• USD ($)
  • English

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Was a good trip bit long to get there and back over 4 hours each way. The tour guide however was not that good, she spent all the time talking to a Spanish couple in Spanish and when I asked her a question she was very short with me. Would not do the dy trip again but would rather stay overnight.

Les
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

the tour great, the tour company, hopeless.not the best day as it rained most of the day. this tour needs at least another hour or 2 in Boston.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

This trip is "worth doing", if you want to get a quick glimpse of Boston. I wish we had more time for lunch and extra time at Quincy Market or just to walk around Boston. The ride home was good- we went on a Sunday so the traffic wasn't too bad.

GLI
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Bit rushed but if you've only got a limited amount of time, Boston is worth a visit.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

A long trip from New York but a nice place to spend a few hours and see if you want to go back and spend a few days there.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

For the money spent and the time involved, I don't think we saw very much of Boston at all. While the 'free time' spent at Harvard Uni was great, and the walk along part of the Freedom Trail was interesting, I didn't think it was necessary to spend nearly 1.5 hours at the Quincy Market! Perhaps we could have seen more of Boston, or spent time at Fenwick Park (instead of simply driving past on our way out of Boston!) as an alternative to wasting a great deal of the tour at the one location - especially when that location is basically a long food-hall with a couple of novelty shops along the outside. Also, I think Viator should be more careful about the tour guides they select... The English-speaking guide we had on this tour was terrible - he told us absolutely nothing about any of the landmarks on the way to or from Boston, and actually seemed annoyed that he had to deal with us during most of the trip. His manner bordered on rude for most of the day. On the flip side to this, I sat next to the Spanish-speaking guide who spoke to his guests most of the way home, and from the little amount of Spanish I know, seemed to be telling them interesting facts about both New York and Boston. FYI - I was not the only person on our tour who was extremely disappointed with this tour. Perhaps next time Viator can double-check whether the tour guide has any interest in dealing with the public, or in his/her subject matter! Also, would it kill Viator to perhaps provide all tour members with a bottle of chilled water and a map of the tour destination?!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

My sisters and I had a terrible Tour Guide - Joseph !! The Tour itself was really nice, clean bus, lovely bus drivers (we had two) and enough comfort stops etc. But there were quite a few elderly people on our bus and Joseph rushed the whole day, would not let people stop to take photographs and was quite rude to anyone who asked questions. We found him to be quite arrogant and compared to any other tours we have done with you, not a good communicator (we felt we could have gotten more information from a travel brochure). The tour itself would have been fabulous, had we had a different guide. His heart was not in it, and he merely went through the motions, and then at the end of the day, started to try and smile so he would get his tip. Well he didn't get one from many on our bus. Loved Boston and the Trip, disliked him immensely, sadly.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Good value trip, however felt very rushed, minimal time in the locations, were delayed twice by the driver arriving back late then forgetting his phone, so having to travel back a distance. Tour was generally good, however the guides not brilliant, rather patronising at times.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

It was an OK Trip - going to Harvard was pointless - just saw buildings - maybe allowing a tour of MIT maybe better

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Coach punctual and driver very good, but guide needs to brush up on his history. Claimed the story of Pocahontas and Captain York was true. It was Pocahontas and Captain SMITH. Also stated the capital of Connecticut is Harrisburg when it is in fact HARTFORD.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Review of the Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York over Labor Day Weekend.
Positives: Bus was on time, bus ride was smooth and fast probably because it was the Sunday of Labor Day weekend, Bus driver and tour guide were friendly.
Negatives: When we arrived in the morning to embark, they directed us to the English speaking tour guided bus but when the tour started the guide spoke in English and also translated in Spanish. Also there was a smaller group of 5-6 people in the rows in front of us who had a tour guide that would translate in Italian so all of these languages were being spoken on the "english speaking" bus. When we arrived in Boston, we were given just a few moments to stop and take pictures at the main sites such as Harvard University. The tour guide would walk along the street in downtown Boston without paying attention to whether the group was following or if people were keeping up. At one point, I stopped to take a photo and the group had trailed off and turned a corner and I was trying to keep up without getting lost. The tour guide didn't seem to care if someone fell behind or got lost along the way. On the ride back, we had a 30 min bathroom stop which made no sense since we didn't need that much time for a pit stop. The best part of the tour was the 1.5 hours given at lunch near Quincy Market where you could actually go off on your own without the group and explore. They also took us onto the USS Constitution and we were able to take a lot of photos there.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

This is the second time I've done this tour in a year (last time with my husband) as my best friend really wanted to see Boston and after doing research it seemed to be the best option for a day trip.

Some things were better this time such as the guide (he didn't wander off and lose half the people). He was funny and made sure the group could listen.

Unfortunately though the trip was mostly disappointing. The bus was 45 minutes late in the morning and it would seem that they just cut our boston time short to make up for it. We had hardly any time at Harvard and it was VERY rushed. My friend was especially disappointed as Harvard was the main part of this trip she was looking forward to.

I am regretting booking this trip a second time (especially as the first time wasn't amazing either). Yes we were in and out in 1 day but it just wasn't worth it. For anyone interested in going to Boston I would suggest not trying to do it in one day. It would be best to actually stay in Boston at least overnight and taking the time to enjoy this very beautiful and interesting city.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Enter your review here.Hi The Boston trip was a real rush. practically 10 hours of driving up and down and 2 hours of visiting. not worth it. Also combined with Spanish and Italian passengers so had to listen to a non-stop drone as attractive as both languages are!,, also the guide made very macho comments and was not particularly nice. Would not give it more than 1 star.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Chaos at the departure point, Washington and Boston groups all mixed up, the guides had problems putting the right people in the right busses, that caused delays. The Time in Harvard was 20 minutes, in Boston Center 1 hour including lunchtime (waiting line at the restrooms alone was 20 minutes!!), at the Boston harbor another 20 minutes, so it was a total of 1.5 hours sightseeing incl. lunch and about 10 hours in the bus. I booked the Boston tour that offers also Whale watching, because I thought while the others are watching whales we would have these 3 hours in the city instead, but no. I would rather have gone to Boston by myself without a rushing guide. Not a good choice to book this tour.

Note from Viator: We are following up with our local supplier based on your feedback. Thanks for alerting us to this issue. Your feedback is a critical part in our ability to ensure a quality experience from our local suppliers.

Matti P
Finland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2011

It was OK, but not more..
Departure was delayed about 30mins, because we waited somenone, who came up...
Bus OK with restroom.

Should have more time in Boston, which is absolutely fantastic city, speacially Beacon Hill. When havin lunch at Quincy Market it all the time (1hour). Dis not have time enough to see the nice shops.

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857BOS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message