4 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Circle Line: Bear Mountain Full-Day Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Well worth a visit really enjoyed the day out, the views are just beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

It was a great relaxing trip. The views of the river were spectacular and Bear Mtn was a great place to get away from the city for a while.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The Cruise itself was great, however, the land portion was misadvertised. There was no Oktoberfest, no place to eat, other than a hot dog at the carousel, and the were no signs point the way to anything. My wife and I were expecting the little village with arts, crafts, and plenty of places to eat. Bear Mountain was deserted except for the cruise crowd. Oktoberfest was advertsied to have been extended to October 31. That was disappointing.

John Michael C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Weather not very good, but scenery spectacular- would recommend.

Kenneth P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Enyoyed the trip up the river, pleasant to be away from the hustle & bustle of the city for a day.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

This was a really great event. If you're looking for something low key with a bunch of your friends in a outdoor space, this is an ideal situation for you. The beer was good and the food was decent. As the place fills up the food line gets pretty long, so get your food earlier in the day. As for the boat ride, there is both and upstairs and downstairs seating area. The deck upstairs has an outdoor seating area as well. The ride is exactly 2.5 hours one way, so bring some cards.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I loved the experience. The tour operator was detailed in his information and gave a lot of facts about the surrounding. I love Bear Mountain and the boat ride was a nice experience. On the downside it was a little overcrowded and on a cold day, did not have enough room indoors for the people to sit.

John M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Very enjoyable. The lake at Bear Mountain was beautiful and so peaceful. The Ocktoberfest was fun. The cruise vessel was sufficiently comfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Wonderful trip, we had a great time. The cruise down the Hudson is the best part, I learned more about NY in those few hours than what I knew from living here my entire life. Scenery is postcard pretty bring a camera and take many pictures. The circle line is a bit worn, I suggest you bring a sweater and blanket and your own food. The food was the worst part and highly overpriced, I'm talking 4 for a hot dog. Be prepared for alot of uphill walking once you arrive at Bear Mountain. The Oktoberfest requires a hike and is pretty boring but you will appreciate the 20 beer once you get there. All in all an enjoyable day excursion, more for couples than family, alot of places to snuggle with a fiery fall backdrop. Bring your camera and again pack your own lunch, and possibly a chair cushion, the seats on the circle line are hard.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I enjoyed the day out on the Hudson; any time of year would be nice on the Hudson. My only disappointment was there really were no fall colors to be seen, and it being a fall cruise, I had hoped to see more colors. Obviously no one is to blame here; this year had a long summer. I guess I would have taken the cruise in November instead of October to see more colors, but the cruises stop in October.

So all in all, it was nice, perhaps a little more time at Bear Mountain. Why are prices always so expensive for drinks on boats? Surely profit can be made with lower prices for coffee, water, etc. Beer actually seemed to be the best thing to buy for most people; I saw quite a few people buying it.

One last thing, which bears on the staff of the tour operator. The attendants at the shop were far from friendly; in fact, one woman really looked like she hated her job and wished no more customers would annoy her!! It's a customer service job, and if they don't like the job, why are they hired in the first place? And better still, why don't they quit if they really don't want to be friendly and helpful to passengers?

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I enjoyed the trip, though I would have enjoyed a little more time at Bear Mountain. I was annoyed with the instructions on getting there early with the prepaid voucher. I arrived 45 minutes early as instructed, but the ticket window didn't open until a little after 8 o'clock and then moved extremely slowly. They didn't even start boarding people until after 8:30, by which time I had been there well over an hour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

The weather was absolutely lovely and the scenes breathtaking. It did seem rushed at Bear Mountain though as you arrive there at 1230 and we boarded ship at 245. It was nice because there was an Oktoberfest at Bear Mt but not enough time to enjoy it.

Lisa K
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

This cruise was very enjoyable. The view was scenic and the atmosphere was relaxed. The good thing about being on a cruise is that you can walk about on the boat and not sit cramped up like on a bus. I only wish that the line was shorter when we got the tickets.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The sightseeing boat tour was okay. The captain was great at explaining everything and the ride was smooth. But it was 3 hours each way. My only comments are that they were serving alcohol at 9 a.m. which just seemed "wrong" and people were clearly taking advantage. There was a good sized bathroom on the boat. Bear Mountain was awesome!! Loved it, however, they don't tell you on this website that you have to hike up the mountain from the boat just to get to the main area where the Octoberfest was. This was very tough for my dad who has bad knees and those who wore heels or uncomfortable shoes. Wished we were prepared for that. But the mountain was great. We did decide it was easier just to drive there though. Okay tour for a one time trip. Won't do it again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

I did not realize I was going to have to climb such a steep pathway just to get to the event. It was a nice cruise but I could not hear what the tour guide was saying. The festival was not as good as I had expected. I thought there would have been more craft and items from Germany as well as a better selection of food..

From USD $ 65.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2800BMC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message