5 star rating: Highly Recommended 250 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 250 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Joe was a fabulous tour guide. He told us all about three of the most famous bar/restaurants in NOLA. And he gave us the history of the unique cocktails served in those establishments. Great tour. Great tour guide. Great drinks! Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We've been to Mardis Gras around 8 times and this is the first time on the cocktail tour. Dont know why we waited.
the tour is about 2-2 1/2 hours and worth every penny. We went to local bars we dident know existed and had some of the strangest local drinks.
the best was the history of the french quarter.
the only recommendation is to make sure you eat before the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour! So much fun, we can't wait to do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Was tremendous and got so much info from Jo our guide. The best part of our trip to NO!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very good experience on the Cocktail Walking Tour. Learned a lot about the bars, cocktails, and history of New Orleans. Highly recommend taking this tour early in your trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our guide Joe was the consumate guide. He knew his subject, loved his subject and taught how to appreciate New Orleans and its history. Not a pub crawl but a very informative tour of the historic areas of the French Quarter. He also shared a first person account of Katrina. 5+ stars!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic time. It was really cool to go into bars off the beaten path and to get away from Bourbon Street. Our guide was amazing "Sandy Smith". This activity was more than I expected. My wife and I took this trip and thought it would be more like a pub crawl that takes you to the different bars and tells you about some city highlights along the way. How narrow was that thought. This tour is so much more. We learned much history in a short amount of time. Our guide, Joe shared he had been doing this tour for 12 years. He shared great information and managed the group well. There always seems to be a person or two that makes comments or asks strange questions that make you think, really??? We had a couple like that in our group and Joe was professional in either commenting or just moving the tour along. Joe asked if anyone had been on the tour before as there are several historical bars he can take the group to so if there were some that had been on the tour before, he would take the group to other places to make it a different experience. Each historic bar we went to is known for a unique drink. While the drinks are not included in the price and you can decide if you want one or not, it was interesting to hear the history of the drink and/or how it is made. These are bars not on Bourbon Street. Antoine’s was a place Joe took us to areas that are not open to the public.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fascinating history of cocktails and the best place to get a classic Our guide was perfect. This is not a pub crawl, but rather NOLA history with cocktails.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic time. It was really cool to go into bars off the beaten path and to get away from Bourbon Street. Our guide was amazing "Sandy Smith". If you decide to do the tour you must must must request Sandy Smith. She made the tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very informative and guide had alot of local knowledge. Was well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

More then I imagined . I learned more history in 2 hours about New Orleans then my whole life time. The drinks were an added bonus. Needs to be at the top of your checklist when in Mew Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Off the beaten path is definetly the way to go!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is like a historical tour; it's a history of the bars around the Quarter and the drinks they created (available but not included in the price). Really fun, and tasty. I would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great. So informative and fun. We got to see things that we wouldn't on our own. Etienne (sp?) our tour guide was a wealth of knowledge.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Different, entertaining, and full of info. I felt enlightened and a tad drunk.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Guide was very entertaining. I was amazed by some of the drinks!!! Definitely do that one again. And again, really need to clean up the smell in French Quarters...nasty!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This was our favorite tour of our entire vacation. We had "Joe", the tour guide who started and created this tour 12 years ago and even wrote a book (which we bought). He was fun, funny and extremely knowledgable on the history of NOLA. We got to see things that normal visitors coming to NOLA don't get to unless you do this tour. We went to about 5 bars/restaurants to sample different drinks (at our cost) and got one free signature drink as the tour started. I highly recommend you doing this tour first on your vacation, so you find out all the cool places to go!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is a great tour. Our guide was full of interesting stories of New Orleans and we went to the bars where certain cocktails had been created, rather than the tourist venues on Bourbon St. It was a thoroughly enjoyable event, and I would recommend anyone doing this on their first evening in NO to give you ideas for both bars and restaurants during the rest of your stay.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I would highly recommend the tour to anyone going to New Orleans. My friends and I could not have asked for a better tour guide than Sandi! She was fantastic and we had a wonderful time with her!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved it! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour! Very happy we signed up. Our guide Sandy Smith was great! When we go on one of the other tours we will ask for Sandy for sure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was fantastic. Our tourguide, Joe, wrote the book. His knowledge was incredible. My new favorite cocktail is the Pimm's Cup! This is not a pub crawl. Come ready to try some unique cocktails and to learn some great history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour is definitely worth taking. A great way to see several restaurants in the French Quarter and learn a lot interesting history.

From USD $ 28.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3780ST

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message