4.5 star rating: Recommended 146 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  Flexible

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the American Museum of Natural History. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 146 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

realy great for kids and adults, if you can order tickets before you get there major saving in time and money

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

There is a lot to see. We saw the museum towards the end of a busy day, and probably did not appreciate it as much since we were all tired. Would recommend at least 2-3 hrs. minimum earlier in the day. There is a subway stop right in the basement of the museum, which is very convenient. Although if you have pre purchased tickets( Viator), you can not go in that entrance. You have to leave the subway area, go upstairs and around the front of the museum to the main entrance. Then you stand in another line with others who have pre purchased tickets.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

We spent half of our day in NYC at the American Museum of Natural History. All special exhibits were included in our discounted tickets. Very rewarding experience at a great price. Thanks!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

very big - set aside a full day

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

This place is huge, forget about seeing all this place has to offer in one day.

It was a little busy with plenty of schools present but overall it was awesome and well worth it especially if you enjoy learning about the world around us.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Was expecting more expositions but in general terms it's an awesome museum.

Catherine B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Good value for money.........enjoyable museum for all ages!!

Ben K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very interesting place - especially for the kids.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

i

Joseph T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very interesting, worth the money

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

passed in our vouchers to special line w no waiting. great experience soooo much to take in.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

There were a lot of different things to see. I thought the tour was definitely worth the price, considering everything we saw and did.

Stephen B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

Very interesting, especially the dinosaurs!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Definitely beat the lines with the advanced voucher. Saved time and hassle.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This is a great museum with many high-quality exhibits.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

One day is not enough to see everything there. The iMax was only 2D, so may want to skip it.

Kay
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This is worth doing but you definitely need to spend the whole day there as it is vast. The dinosaur exhibition was well worth seeing.

susanrobertson
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Enjoyed it very interesting

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

History museum was ok. Worth a visit if you have plenty of time in New York but too many noisy kids around.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We expected to skip the long queue with having booked in advance for the museum. Very wrong. We got there and had to join the very long line to exchange our "voucher" for a ticket so there was no advantage at all booking with Viator. We paid in advance when booking and wouldn't recommend it to anybody. Just turn up and pay on the day.
The museum is great but so much to see that you would need days to do it justice so you need to work out which parts are a priority and see those.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

This was ok it was super crowded and the line to get a ticket was too long. Beware if you purchase a voucher from Viator you are still subjected to the long lines for tickets

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Visted the museum on what was the hottest day of the year so a joy to get inside.Very helpful at the desk advised best exhibtions to see with limited time,however because the museum is so big very easy to get lost especially if trying to get somewhere for a timed visit. Exhibtions are excellent,and enjoyed journey to the stars, feel you would need to spend alll day to get the most from your visit. Would be helpful if there were more guides around to avise.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This tour would have been better if it weren't for all the school kids there. It seemed like every elementary school in New York was there at the same time! I would have enjoyed it a lot more if it weren't for all the screaming kids!! I did see the dinasour artifacts and other animals which wercool

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

For my kids, going straight up to the fourth floor was the way to go. There are so many exhibits that are "representations" or "how it would have looked". The first floor is full of taxidermied animals, like you might see alive at a zoo. This was weird to me to see at a museum. Many of the exhibits were not lit well enough, even when there was information to read about. The gem exhibit was nice. Don't expect to be able to sit down to eat lunch or a snack as there is WAY too little room for very many people in the cafe areas. Also, the food is crazy expensive, even for NY attractions.
One nice thing is that you can enter straight from the subway.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Boring :(

From USD $ 21.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2396AMNH

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message