4 star rating: Recommended 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Circle Line: Bear Mountain Full-Day Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

It was just a Boat Ride up the river which takes about 2hrs up and 2 hrs back and the mountain climb is almost straight up for a mile. If you have any kind of disability you can't get to the top. Coming down was easy, all you had to do was run. I got to the top but will never do this trip again, I will go to Ellis Island instead.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The landing at bear park was cancelled, because we we leaving we could not change to the next weekend.Six hours was a long time to stay on boat.Food available not worth buying, by end of trip we were very hungry

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

Crew referred to Bear Mountain as a slight incline---It is a very steep climb. Also, it was very difficult to get from the boat to the mountain because of flooding which we were assured would not be there when we returned to the boat. The flooding was worse when we came back to the boat.. We had to climb and walk on the bottom slat of a fence to get to a narrow cement path. Perhaps the tour operator can do nothing about the flooding, however, they should provide som sort of ramp over the flooded area so we don't have to climb fences. Also, upon exiting the boat in New York there was only one narrow ramp, so the exiting took forever. Also, no safety procedures were never presented on board. Isn't that required by law? All in all, I am very disappointed with the operator.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The boat and crew were great. The Oktoberfest was a farce. One guy on stage playing an accordian, 3 vendors and a single so-so food vendor. The directions to the Oktoberfest from the boat were really poor. A group of about 40 people wound up on a highway quite a distance from the Oktoberfest site because of poor directions. The boat portion of the trip was great. Fall foliage was beautiful even though it was raining. Forget the Oktoberfest.

Rosalind L
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Lovely day out and bear mountain resort was great. Awful problems getting on the ferry though, checking in is hectic and chaotic and the staff were so rude to people and gave the wrong information. It needs serious organization.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

We had 2 seniors in our party and the walk from the dock to the park was a real problem long uphill climb. Thought the Octoberfest was a dud. We would have been more happy with a tour of the river wo the stop at Bear Mountain not what we expected.

Ian H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

The views as you travel up the river Hudson are great but what we found very disappointing was that when we got to Bear Mountain we could not get off the boat because the jetty was flooded, given that the cruise up the river takes 3 hours I would have expected some to have pumped the water away by the time we got there - very disappointing and on our trip not value for money!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

The trip was okay, but first off, the boat was overloaded. My family and I didn't have much time to walk around, as we were limited to just two hours. The parking was promised to be twenty dollars on the Viator website, but in reality it was thirty.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

We were told a restaurant was open on Bear Mountain; it closed 3 years ago. We weren't told that there was a 2 hour layover on the mountain and the overpriced concession stand on the boat would be closed while there. We were told parking cost $20; it cost $30. The 8:30 departure actually left at 9:10.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

There should have been some kind of transportation from the boat to the Octoberfest at Bear Mountain. A lot of older people and people with baby carriages had a very hard time. I won't do this again or recommend it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

It was difficult to find answers to questions during the booking procedure. The registration process at boarding was convoluted. The three-and-a-half hour ride each way would have been more exciting had passengers been warned to bring entertainment, such as a deck of cards. We were told no food could be brought on board, yet there were no restrictions. At least having some food would have made the long ride less boring. There was no warning about the steep trail to the Oktoberfest area. Some passengers were physically unfit to make the walk and had to wait over two hours by the boat. A few adjustments and this could have been a much more enjoyable trip.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Bad organization.I do not recommend this.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Never thought the other travelers will do that journey just for drinking, from the 9.00 am till it ends at 05.30pm.
Not what I expected, just wanted to see the views and learn something, not even able to hear what the guide was explaining, the noise of the other travelers was horrible. I didn't get out because I dont know how to get to NY by my own.
Really bad

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Day of trip went to retrieve my tickets,took for ever to ...no explanation, finally on our way, went to pick our sandwiches, again another disaster none was there for us. Thankfully the person in charge of the canteen was very considerate and give us what she can to keep us going for the day. Dave our tour guide was great.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

It was the worst trip in my life. We were COMPLETELLY disappointed! They did NOT cancel the trip (to avoid money refund of course!), but they cancelled the mount walking! They had been keeping us on the boat for loooooooooooooooong exhausting 8 hours! 8 hours! 8 hours!!!

From USD $ 59.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2800BMC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message