3.5 star rating: Worth doing 120 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 120 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Peter M
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

Once again the bus used on this tour as in the Philadelphia tour was dirty, old and had obvious mechanical issues. The guide was sleezy and made inappropriate comments about toilet issues! Once again I would not recommend this tour company for this tour.

Vivian M
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

This tour got off badly with a bus not running correctly and the bus driver had to phone someone to get instructions on how to fix the bus. The tour guide appeared to pander to the wants of the people who wanted to shop at Boston Common than to the wants of the people who wanted to see the sights. Due to this certain sights appeared to have been missed. For sightseeing the trip to and from Boston was good. The tour of Boston could have been far better.

Karyn C
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

This tour was a little disappointing comapred with our trip to Washington. The mini bus that we travelled in wasn't really comfortable and I would have liked to have seen more of Boston. Another hour or two in Boston would have made a big difference.

Anne C
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

The luxury coach was nothing more than what someone else called a camper bus. Disgusting. Also the guide was out for a day for himself and not informative. Most disappointing when you pay so much and have looked forward to this trip for months.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

You spend most of the time on the road, and it can be crowded inside the van. Tour guides are very kind.

Adam W
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

The trip is good if you are into history. Even though he did show us a few good things and explained it, he could still have been better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

The trip to Boston was on time and efficient - however the driver and the tour guide were not native english speakers. It was a little odd touring one of America's greatest historical cities with tour guides that weren't American and had only learned of the history by reading the guide book. We did however, get another point of view which was interresting. I've been on tours at different locations around the world and the best ones utilized tour guides that were local experts rather than just anyone who could speak a bit of english and could read the guidebook.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

We did not see much of Boston. The guides also had to translate for two other non-English groups.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This is a nightmare. Our bus broke down after we arrived in cambridge...and before we started the freedom trail, we had to vacate the bus and wallk more than 2 kms. We have a kid with us, but since all of us were nice people, we opted to continue with the freedom trail. And after we headed to the market, we waited for 1 ans a half hours, just so they can figured it out...or to have a bus replacement for us to go back in ny, but the worst happen, we waited unti 630pm only to find out that they only have 1 van, that can accommodate 6 people. The rest would have to take the commuter bus from boston-ny, its chillin in biston and we waited for 4 hours in the cold...bad crisis management.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Disappointing. Thought there would be more on the history of Boston / war of independence. Tour guide didn't give much info and was hard to hear. Drive 4+ hours each way on bus to get about 3 hours in Boston. 1 hour of which is spent at food court. Don't bother.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Not good since we had booked an English tour and were on a tour with a German and Spanish guide !

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Firstly we were requested to confirm booking, wrong numbers or the person who answered the phone call had no idea what I was taking abut. I decided to go to meeting point a day earlier to see if there was an office, no office but I did find a different tour company and the gentleman gave us the information we needed. When we arrived the next morning for the tour , the guide was not interested one litte bit. The guide tour rushed through the tour and only gave information to the front of the group and never waited for the whole group to gather, this is the first time that this has happened to me. I felt all he wanted to do was get it over with, so he could smoke cigarettes. At one stage we were left behond at a crossing as the lights changed and we lost the the group, he had no idea we were missing. It was just by chance I guessed where the group went ( lucky guess). He was told but did not apologise or change his ways. It was rush rush so he could have his smokes. There was a young guide for a German couple and he was very helpful. The guide was very quick to ask for tips but we decided only to tip the young guide. I feel that this guide (main one) had no interest at all and did not want to be there. Great start to our New York experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

i regretted going for this tour. should have taken a train there, stayed a night and go around by myself. spent 8 hours on the bus and about 3-4 hours in boston itself. I do not understand why we need to pay US$100+ just for a bus ride. the freedom trail is free anyway and lunch was not provided. we had very limited time in harvard and quincy market and did not cover most of the freedom trail, which was the main highlght. could not really hear the guide well too cause group was too big. worst part of my entire US trip.

