guide was excellent and the Taj is truly magnificent well worth a visit, a must see. We decided to skip the Red Fort visit as we were now very hot, hungry and dreading the 4 hour ride home. To the credit of the tour company we had a nice lunch in a cool restaurant and while we were eating they sapped out the vehicle and we were able ride back to Delhi in a car with working a/c. If not for part 1 of our journey I would have given the rest of this tour a 5 star.

From USD $ 76.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5524HUW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message