4.5 star rating: Recommended 139 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  Flexible

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the American Museum of Natural History. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 139 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Catherine B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Good value for money.........enjoyable museum for all ages!!

Ben K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very interesting place - especially for the kids.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

i

Joseph T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very interesting, worth the money

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

passed in our vouchers to special line w no waiting. great experience soooo much to take in.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

There were a lot of different things to see. I thought the tour was definitely worth the price, considering everything we saw and did.

Stephen B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

Very interesting, especially the dinosaurs!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Definitely beat the lines with the advanced voucher. Saved time and hassle.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This is a great museum with many high-quality exhibits.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

One day is not enough to see everything there. The iMax was only 2D, so may want to skip it.

susanrobertson
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Enjoyed it very interesting

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

History museum was ok. Worth a visit if you have plenty of time in New York but too many noisy kids around.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We expected to skip the long queue with having booked in advance for the museum. Very wrong. We got there and had to join the very long line to exchange our "voucher" for a ticket so there was no advantage at all booking with Viator. We paid in advance when booking and wouldn't recommend it to anybody. Just turn up and pay on the day.
The museum is great but so much to see that you would need days to do it justice so you need to work out which parts are a priority and see those.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

This was ok it was super crowded and the line to get a ticket was too long. Beware if you purchase a voucher from Viator you are still subjected to the long lines for tickets

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Visted the museum on what was the hottest day of the year so a joy to get inside.Very helpful at the desk advised best exhibtions to see with limited time,however because the museum is so big very easy to get lost especially if trying to get somewhere for a timed visit. Exhibtions are excellent,and enjoyed journey to the stars, feel you would need to spend alll day to get the most from your visit. Would be helpful if there were more guides around to avise.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This tour would have been better if it weren't for all the school kids there. It seemed like every elementary school in New York was there at the same time! I would have enjoyed it a lot more if it weren't for all the screaming kids!! I did see the dinasour artifacts and other animals which wercool

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

For my kids, going straight up to the fourth floor was the way to go. There are so many exhibits that are "representations" or "how it would have looked". The first floor is full of taxidermied animals, like you might see alive at a zoo. This was weird to me to see at a museum. Many of the exhibits were not lit well enough, even when there was information to read about. The gem exhibit was nice. Don't expect to be able to sit down to eat lunch or a snack as there is WAY too little room for very many people in the cafe areas. Also, the food is crazy expensive, even for NY attractions.
One nice thing is that you can enter straight from the subway.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Boring :(

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Nice

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Too much to see and do, so if you have limited time in New York City would not recommend this trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

There was almost too much to see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Great museum!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Wish I had known to go to the "Will Call" desk to pick up tickets, waited in wrong line for 1/2 hour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

+: a lot of knowledge, beautiful expositions

-: too many children playing and running aroud

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

ticket line was long and didn't include everything even though it said it did. Very confused as to hot to plan the times to see everything. Nice museum but very crowded on a rainy Sundy

From USD $ 21.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2396AMNH

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message