Paul J
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

This tour we booked rather than taking train from New York to Boston as we knew little about the City. When we got to Boston, it was an amazing city so full of history. It is a city I would love to go back to and explore further. Now the tour... The mini-bus ended up being a tour bus with 53 passengers. Not what was expected from booking. The tour was ran by two guides- one English speaking and one Italian. They were both lovely people, but the guidance was very unprofessional. The English guide was always forgetting the relevance of landmarks and mixing up significant historical figures names. He got things wromg on so many occasdions which i wad aware of, i had no confidence in what he was telling me was correct. The time at Cambridge Common after lunch did not occur as advised in the itinerary. At 1 point the other guide decided to stand in the middle of the group while smoking. On the way to Boston 8 bottles of oil were pumped into the bus as it was losing oil. We were advised it would get to Boston where it could then be looked at further. Luckily it did. The bus was in very poor shape with broken AC, arm rests etc. The windows were filthy preventing picture opportunities. Now the bad part. After travelling back from Boston for twenty minutes the bus breaks down. We were stranded for the next five hours waiting for a replacement bus. Management who the tour guides were in constant contact with obviously didn't care much. The guides tried their best. My advice... Take the train and get the hop-on and hop- off bus. Definitely the worst tour experience I have had.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2012

Unfortunately the tour was far from what was described in the tour description. Firstly we spent 15 minutes at Harvard and only went to the toilets there. We didnt even see the main buildings or the entrances. We didnt stop at MIT or cambridge, drove past quickly. We asked the tour guide and he said its not included when the tour desciption clearly says 'After lunch, (not included) at Quincy Market and a visit to Boston Common, you'll cross the Charles River to stroll in the squares of the universities of Cambridge, Harvard and MIT, before returning to New York.'
A visit of the universities was supposed to be included and was not. We were very keen to see the universities and was one of the reasons we bought the tour.
Also we did not see site of the famous Tea Party.
Our tour guide wasnt very approachable or accomodating. When we asked about seeing the sites listed on the tour description , we were merely shrugged off.
I am very disappointed and request a complete refund for myself and my 2 friends who booked this tour as we didnt get what we paid for.
service was poor. when i asked the tour guide where the famous Cheers bar was, he had no clue and pointed me to some other bar 'Mccormick' at Quincy market and said thats it. I asked the locals and found the cheers bar.
This is unacceptable to us.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2011

Do not wish to give even a single star. The tour started 45 minutes late. People were just left standing without a clue for delay. They could have offered coffee and cookies as the airlines do in case of delays. Everyone has tuned up early morning with breakfast. somehow a bus was arranged which was in no condition to be on road - the suspension was non-existent so it made us suffer through each and every slight bump on road. everyone had back ache by the time we reached Boston. The screws were falling from the panelling. AC stopped working and it was very hot during the journey. They had also grouped English and Italian speaking tours together so each sentence was broken in two languages during the commentary. All in all it was the worst experience ever.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

I was fairly unimpressed with our tour. Our tour guide never even introduced himself, and commenced the tour by telling us some facts about the UN building which we had been to the day before and so knew that what he was telling us was incorrect. The tour mainly revolved around the Guide and his driver fighting and we were constantly hustled from location to location with little commentary and what commentary was given was poor and difficult to understand. At the end of the tour the Guide tried to skip the last location and then gave an incredibly poor and nonsensical excuse to justify it. For what we paid, this tour was not very satisfying.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

This is one of the worst tours I've taken in my life. There were 2 guides with us but they spoke mostly spanish and were not very attentive to the English speaking passengers. They also appeared not to know their history very well or maybe they just couldn't communicate it in English. They were definitely not native English speakers. We paid so much for the trip but got so little out of it. We should have just stayed in New York and enjoyed it a bit more. We hardly saw Boston, did not get to hear much of the history and the guides were not knowledgeable nor very helpful. We wanted to ask for a refund but just did not have the energy to do so at the end of the trip. It's so bad I can't even bring myself to rate a 1* but ask the spanish speaking passengers and I'm sure they will give a much different rating.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

Poor excursion - the operator not Viator - with foreign guide and driver who didn't know their way, and were mainly interested in getting their tips. Bus was dirty and old. Poor explanations - mostly in languages other than English. Very disappointing. Go with another company.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

The lead tour guide was 20 minutes late, without apology or introduction once she arrived. The tour guides provided little factual information and were not able to answer simple questions about the historical sites we were touring. The tour guides were rude, hard to understand and often gave inaccurate information. The tour stops were short in duration and lacked the historical explanation insight desired when visiting this American iconic city. The tour guides would often set meeting times and consistently arrive late. We would never recommend this tour.

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857BOS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message