5 star rating: Highly Recommended 279 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Duration:  2 or 2.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New Orleans Cooking Class. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 279 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent, informative, fun, funny, and you'll have a great time and learn to cook a few New Orleans dishes that will make you the star of your family and community. I highly recommend the cooking class!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful opportunity to learn about the cooking styles, learn how to cook specialty dishes of NO and learn a bit of history too! Needless to say we got to taste everything that was made over the two hour period and it was all delicious!! Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic. But I was unimpressed by Viator not letting us know we had a firm booking until a few hours before our class. Viator also cancelled another swamp and plantation trip we booked leaving us in the lurch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

OMG!! This was one of the best experiences we have ever had. My first trip to New Orleans and I chose this class as a surprise thank you for my 2 nieces who came on the trip with me. They were totally surprised. Michael was great. He was funny , knowledgable, fully of history and most of all , he made some great food. We left stuffed to the gills. If your looking for something exciting and different, please sign up for this class or surprise someone who is going to NO and sign them up. You can't go wrong with this class. I am making one of the recipes this weekend for the family. I recommend this class to anyone and everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great class... Chef Kevin was fun and energetic.... Had a blast and food was excellent... Can't wait to go back and take another class next time we visit New Orleans!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great times! Our instructor was a great narrator/historian, funny and a great cook. We enjoyed the Friday 10am menu. It was a great taste of new Orleans!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a totally fun cooking class. We tasted delicious food and Anne was delightful as a teacher.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Awesome! Loved the instructor.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Good Time - Great Food - Don't miss it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We both thoroughly enjoyed our time in New Orleans. The cookery demonstration, tasting and dialogue were informative and entertaining. It was my first time tasting Gumbo and I had two bowls. Could easily have had a third. I will be attempting it this weekend! The website was easy to use and the constant reminders were timely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A BLAST!!! Anne was our chef but much more than that. Her knowledge of the food was off the chart. Her knowledge of New Orleans History connecting the food to today is what made the entire experience one that myself and my friends from South Carolina will never forget. We have told everyone to go to this cooking class.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was great, planning to go back,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

If you are a "foodie" this is a must on the list. The instructor was warm and funny, the experience was just like sitting at a kitchen table and having a conversation with a friend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This class was fantastic. We watched as the food was cooked while stories were told. Quite crowded in the dining area but great way to meet people - 6-8 people per table. The food was delicious. Especially the Pecan fudge.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Harriet was witty, informative and did an excellent demo. Our best time in New Orleans!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fantastic instructor with fantastic food... YUMMY!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Pat is an enthusiastic and fantastic teacher; a true ambassador or New Orleans!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I loved the class. It was fun and informative and the food they prepared was delicious. I even attempted to make the Gumbo at home with the recipe they provided. And much to my surprize, it turned out great! It's all in the roux! Thank you for such a fun and laid back class. I also purchased Joes Stuff and roasted garlic, to make my food extra delicous.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Highlight of the trip! Sondra was not only an exceptional cook but a wealth of New Orleans history. The stories and cooking tips she provided were both practical and entertaining. The good (Corn and Crab Bisque, Shrimp Creole, Pralines and Bananas Foster) was incredible. For the price of $24, we were treated to a plentiful lunch that out rivaled any other meal we had on our trip. On our next visit to the city we plan on attending two cooking classes to sample the different menus. A MUST DO when visiting New Orleans.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A little bit of Paula Dean right here in NOL. Crab bisque and chicken etouffee with fresh made pralines to die for. All recipes included plus you can shop for spices and cook books (etc) in their store following the meal. Bits of history of the food originations made for a better understanding of how NOL became a unique food city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Lots of fun and the Abita beer was fantastic!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a fabulous time. Our Chef was very entertaining.....and gave us great cooking tips. I am going to use the Jambalaya receipe at my next party!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent class, actually took 3 classes here during my vacation. Pat was my teacher twice and she does an amazing job with her history of NOLA and her excellent cooking skills. Fun activity and great eating at an excellent price !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Fantastic time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The class was wonderful. We had Sandra and she gave us so much history of NOLA while preparing the dishes. U walk out so happy and full. I would recommend to anyone visiting.

From USD $ 29.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3108LUNCH

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message