Insider's Guide to New York City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Janice L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The trip was worth doing to a certain extent. The Hudson Valley was beautiful. The Guide on this trip however was a real disappointment. After his introductory spiel on departure he spent the remainder of the time partying with his friends and totally ignored the paying passengers. I found out nothing new. The three stars are for the pretty trees. Should have taken a ferry - cheaper and just as informative.

Nicky

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

We struck beautiful weather the day we went and the qutumn colours were really coming out by end of October. The actual boat trip was nearer to 3 hours each way which we found too long, but if youi enjoy sitting and watching the scenery go by for that long it isnt an issue. Would not be relaxing trying to amuse kids for that long. Our primary goal was doing photography once we got there, and we had a lovely time walking around the lake and getting out our tripods. The climb up from the boat may be difficult for elderly people and those with prams. The Octoberfest was extremely underwhelming and the stalls were full of the most horrid tacky merchandise. Overall if you have a good amount of time in New York and want a day out of the city its a nice thing to do.

Colin G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Really lovely at Bear Mountain but travel time is just too long and doesnt leave enough time to enjoy the mountain.

Mallory H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Trip was very nice with one exception - the tiring climb to the mountain top. We made it panting, but we felt sorry for the lame or badly out of shape who weren't given specific warning that it's a hard climb for them.

Charles M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The best part was the voice over narrator who told so many interesting facts about the Hudson and NYC. He was an outstanding speaker and personality. It made the whole journey worthwhile. Unfortunately the color of foliage was nothing special, and the Oktoberfest was tacky. The return trip was full of loud and drunken folks which kind of puts a damper on the surroundings. All in all, I'd give the trip a C.

Judy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

The boat trip was enjoyable. The foliage on both sides of the boat was breathtaking. The tour guide on the trip did a great job at pointing out landmarks on the way. Bear Mountain itself was awash in Autumn colors. The only unpleasant issue was the long line for any decent food at Bear Mountain. I wish there was a restaurant that offered decent food in a relaxed atmosphere.

Barbara C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Overall the cruise was very good. Two suggestions: 1) Have security be more dilligent about keeping standing passengers from blocking the windows. The morbidly obese guard sat on his 'rear end' the entire trip. 2) please have parents utilize better discipline on their screaming brats or have a special section on the boat for children.

Phil W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Boat was full and very rowdy, a few load mouths ruined what should of been an interesting trip. Not able to hear the commentary due to these individuals. Should of left them behind when they did not return at the agreed departure time. Liked the history of the site. But did not manage to get to all of the fort

Harris S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

The trip was very nice. A great Family day trip! My only complaint would be the seating. The chairs were not very comfortable for 5 hours.

Dorothy N

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

While the trip was enjoyable there was an issue with water on the dock at Bear Mountain and we had to navigate by climbing on a wall, edging around a large light pole and walking on the wall till we passed the considerable amount of water, This was not pleasant for people with baby carriages, the infirm or the elderly. I also did not feel the narrator gave enough information on the sites we passed while cruising the Hudson River. The vessel was very clean and well maintained.

Vida H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

The return trip was spoiled by out of control young people who drank too much beer and behaved poorly. The staff wasn't able to control them. I suggest at least one security person to be on board where alcohol is served!

Kaitlyn H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The views were beautiful, however the staff was extremely slow and there was barely any German food on board which was weird. Other than that the overall idea of it was good, it just could have been better.

Veerle V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

I didn't know it was to celebrate 'oktoberfest'.
For the rest there was nothing much to see at destination.
Not worth the money.

John I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

It was just a Boat Ride up the river which takes about 2hrs up and 2 hrs back and the mountain climb is almost straight up for a mile. If you have any kind of disability you can't get to the top. Coming down was easy, all you had to do was run. I got to the top but will never do this trip again, I will go to Ellis Island instead.

Francine O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The landing at bear park was cancelled, because we we leaving we could not change to the next weekend.Six hours was a long time to stay on boat.Food available not worth buying, by end of trip we were very hungry

RENEE F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

Crew referred to Bear Mountain as a slight incline---It is a very steep climb. Also, it was very difficult to get from the boat to the mountain because of flooding which we were assured would not be there when we returned to the boat. The flooding was worse when we came back to the boat.. We had to climb and walk on the bottom slat of a fence to get to a narrow cement path. Perhaps the tour operator can do nothing about the flooding, however, they should provide som sort of ramp over the flooded area so we don't have to climb fences. Also, upon exiting the boat in New York there was only one narrow ramp, so the exiting took forever. Also, no safety procedures were never presented on board. Isn't that required by law? All in all, I am very disappointed with the operator.

Joseph L USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The boat and crew were great. The Oktoberfest was a farce. One guy on stage playing an accordian, 3 vendors and a single so-so food vendor. The directions to the Oktoberfest from the boat were really poor. A group of about 40 people wound up on a highway quite a distance from the Oktoberfest site because of poor directions. The boat portion of the trip was great. Fall foliage was beautiful even though it was raining. Forget the Oktoberfest.

Rosalind L United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Lovely day out and bear mountain resort was great. Awful problems getting on the ferry though, checking in is hectic and chaotic and the staff were so rude to people and gave the wrong information. It needs serious organization.

Sue W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

We had 2 seniors in our party and the walk from the dock to the park was a real problem long uphill climb. Thought the Octoberfest was a dud. We would have been more happy with a tour of the river wo the stop at Bear Mountain not what we expected.

Ian H United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

The views as you travel up the river Hudson are great but what we found very disappointing was that when we got to Bear Mountain we could not get off the boat because the jetty was flooded, given that the cruise up the river takes 3 hours I would have expected some to have pumped the water away by the time we got there - very disappointing and on our trip not value for money!

Lyudmila P USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

The trip was okay, but first off, the boat was overloaded. My family and I didn't have much time to walk around, as we were limited to just two hours. The parking was promised to be twenty dollars on the Viator website, but in reality it was thirty.

Jacky R USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

We were told a restaurant was open on Bear Mountain; it closed 3 years ago. We weren't told that there was a 2 hour layover on the mountain and the overpriced concession stand on the boat would be closed while there. We were told parking cost $20; it cost $30. The 8:30 departure actually left at 9:10.

Joseph B USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

There should have been some kind of transportation from the boat to the Octoberfest at Bear Mountain. A lot of older people and people with baby carriages had a very hard time. I won't do this again or recommend it.

Chris C USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

It was difficult to find answers to questions during the booking procedure. The registration process at boarding was convoluted. The three-and-a-half hour ride each way would have been more exciting had passengers been warned to bring entertainment, such as a deck of cards. We were told no food could be brought on board, yet there were no restrictions. At least having some food would have made the long ride less boring. There was no warning about the steep trail to the Oktoberfest area. Some passengers were physically unfit to make the walk and had to wait over two hours by the boat. A few adjustments and this could have been a much more enjoyable trip.

Donald K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Did not go on this tour. We purchased two tickets based on Viator's claim that we could reschedule if necessary. When I called to say we couldn't make the all day tour I was told there could be no changes. I will never book with Viator again.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 65.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2800BMC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message