5 star rating: Highly Recommended 52 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New Orleans
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 52 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic!
Up to our expectations and even more!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Good fun, the plantation tour was a little dry, but interesting nonetheless, the airboat swamp tour was awesome, probably the best thing I did whilst in New Orleans. The guide was lovely and full of information :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Louie was great! We got to see so many alligators, the swamp was gorgeous, the airboat was thrilling. This was the highlight of our whole vacation!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour is the best!! We went on the fast 6 passenger airboat. The guide took us places we never thought we'd fit down. He was extremely knowledgeagle and so very friendly and funny.
This is one tour you must take if your visiting New Orleans. We loved it so much were coming back to do it again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

What a wonderful experience. The airboat trip was fantastic. We also thought the tour of the plantation was very enlightening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

An awesome way to send haf a day

Barney37
Saudi Arabia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Out of New Orleans and we saw gators and more gator. This was a great tour with a good guide and the airboat is just the best. If y9u are down here and do not do this you must already be from the south.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This tour was great. The tour operator was very well run and the group was small, which made the experience a whole lot more personal. The airboat ride on the swamp was awesome. I saw several alligators in the swamp and I even had the chance to hold a baby one! The swamp was beautiful and peaceful. It was also interesting to see the plantation as well. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who visits New Orleans. It's a great break for anyone who wants to get out of the city for a day to explore the swamp and a little bit of the countryside of Louisiana. This was one of the highlights of my trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Swamp/Bayou trip was AMAZING!! Loads of Alligators and the Captain was a kick in the pants! He caught a small alligator and we all got to hold it.
The Plantation was pretty, but the tour was a bit boring.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The boat ride was nice - didn't see much wildlife

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The swamp air boat ride was absolutely amazing and made our whole vacation, so the tour was worth doing just for that. The boat operator was fun and we even got to feed alligators. The plantation tour was informative but rather long and boring; plus, you don't get time to eat on the long tour. Our tour guide from Isabelle tours who drove us from to and from the boat ride and plantation was sweet but ADHD and all over the place. It was very confusing to try to follow her historical information as it was very disjointed and out of order chronologically. I recommend seeing Oak Alley or other plantations other than Destrehan if you go.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were told that the van would pick us up at the hotel at 11:15. We didn't get pick up until almost 11:30. The van driver was friendly and knew a lot of stuff about New Orleans, which she told us on our drive out of the city, but she would keep going off-topic.
The plantation tour was interesting. The guide told us a lot of things that i will never remember. She was very knowledgable about the history of the owners and the plantation itself. After touring the house, we were left to wander the grounds for 20 more minutes until the van left again.
I thought that riding in a 14-passenger air boat wouldn't be as much fun as a smaller boat, but it was. It started out slowly until the captain seemed to find his sense of humor. Then the fun started. We found a crocodile nest and a few crocs swimming. We tried catching one but it disappeared. The boats passed around a baby croc for us to hold. We also caught a few spiders and some sort of monster grasshopper. The 2 hour ride went by fast.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Had a fantastic time. Everyone in our group was all smiles. Our guide was very good. We saw many gators and it was fund holding a baby gator.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The airboat ride was absolutely great and we could take some great pictures of alligators. Our guide knew their names and could even touch them. Can't tell anything about the plantation, because the hadn't enough people for this.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Tour guide was fun and the ride exciting.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Airboat guide and ride were great, bayou was beautiful, he showed us some amazing animals and sites.
Plantation tour was weak. Our guide was poorly prepared, uninterested, grew annoyed when people asked questions. The property we visited was historically important (site of trials for slave rebellion) yet this portion of its history was only addressed secondarily.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Our tour guide Rodney was great. He had a great knowledge of the swamps and a good sense of humor. We saw a gator, bald eagle, a banana spider ( very large),other birds and a animal sooo cute that looked like a beaver, but wasn't. My one suggestion is that if you do the tour during the winter as we did, make sure you bring warm clothes and possibly a blanket. They don't supply the blanket and it does get very chilly. Other than that, we all loved it very much and would definitely do it again. Thanks again, Bobbi

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The plantation tour was not very exciting but the airboat Was Excellent
Captan Louis was very knowledgeable
He took us in spots I didn't think the air boat could go.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Good fun

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Had an excellent time. The guides were fun and knowledgeble. Would recommend it.

Fima
USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A whole adventure: first plunging into the Louisiana past during the plantation visit, then enjoying the beautiful and wild nature on the airboat. Great support and extra information from the guide Ginnie (with a complimentary pickup/delivery from/to the New Orleans hotel).
Worth doing and recommending!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Enter your review here.Tour was fantastic swamp tour was great guide terrifice saw plenty of alligators big and small snakes turtles and birds very informative plantation tour was ok but if you want to go to see a
plantation suggest you go to another tour guide was good thoroughly enjoyed airboat

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Loved, loved, loved the air boat ride. Our guide was super, very fun experience. Plantation was interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The day started well by being collected from our hotel in an air-conditioned 14 seater shuttle bus. Our driver Joseph informed us that our two friends and ourselves were the only passengers. We had an excellent city tour, Joseph was very knowledgeable and supplied us with a great deal of local information.
We were then taken to Airboat Adventures for the airboat ride. Two other passengers joined us and we spent 2 hours travelling along the bayou. We were treated to a fast paced and exciting tour by our "captain" Eric, which had a ready supply of facts about the flora and fauna of the waterways. We saw a number of alligators,black vultures, turtles and egrets. Eric also told us about the conservation programme which is taking place in this area.
Joseph then took us to the Destrahan Plantation. This was the most disappointing part of the tour as the house tour was very rapid and we were not allowed to look at any of the rooms by ourselves. There are an number of talks which take place throughout the day and a few outbuildings to visit at your leisure.
Joseph then returned us to our hotel.
On the whole it was a great day and very good value for money. Maybe there could be an alternative plantation to visit or some changes made to the pace of the Destrahan tour.

From USD $ 145.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2292HDAC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message