3.5 star rating: Worth doing 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Boston was beautiful but 12 hours is a long day to spend less than 3 hours in Boston.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Luckily This Trip was Booked for Sunday 28th October before Sandy hit. Raining but had a good time enjoyed the Clam Chowder especially. had to be cut short as New York was beginning to shut down but guide assisted us advising us to get Take out in case the diners and Restaurants were closed when we got back to the city. Would have been a wonderful trip except for the weather and Sandy

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

A good way to see an overview of Boston. Good value for money

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Long trip which didn't start well with the bus over half hour late arriving. Guide was very knowledgeable and made the trip interesting. Not enough time yo ourselves in Boston. Only had about 90 mins free time in which to have lunch and explore the city - this wasn't enough! We got caught up in rush hour traffic on the way back and when we stopped for the drivers break it was at a place that didn't have any food outlets.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Bus was very cold could not relax it was freezing

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Good trip....too much travel!

Zerrin S
Turkey

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

The Boston was an amazing city: Our guide Beatrix and driver Tommy were an excellent team. Actually in the morning, we did not start the day so nice. The Travel Agency who provides the tour in NY did overbooking and about 25 people had to wait for second bus for 2 hours. We were told to be at the meeting point at 6:45 am and would leave at 7:00 am. But we left the city at 9:00am. Sorry, but when many people came, The tour operators were in a panic how to put us to the buses. Anddd no second bus... In the morning the wheather was too cold. It was terrible. After then, Our guide Beatrix was a luck for us. She was excellent and very proffessional. Because of her we spend really nice day with them. But the Organization is too poor to be honest...

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Was a good trip bit long to get there and back over 4 hours each way. The tour guide however was not that good, she spent all the time talking to a Spanish couple in Spanish and when I asked her a question she was very short with me. Would not do the dy trip again but would rather stay overnight.

Les
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

the tour great, the tour company, hopeless.not the best day as it rained most of the day. this tour needs at least another hour or 2 in Boston.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

This trip is "worth doing", if you want to get a quick glimpse of Boston. I wish we had more time for lunch and extra time at Quincy Market or just to walk around Boston. The ride home was good- we went on a Sunday so the traffic wasn't too bad.

GLI
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Bit rushed but if you've only got a limited amount of time, Boston is worth a visit.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

A long trip from New York but a nice place to spend a few hours and see if you want to go back and spend a few days there.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

For the money spent and the time involved, I don't think we saw very much of Boston at all. While the 'free time' spent at Harvard Uni was great, and the walk along part of the Freedom Trail was interesting, I didn't think it was necessary to spend nearly 1.5 hours at the Quincy Market! Perhaps we could have seen more of Boston, or spent time at Fenwick Park (instead of simply driving past on our way out of Boston!) as an alternative to wasting a great deal of the tour at the one location - especially when that location is basically a long food-hall with a couple of novelty shops along the outside. Also, I think Viator should be more careful about the tour guides they select... The English-speaking guide we had on this tour was terrible - he told us absolutely nothing about any of the landmarks on the way to or from Boston, and actually seemed annoyed that he had to deal with us during most of the trip. His manner bordered on rude for most of the day. On the flip side to this, I sat next to the Spanish-speaking guide who spoke to his guests most of the way home, and from the little amount of Spanish I know, seemed to be telling them interesting facts about both New York and Boston. FYI - I was not the only person on our tour who was extremely disappointed with this tour. Perhaps next time Viator can double-check whether the tour guide has any interest in dealing with the public, or in his/her subject matter! Also, would it kill Viator to perhaps provide all tour members with a bottle of chilled water and a map of the tour destination?!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

My sisters and I had a terrible Tour Guide - Joseph !! The Tour itself was really nice, clean bus, lovely bus drivers (we had two) and enough comfort stops etc. But there were quite a few elderly people on our bus and Joseph rushed the whole day, would not let people stop to take photographs and was quite rude to anyone who asked questions. We found him to be quite arrogant and compared to any other tours we have done with you, not a good communicator (we felt we could have gotten more information from a travel brochure). The tour itself would have been fabulous, had we had a different guide. His heart was not in it, and he merely went through the motions, and then at the end of the day, started to try and smile so he would get his tip. Well he didn't get one from many on our bus. Loved Boston and the Trip, disliked him immensely, sadly.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Good value trip, however felt very rushed, minimal time in the locations, were delayed twice by the driver arriving back late then forgetting his phone, so having to travel back a distance. Tour was generally good, however the guides not brilliant, rather patronising at times.

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857BOS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message