Insider's Guide to New York City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 133 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Lynda F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

A long trip from New York but a nice place to spend a few hours and see if you want to go back and spend a few days there.

anjanita

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

It was not well organized

George G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

For several reasons, this tour was very disappointing. To start with, my husband and I were seated in the two front seats on the right side of the bus and thought we'd have an excellent view of everything. But as it turned out, the tour guide set himself up DIRECTLY in front of my husband so it was impossible for him to see anything. When he mentioned this to the tour guide, he perched himself on the arm rest for the rest of the trip, but that really didn't help. On the way to Boston, the bus driver was very distracted. We saw him text on his phone and several times it looked like he was having a hard time staying awake! He even splashed water in his face at one point!!! We did enjoy walking through Harvard. The campus was beautiful. Walking the Freedom Trail was a bit disappointing. It seemed very rushed and we never really got to spend any time at any of the historic spots. But on the up side, the tour guide gave us a lot of interesting information about each site. Another positive thing was that we had plenty of time when we got to the area for our meal stop. There were lots of choices and my husband was very happy when he found a place that sold lobster rolls. We were able to walk around and check out all the shops too. In our opinion, the trip to the USS Constitution was a waste of time because it wasn't open so we only saw the ship from a distance. Then, on the way back to NYC there was a lot of confusion about the best route to take. The bus driver a different one wanted to go one way, but the tour guides told him to take a different route. They all got very tense with one another and it seemed very unprofessional to us. We felt bad for the bus drive as he seemed to know what he was doing, but deferred to the tour guides and we ended up in a ton of traffic. We were bummed that our trip to Boston didn't measure up to what we had anticipated, especially since the Viator tour we took to Washington DC was so enjoyable!

Nicole S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

For the money spent and the time involved, I don't think we saw very much of Boston at all. While the 'free time' spent at Harvard Uni was great, and the walk along part of the Freedom Trail was interesting, I didn't think it was necessary to spend nearly 1.5 hours at the Quincy Market! Perhaps we could have seen more of Boston, or spent time at Fenwick Park (instead of simply driving past on our way out of Boston!) as an alternative to wasting a great deal of the tour at the one location - especially when that location is basically a long food-hall with a couple of novelty shops along the outside. Also, I think Viator should be more careful about the tour guides they select... The English-speaking guide we had on this tour was terrible - he told us absolutely nothing about any of the landmarks on the way to or from Boston, and actually seemed annoyed that he had to deal with us during most of the trip. His manner bordered on rude for most of the day. On the flip side to this, I sat next to the Spanish-speaking guide who spoke to his guests most of the way home, and from the little amount of Spanish I know, seemed to be telling them interesting facts about both New York and Boston. FYI - I was not the only person on our tour who was extremely disappointed with this tour. Perhaps next time Viator can double-check whether the tour guide has any interest in dealing with the public, or in his/her subject matter! Also, would it kill Viator to perhaps provide all tour members with a bottle of chilled water and a map of the tour destination?!

Jane G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

My sisters and I had a terrible Tour Guide - Joseph !! The Tour itself was really nice, clean bus, lovely bus drivers (we had two) and enough comfort stops etc. But there were quite a few elderly people on our bus and Joseph rushed the whole day, would not let people stop to take photographs and was quite rude to anyone who asked questions. We found him to be quite arrogant and compared to any other tours we have done with you, not a good communicator (we felt we could have gotten more information from a travel brochure). The tour itself would have been fabulous, had we had a different guide. His heart was not in it, and he merely went through the motions, and then at the end of the day, started to try and smile so he would get his tip. Well he didn't get one from many on our bus. Loved Boston and the Trip, disliked him immensely, sadly.

Mr ga K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Good value trip, however felt very rushed, minimal time in the locations, were delayed twice by the driver arriving back late then forgetting his phone, so having to travel back a distance. Tour was generally good, however the guides not brilliant, rather patronising at times.

lolo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

It was an OK Trip - going to Harvard was pointless - just saw buildings - maybe allowing a tour of MIT maybe better

ann o

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Coach punctual and driver very good, but guide needs to brush up on his history. Claimed the story of Pocahontas and Captain York was true. It was Pocahontas and Captain SMITH. Also stated the capital of Connecticut is Harrisburg when it is in fact HARTFORD.

Anjali P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Review of the Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York over Labor Day Weekend.
Positives: Bus was on time, bus ride was smooth and fast probably because it was the Sunday of Labor Day weekend, Bus driver and tour guide were friendly.
Negatives: When we arrived in the morning to embark, they directed us to the English speaking tour guided bus but when the tour started the guide spoke in English and also translated in Spanish. Also there was a smaller group of 5-6 people in the rows in front of us who had a tour guide that would translate in Italian so all of these languages were being spoken on the "english speaking" bus. When we arrived in Boston, we were given just a few moments to stop and take pictures at the main sites such as Harvard University. The tour guide would walk along the street in downtown Boston without paying attention to whether the group was following or if people were keeping up. At one point, I stopped to take a photo and the group had trailed off and turned a corner and I was trying to keep up without getting lost. The tour guide didn't seem to care if someone fell behind or got lost along the way. On the ride back, we had a 30 min bathroom stop which made no sense since we didn't need that much time for a pit stop. The best part of the tour was the 1.5 hours given at lunch near Quincy Market where you could actually go off on your own without the group and explore. They also took us onto the USS Constitution and we were able to take a lot of photos there.

kristydoll

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

This is the second time I've done this tour in a year (last time with my husband) as my best friend really wanted to see Boston and after doing research it seemed to be the best option for a day trip.

