4 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Circle Line: Bear Mountain Full-Day Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

This was a really great event. If you're looking for something low key with a bunch of your friends in a outdoor space, this is an ideal situation for you. The beer was good and the food was decent. As the place fills up the food line gets pretty long, so get your food earlier in the day. As for the boat ride, there is both and upstairs and downstairs seating area. The deck upstairs has an outdoor seating area as well. The ride is exactly 2.5 hours one way, so bring some cards.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I loved the experience. The tour operator was detailed in his information and gave a lot of facts about the surrounding. I love Bear Mountain and the boat ride was a nice experience. On the downside it was a little overcrowded and on a cold day, did not have enough room indoors for the people to sit.

John M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Very enjoyable. The lake at Bear Mountain was beautiful and so peaceful. The Ocktoberfest was fun. The cruise vessel was sufficiently comfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Wonderful trip, we had a great time. The cruise down the Hudson is the best part, I learned more about NY in those few hours than what I knew from living here my entire life. Scenery is postcard pretty bring a camera and take many pictures. The circle line is a bit worn, I suggest you bring a sweater and blanket and your own food. The food was the worst part and highly overpriced, I'm talking 4 for a hot dog. Be prepared for alot of uphill walking once you arrive at Bear Mountain. The Oktoberfest requires a hike and is pretty boring but you will appreciate the 20 beer once you get there. All in all an enjoyable day excursion, more for couples than family, alot of places to snuggle with a fiery fall backdrop. Bring your camera and again pack your own lunch, and possibly a chair cushion, the seats on the circle line are hard.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I enjoyed the day out on the Hudson; any time of year would be nice on the Hudson. My only disappointment was there really were no fall colors to be seen, and it being a fall cruise, I had hoped to see more colors. Obviously no one is to blame here; this year had a long summer. I guess I would have taken the cruise in November instead of October to see more colors, but the cruises stop in October.

So all in all, it was nice, perhaps a little more time at Bear Mountain. Why are prices always so expensive for drinks on boats? Surely profit can be made with lower prices for coffee, water, etc. Beer actually seemed to be the best thing to buy for most people; I saw quite a few people buying it.

One last thing, which bears on the staff of the tour operator. The attendants at the shop were far from friendly; in fact, one woman really looked like she hated her job and wished no more customers would annoy her!! It's a customer service job, and if they don't like the job, why are they hired in the first place? And better still, why don't they quit if they really don't want to be friendly and helpful to passengers?

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I enjoyed the trip, though I would have enjoyed a little more time at Bear Mountain. I was annoyed with the instructions on getting there early with the prepaid voucher. I arrived 45 minutes early as instructed, but the ticket window didn't open until a little after 8 o'clock and then moved extremely slowly. They didn't even start boarding people until after 8:30, by which time I had been there well over an hour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

The weather was absolutely lovely and the scenes breathtaking. It did seem rushed at Bear Mountain though as you arrive there at 1230 and we boarded ship at 245. It was nice because there was an Oktoberfest at Bear Mt but not enough time to enjoy it.

Lisa K
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

This cruise was very enjoyable. The view was scenic and the atmosphere was relaxed. The good thing about being on a cruise is that you can walk about on the boat and not sit cramped up like on a bus. I only wish that the line was shorter when we got the tickets.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The sightseeing boat tour was okay. The captain was great at explaining everything and the ride was smooth. But it was 3 hours each way. My only comments are that they were serving alcohol at 9 a.m. which just seemed "wrong" and people were clearly taking advantage. There was a good sized bathroom on the boat. Bear Mountain was awesome!! Loved it, however, they don't tell you on this website that you have to hike up the mountain from the boat just to get to the main area where the Octoberfest was. This was very tough for my dad who has bad knees and those who wore heels or uncomfortable shoes. Wished we were prepared for that. But the mountain was great. We did decide it was easier just to drive there though. Okay tour for a one time trip. Won't do it again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

I did not realize I was going to have to climb such a steep pathway just to get to the event. It was a nice cruise but I could not hear what the tour guide was saying. The festival was not as good as I had expected. I thought there would have been more craft and items from Germany as well as a better selection of food..

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Crowd was too young and rowdy to suit my tastes.
Wildlife zoo at Bear Mountain was interesting.
Not good on a rainy day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

too expensive for such a lousy tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

bad weather day but still enjoyable
guide was fine in NYC but knew nothing above Riverdale. More guided tour would pass the time.
tried to find out about preordered lunch but response came the day after the deadline.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The trip was worth doing to a certain extent. The Hudson Valley was beautiful. The Guide on this trip however was a real disappointment. After his introductory spiel on departure he spent the remainder of the time partying with his friends and totally ignored the paying passengers. I found out nothing new. The three stars are for the pretty trees. Should have taken a ferry - cheaper and just as informative.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

We struck beautiful weather the day we went and the qutumn colours were really coming out by end of October. The actual boat trip was nearer to 3 hours each way which we found too long, but if youi enjoy sitting and watching the scenery go by for that long it isnt an issue. Would not be relaxing trying to amuse kids for that long. Our primary goal was doing photography once we got there, and we had a lovely time walking around the lake and getting out our tripods. The climb up from the boat may be difficult for elderly people and those with prams. The Octoberfest was extremely underwhelming and the stalls were full of the most horrid tacky merchandise. Overall if you have a good amount of time in New York and want a day out of the city its a nice thing to do.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Really lovely at Bear Mountain but travel time is just too long and doesnt leave enough time to enjoy the mountain.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Trip was very nice with one exception - the tiring climb to the mountain top. We made it panting, but we felt sorry for the lame or badly out of shape who weren't given specific warning that it's a hard climb for them.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The best part was the voice over narrator who told so many interesting facts about the Hudson and NYC. He was an outstanding speaker and personality. It made the whole journey worthwhile. Unfortunately the color of foliage was nothing special, and the Oktoberfest was tacky. The return trip was full of loud and drunken folks which kind of puts a damper on the surroundings. All in all, I'd give the trip a C.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

The boat trip was enjoyable. The foliage on both sides of the boat was breathtaking. The tour guide on the trip did a great job at pointing out landmarks on the way. Bear Mountain itself was awash in Autumn colors. The only unpleasant issue was the long line for any decent food at Bear Mountain. I wish there was a restaurant that offered decent food in a relaxed atmosphere.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Overall the cruise was very good. Two suggestions: 1) Have security be more dilligent about keeping standing passengers from blocking the windows. The morbidly obese guard sat on his 'rear end' the entire trip. 2) please have parents utilize better discipline on their screaming brats or have a special section on the boat for children.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Boat was full and very rowdy, a few load mouths ruined what should of been an interesting trip. Not able to hear the commentary due to these individuals. Should of left them behind when they did not return at the agreed departure time. Liked the history of the site. But did not manage to get to all of the fort

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

The trip was very nice. A great Family day trip! My only complaint would be the seating. The chairs were not very comfortable for 5 hours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

While the trip was enjoyable there was an issue with water on the dock at Bear Mountain and we had to navigate by climbing on a wall, edging around a large light pole and walking on the wall till we passed the considerable amount of water, This was not pleasant for people with baby carriages, the infirm or the elderly. I also did not feel the narrator gave enough information on the sites we passed while cruising the Hudson River. The vessel was very clean and well maintained.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

The return trip was spoiled by out of control young people who drank too much beer and behaved poorly. The staff wasn't able to control them. I suggest at least one security person to be on board where alcohol is served!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

I didn't know it was to celebrate 'oktoberfest'.
For the rest there was nothing much to see at destination.
Not worth the money.

From USD $ 65.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2800BMC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message