4.5 star rating: Recommended 81 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  6 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 6-Day Ultimate East Coast Tour by Private Plane: New York City, Washington DC, Niagara Falls, Toronto & Pennsylvania Amish Country. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 81 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

great experience, fully packed tour worth every dollars. if you are trying to buy similiar tour with the same ittenary and hotels and food on your own, I think you would have to spend twice as they deal being offered.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

I enjoyed my trip. My family and I had a lot of fun and meet some very nice people! I hope to go again.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great trip, very professional and enthusiastic guide (Ms. Sherry), a lot to see and a bit hectic but still enjoyed a lot! Few delays due to charter flight (weather?) and tour bus in some sectors could be better (specially air conditioning in summer). Definitely recommended!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The trip was excellent but we had two couriers scrabbling with each other!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

It was an excellent trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

This was a really worthwhile trip. Excellent value and interesting sight seeing. The accomodation was genuine 4 star and well chosen. the meals were average but ok. the tour manager did a great job. the tour participants were truly a universal group, mixed ages and interesting / interested people. Some problems occurred with including all that was offered because the trip was on the changeover time from summer holidays, their were floods in Pennsylvania and the 9/11 events in Washington closed of access to a number of venues some advanced research by the company may have allowed more options around these events but with tour managers efforts we disappointment was well managed. We would recommended this trip except the day in Toronto to anyone looking for a tour experience in North America.
marilyn and Michael Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Had a good time despite the hurricane. Hotels, meals, buses and planes were first class. The guide was a last minutes replacement and showed it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Overall we saw a lot of places that we would not have seen on a road trip. Hershey, Pennsylvania should be scratched from visiting as it is a playground for hundreds of yelling and screaming children. Our tour guide cut it short to an hour from two hours. Fifteen minutes were too much. There was not a wine tasting in Toronto, instead we drove around downtown on the bus. You must be prepared to be ready to go between 6 and 7 each morning, you will arrive at hotel around 7 at night, dinner after that, usually at 7:30. Also be prepared to walk 4 to 8 miles each day. Meals and rooms were very good. The Sheraton would have been better in Niagara Falls if everyone could have rooms viewing the falls. (No one did.), It probably would not have mattered as we didn't get back to the room until late. I think the most frustrating thing was some us were wore out after 4 days. There needs to be some down time earlier in the day at the hotel where everyone could relax and visit with each other. I know that the last afternoon several from the group took a cab back to the Hotel. Final day was cut short. We visited Arlington National Cemetery early in the morning and then headed to airport and flew to NYC. Tour Guide was great, Flight Crew was excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Do not book this trip with Viator. I booked and paid for this trip 6 months in advance as a part of a 4 week USA Holiday from Australia. Despite receiving confirmation less than 24 hours before the scheduled departure I was contacted the evening before to tell me that the trip had been postponed due to lack of numbers and would now be a multilingual German/ English tour leaving 2 days later. The delivery of bad news is farmed off by Viator to a company called TouricoHolidays who did their best to lessen the pain by rescheduling accommodation, theatre tickets etc. Once Viator have your money, it is game over, I am still waiting for a response to a email I sent them some 3 days ago. Viator also engage in advertising that is at times, blatant lies, and other times quite misleading. Do not expect a view of the falls at Niagra. Any reasonable company would make this clear and give the customer an opportunity to upgrade. Why on earth would you travel half way around the world and not stay in a room will a view of the falls! Viator also advise that, for the Mount Vernon trip, a coach will take you " to the Potomac", clearly, given the evidence of other reviewers, there is an implied message that the Potomac may be the method of transport. Rest assured it is not. Having said all that, the Tour itself was, because of our terrific Tour Guide, Cie, a real highlight. The German and Hungarian tourists that we met were a delightful bunch to travel with. This tour proceeds at a cracking pace, but affords travellers a chance to tick many boxes in a short time. Accommodation is excellent, meals are good, and our travel Guide was a true proffessional and a lot of fun. I would suggest that you only book and pay when numbers have been confirmed and book with someone other than Viator. Mauvi have a wonderful product in this tour, but delivery needs to be guaranteed and they need to find a more proffessional and honest company than Viator to be their agent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

We would have rated this 4-5 star except we did not get luxury coaches at 2 out of 3 destinations. In fact one bus/truck gave a few of us sore backs. We also ended up at a different hotel in Pennsylvania which was not as good. Hard to believe the planned Hotel overbooked when this is a regular tour!! Also did not like not being able to return to hotel after touring all day - have a drink and freshen up! We were eating dinner straight after the tour each day at 5.30!! Most restaurants were walking distance from hotels so did not understand keeping bus drivers lingering to pick us up after dinner. If we can afford a private plane tour - we are not the sort to eat early!! However we do believe the early dinners were entirely up to the tour guide and did not need to be this way. Our guide would not give us answers to questions she knew we would not like and would tell us last minute i.e. are we having dinner early today (would have liked to know if we needed extra clothes!!). We often , as a group, rearranged the ridiculous wake up times. Felt as though we were treated like children from the ex school teacher!! Our advice - check your guide is not an ex school teacher!! However the whole concept of the tour was good value for what it was.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Great concept, tight but effective schedule, good drivers and hotels, the guide needs to have more site knowledge. Overall would recommend the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Great concept, which has excellent accommodation and the best way to see a lot within a short space of time. However, our tour guide was terrible and severely hampered our opinion of the trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Plane was alright but was glad there was only 4 of us on this trip,plane crew/staff were very good, hotels were good but choice of rooms would be nice, restaurants were very average and it would be better to have breakfast and lunch and let you chose if you wish dinner, ground transportation did not meet our expectations - very uncomfortable, most drivers were very informative about area unlike tour operator who had very limited knowledge. Pennsylvania Amish Country this should be dropped from Itinerary, just a very long boring day, chocolate factory is fine for kids not adults, and very expensive poor quality food at restaurants, Amish was just a mock up of what it would be like to be Amish - just money spinning for the town - felt ripped off. Overall a good price for this kind of trip, lets you see alot over a short period, this is a exhausting trip, and no time to yourself, I hope they keep it going but needs refinements.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

It was quite a neat trip. The concept has a lot of potential. They really need to train their staff though. The guide was brand new and could not speak English very well. He could not control the gruop, so a lot of time was wasted and lots of the travellers were upset.

BATTERSBY666
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We had been looking forward to this trip for 2 years - it was an expensive excursion but we thought it would be a touch of luxury especially flying by private plane. But we were left disappointed and quite frustrated at the experience. The hotels were ok - we upgraded at the Niagara Falls hotel to have a falls view room and it was worth it as we had a much better room and of course a fabulous view of the falls. It cost about CAD100 plus tax for the two nights. The Washington Hilton hotel was probably the worst as it was a long way from the main sites, the rooms were small with no seating, and it was very busy and modern. We were not at the hotel in Pennsylvania long enough to really comment on it.

The worse part of the holiday was that it is not exclusive to English speaking clients. There were a total of 26 people in our tour which included a group of 10 Polish tourists. Some did not speak English so they had an interpreter travel with them and everything that was said in English had to be translated into Polish. This meant everything took twice as long as it should have done. A lot of the time the interpreter either did not know the Polish translation or could not remember what had been originally told to us as she kept having to repeat the english before she could translate. This became very tedious as the tour went on. It was bad enough on the bus, but when we are at the Amish house and in the Capital Building, it was even worse as there were interruptions with questions whilst we were supposed to be receiving the next "instalment" of the facts.

Special Offer

From USD $ 2,047.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5290EAST

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message