• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Circle Line: Bear Mountain Full-Day Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

The cruise up the Hudson was fabulous, great day out with a great bunch of people. I would recommend that people bring your own food!!! The food at the Oktoberfest was horrible, long lines, cold food, dirty picnic tables. However, the fall secenary, the lake, music, dancing, people and beer made up for the difference. The folks running the cruise were fabulous too - just save yourself the headache and bring your own food, they allow coolers on the cruise so stock up for this all day fun filled event!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

very nice trip,fullfilled my expectations

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Overall good experience. The Octoberfest helped make the time at Bear Mountain special...numerous booths, food and music. We had read previous reviews and took our own lunch, thus avoiding the lines for food and giving us enough time to wander the grounds and ride the Merry-Go-Round (yes, adults can ride, too). Our weather was beautiful, but the boat moves at a good clip, so be prepared for the wind if sitting outside. One suggestion, more narrative of the sites along the river, and history of the area, would have been nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Funny and well organized. The weather was fantastic and the tour guide very pleasant. The only problem was the disembarkation, slow and not at all easy due to the flooded pier.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Lovely cruise and beautiful spot. The noise and focus of the 'Octoberfest' was disappointing and incongrous in such a marvellous setting.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Well worth a visit really enjoyed the day out, the views are just beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

It was a great relaxing trip. The views of the river were spectacular and Bear Mtn was a great place to get away from the city for a while.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The Cruise itself was great, however, the land portion was misadvertised. There was no Oktoberfest, no place to eat, other than a hot dog at the carousel, and the were no signs point the way to anything. My wife and I were expecting the little village with arts, crafts, and plenty of places to eat. Bear Mountain was deserted except for the cruise crowd. Oktoberfest was advertsied to have been extended to October 31. That was disappointing.

John Michael C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Weather not very good, but scenery spectacular- would recommend.

Kenneth P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Enyoyed the trip up the river, pleasant to be away from the hustle & bustle of the city for a day.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

This was a really great event. If you're looking for something low key with a bunch of your friends in a outdoor space, this is an ideal situation for you. The beer was good and the food was decent. As the place fills up the food line gets pretty long, so get your food earlier in the day. As for the boat ride, there is both and upstairs and downstairs seating area. The deck upstairs has an outdoor seating area as well. The ride is exactly 2.5 hours one way, so bring some cards.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I loved the experience. The tour operator was detailed in his information and gave a lot of facts about the surrounding. I love Bear Mountain and the boat ride was a nice experience. On the downside it was a little overcrowded and on a cold day, did not have enough room indoors for the people to sit.

John M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Very enjoyable. The lake at Bear Mountain was beautiful and so peaceful. The Ocktoberfest was fun. The cruise vessel was sufficiently comfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Wonderful trip, we had a great time. The cruise down the Hudson is the best part, I learned more about NY in those few hours than what I knew from living here my entire life. Scenery is postcard pretty bring a camera and take many pictures. The circle line is a bit worn, I suggest you bring a sweater and blanket and your own food. The food was the worst part and highly overpriced, I'm talking 4 for a hot dog. Be prepared for alot of uphill walking once you arrive at Bear Mountain. The Oktoberfest requires a hike and is pretty boring but you will appreciate the 20 beer once you get there. All in all an enjoyable day excursion, more for couples than family, alot of places to snuggle with a fiery fall backdrop. Bring your camera and again pack your own lunch, and possibly a chair cushion, the seats on the circle line are hard.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I enjoyed the day out on the Hudson; any time of year would be nice on the Hudson. My only disappointment was there really were no fall colors to be seen, and it being a fall cruise, I had hoped to see more colors. Obviously no one is to blame here; this year had a long summer. I guess I would have taken the cruise in November instead of October to see more colors, but the cruises stop in October.

So all in all, it was nice, perhaps a little more time at Bear Mountain. Why are prices always so expensive for drinks on boats? Surely profit can be made with lower prices for coffee, water, etc. Beer actually seemed to be the best thing to buy for most people; I saw quite a few people buying it.

One last thing, which bears on the staff of the tour operator. The attendants at the shop were far from friendly; in fact, one woman really looked like she hated her job and wished no more customers would annoy her!! It's a customer service job, and if they don't like the job, why are they hired in the first place? And better still, why don't they quit if they really don't want to be friendly and helpful to passengers?

From USD $ 59.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2800BMC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message