• USD ($)
  • English

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 108 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Satisfied.The guide was perfect.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Loved the day, our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable just wish we had more time in Boston. We did find the drive was a bit much but still worth it.

MERCIA C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

It was a great day - just wish I could have stayed longer. There is so much to see in Boston. The bus was comfortable and guide was very knowledgeable.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

I think the trip in Boston city was very hurried. We did not have enough time to take photos or see some attractions!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The tour guide was well informed. The locations we were taken to were great. Loved Boston!!! However, we did not get back to New York until after 11p.m. It was an extremely long day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We got to see a lot - Harvard, MIT, Freedom Trail, Boston Common, Quincy Market, the USS Constitution, and drove through beautiful Connecticut. We had a very informative and entertaining host. It was a long day with a lot packed into it!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Day trip to see the campus of Harvard university and walking tour along the freedom trail in the city of boston. A chance to taste the seafood at the Quincy market.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The trip to Boston was amazing, loved the sites and experience. I cannot say the same for the abrasive tour director Joseph.
I asked a question about a large Baptist church near Harvard, he said 'there are lots of churches! I don't know what your talking about'!!
He galloped along from the bus drop of to Quincy's for lunch, said meet here, but he was actually in a different spot.
He told us on the trip back we were to watch "Casablanca" because it was the best movie ever made, he was asked why can't we see (Glory or similar) a movie relating to the history of Boston? He said people had requested this movie (ie: Joseph).
At the end we left $5 tip mainly for the driver, and told him he was very abrasive. He came of the bus and began questioning me and my husband as to what he did wrong, in the end we walked away.
I would go to Boston again tomorrow, BUT not with Joseph.!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The trip was very well organized but the guide could have been a bit more engaging.

Mark H
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

A really long day and the weather spoilt our first trip to Boston. It rained torrentially throughout. Nothing wrong with the trip but be prepared for traffic chaos in NYC and Boston. We had a mixed coach of language speakers meaning we had an English version and then an Italian version of everything. This got to be tedious.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This tour was too long. Too far away and too much time on the bus. What we did see of Boston was lovely and our tour guide - Nina was terrific. But i wouldn't recommend this as a day trip. Too much time on the bus.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This was an interesting excursion although I think I should have done a little more US history research. However, our tour guide was most informative and made the tour interesting. We seemed to have plenty of time at each location except at the Constitution stop where we only had about 5 minutes to look over the ship. The whole day was also very long; again I didn't realize that Boston is actually about 3 and a half hours from NY so the tour was about 15 hours. Still it was nice that someone else was doing the driving.

Anne W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Would of liked longer in Boston, not enough information giving by the tour guide, being an international tourist, would of liked to have known a little bit more about the place.
Didn't appreciate the smoking tour guide either, thought that was highly unprofessional, especially when she was talking to us and blowing smoke in our faces!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Boston was beautiful but 12 hours is a long day to spend less than 3 hours in Boston.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Luckily This Trip was Booked for Sunday 28th October before Sandy hit. Raining but had a good time enjoyed the Clam Chowder especially. had to be cut short as New York was beginning to shut down but guide assisted us advising us to get Take out in case the diners and Restaurants were closed when we got back to the city. Would have been a wonderful trip except for the weather and Sandy

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857BOS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message