Some things were better this time such as the guide (he didn't wander off and lose half the people). He was funny and made sure the group could listen.

Unfortunately though the trip was mostly disappointing. The bus was 45 minutes late in the morning and it would seem that they just cut our boston time short to make up for it. We had hardly any time at Harvard and it was VERY rushed. My friend was especially disappointed as Harvard was the main part of this trip she was looking forward to.

I am regretting booking this trip a second time (especially as the first time wasn't amazing either). Yes we were in and out in 1 day but it just wasn't worth it. For anyone interested in going to Boston I would suggest not trying to do it in one day. It would be best to actually stay in Boston at least overnight and taking the time to enjoy this very beautiful and interesting city.

Thierry G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Enter your review here.Hi The Boston trip was a real rush. practically 10 hours of driving up and down and 2 hours of visiting. not worth it. Also combined with Spanish and Italian passengers so had to listen to a non-stop drone as attractive as both languages are!,, also the guide made very macho comments and was not particularly nice. Would not give it more than 1 star.

Matti P Finland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2011

It was OK, but not more..
Departure was delayed about 30mins, because we waited somenone, who came up...
Bus OK with restroom.

Should have more time in Boston, which is absolutely fantastic city, speacially Beacon Hill. When havin lunch at Quincy Market it all the time (1hour). Dis not have time enough to see the nice shops.

David T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

Not very good value for money. Bus was uncomfortable and ageing. Tour guide was very helpful and informative though which added to the experience.

Peter M Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

Once again the bus used on this tour as in the Philadelphia tour was dirty, old and had obvious mechanical issues. The guide was sleezy and made inappropriate comments about toilet issues! Once again I would not recommend this tour company for this tour.

Vivian M Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

This tour got off badly with a bus not running correctly and the bus driver had to phone someone to get instructions on how to fix the bus. The tour guide appeared to pander to the wants of the people who wanted to shop at Boston Common than to the wants of the people who wanted to see the sights. Due to this certain sights appeared to have been missed. For sightseeing the trip to and from Boston was good. The tour of Boston could have been far better.

Karyn C Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

This tour was a little disappointing comapred with our trip to Washington. The mini bus that we travelled in wasn't really comfortable and I would have liked to have seen more of Boston. Another hour or two in Boston would have made a big difference.

Anne C Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

The luxury coach was nothing more than what someone else called a camper bus. Disgusting. Also the guide was out for a day for himself and not informative. Most disappointing when you pay so much and have looked forward to this trip for months.

Santiago A Mexico

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

You spend most of the time on the road, and it can be crowded inside the van. Tour guides are very kind.

Adam W United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

The trip is good if you are into history. Even though he did show us a few good things and explained it, he could still have been better.

MICHELLE D USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

The trip to Boston was on time and efficient - however the driver and the tour guide were not native english speakers. It was a little odd touring one of America's greatest historical cities with tour guides that weren't American and had only learned of the history by reading the guide book. We did however, get another point of view which was interresting. I've been on tours at different locations around the world and the best ones utilized tour guides that were local experts rather than just anyone who could speak a bit of english and could read the guidebook.

Edgar T USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

We did not see much of Boston. The guides also had to translate for two other non-English groups.

epdeguzman

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This is a nightmare. Our bus broke down after we arrived in cambridge...and before we started the freedom trail, we had to vacate the bus and wallk more than 2 kms. We have a kid with us, but since all of us were nice people, we opted to continue with the freedom trail. And after we headed to the market, we waited for 1 ans a half hours, just so they can figured it out...or to have a bus replacement for us to go back in ny, but the worst happen, we waited unti 630pm only to find out that they only have 1 van, that can accommodate 6 people. The rest would have to take the commuter bus from boston-ny, its chillin in biston and we waited for 4 hours in the cold...bad crisis management.

James M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Disappointing. Thought there would be more on the history of Boston / war of independence. Tour guide didn't give much info and was hard to hear. Drive 4+ hours each way on bus to get about 3 hours in Boston. 1 hour of which is spent at food court. Don't bother.

Lops

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Not good since we had booked an English tour and were on a tour with a German and Spanish guide !

RUGBYDOLLS

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Firstly we were requested to confirm booking, wrong numbers or the person who answered the phone call had no idea what I was taking abut. I decided to go to meeting point a day earlier to see if there was an office, no office but I did find a different tour company and the gentleman gave us the information we needed. When we arrived the next morning for the tour , the guide was not interested one litte bit. The guide tour rushed through the tour and only gave information to the front of the group and never waited for the whole group to gather, this is the first time that this has happened to me. I felt all he wanted to do was get it over with, so he could smoke cigarettes. At one stage we were left behond at a crossing as the lights changed and we lost the the group, he had no idea we were missing. It was just by chance I guessed where the group went ( lucky guess). He was told but did not apologise or change his ways. It was rush rush so he could have his smokes. There was a young guide for a German couple and he was very helpful. The guide was very quick to ask for tips but we decided only to tip the young guide. I feel that this guide (main one) had no interest at all and did not want to be there. Great start to our New York experience.

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 169.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857BOS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message