Insider's Guide to New York City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

A great day out despite the weather turning foul on the return. The Hudson is a magnificent waterway for cruising and Bear Mountain is a great destination. The Oktoberfest Festival at Bear Mountain was a lovely feature, but the walk around Hessian Lake with the fall colors at their height was truly a highlight. Highly recommended.

ROGER J United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Wonderfully relaxing day.

Maria R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

I would recommend everyone this trip but probably by the end the October when you can really see the foliage change. There was also a plus in my trip which was the ocktoberfest at the park "I enjoyed it like crazy". Aboard everybody was so nice and helpful, especially the tour guide was a great help! One thing do not take too many things with you so you can fully enjoy this experience without carrying too many things. The cruise also was brand new just 2 weeks old which made "THE difference".

GLADYS C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Last time I took this trip was 31 years ago for my senior trip, and at that age you don't realize the history and the beautiful scenery that the Hudson River has. It was a rainy day, but our captain made the best of it; we were told the history of some things that were important, and we had music plus his jokes in between had us laughing. We could not get off at our destination, but we went further up the Hudson, and I personally was happy I got to see West Point and a few more historic places. Can't wait to do it again. I was still able to capture some beautiful pictures even thought it was rainy and foggy.

Frank E Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

A good chance to recreate oneself after a whole week in New York City! The Bear Mountains are a really nice place.

Stephanie C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

We had a wonderful time and it was perfect! We will do it again next year!

Chong C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Well planned and meticulously executed. The timing of the tour was excellent, catching the beauty of the fall foliage.

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Loved it. Beautiful relaxing day.

Zulkifli M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful place. If only it does not take 2.5 hours one way to the Bear Mountain via cruise so technically you will spend more time on the cruise both ways than at the Bear Mountain itself.

If you don't consider the journey duration, the view and the surroundings are worth the duration.

J M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Pleasant ride out and enjoyed the guide pointing out things along the way. Oktoberfest was fun but got a bit crowded.

Jillian C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Enjoyed the trip, however as we are not beer drinker's we found the return trip especially to be one big beer feast.

Annette Mari S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was beautiful scenery, my only comments there was a gentleman on board to tell you all about where you are going etc , we couldn't make out what was being said only small parts hugs mic wasn't load enough, this is something I would gave liked to hear ,from the bits I did hear was fab ,things that are not in the guid books :(
It was a party boat as we found out it was the last weekend of festival so all New Yorkers were on there way up river to party ,it would have been nice to have been pre warned especially for those with young children .

dtcaulfield

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We had a great day. The food at Octoberfest was extremely poor! Everything was great!

russell z

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The PA system was not audible on the main seating area.

VANESSA A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My sister and I had a good time, kind of surprised by all the drinking so early.

Nicole C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Amazing views and something different for NYers to do at a different but just as enjoyable pace. The advice from other people's reviews were spot on(bring blanket and your own liquor). Everyone was so friendly. Only rec is to add an extra hr to the time at bear mountain.

babu t

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Beautiful,scenic trip and lovely weather too

Debbie

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

We very much enjoyed this trip up the Hudson to Bear Mountain. The narration on they way up was interesting. The sound system could use some improvement. I have good hearing and did not have any trouble understanding what was said, but others struggled. The October Fest at Bear Mountain was fun.

patricia d

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Was a nice relaxing and informatice trip. Even thought there were a few that had too much to drink. they did not ruin the trip for us.

Ivy T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Trip was well organized. The boat is as expected, nothing fancy but fairly clean and comfortable. Restroom can use some update and cleaning. The trip is worth the discounted price but not full price though.

Dolores G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Boat trip - October Festival was most enjoyable - a fun way to spend a day.

rvijaysubs

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Great tour, 3 hour long drive from the hustle bustle of NY. You get to spend 3 hours there.

Sue W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The Bear Mountain Cruise was a wonderful day out. It's a wonderful location with great walks. We were there for Oktoberfest, so there were stalls selling food, drink and crafts, which really added to the fun of the day. Everything ran smoothly and the views along the river were a reminder that taking even a short trip out of New York City gives you a whole new perspective. I can highly recommend it!

Schirley F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very relaxing... beautiful landscape! By the end of October should be more colorful...

Diane F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

The cruise up the Hudson was fabulous, great day out with a great bunch of people. I would recommend that people bring your own food!!! The food at the Oktoberfest was horrible, long lines, cold food, dirty picnic tables. However, the fall secenary, the lake, music, dancing, people and beer made up for the difference. The folks running the cruise were fabulous too - just save yourself the headache and bring your own food, they allow coolers on the cruise so stock up for this all day fun filled event!!

Viewing 2 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 65.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2800BMC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message