Insider's Guide to New York City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Susan W Spain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A real jazz treat, food was excellent and Cotton Club was fantastic. Not commercialized in any way, a great way to spend an evening in New York.

Alfredo E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time. The meal was great - best potato salad I've ever had. I had an enjoyable time at the Cotton Club - great music and entertainment. Only thing that would have made this trip better was being able to get a walking tour I couldn't see the venues very well, sitting inside the van. The tour guide was great and the information added to the experience.

Kristie K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very knowledgeable and approachable guide. The services, including bus service, dinner and the actual jazz performance were enjoyable from start to finish. No complaints.

Melanie O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good evening and great way to see Harlem. Alvin, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about both the music and New York - he was excellent. The meal was great and the tour round Harlem was very interesting. We went on a Monday so finished at the Cotton Club and were particularly impressed with Solomon King, a 20 year old blues guitar player, who was brilliant. The tap dancer, whose name we did not get, was equally talented and impressive. A great evening to spend in Harlem!

Carolyn B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Patrick was very knowledgeable, had a good day, thanks

CAROL W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great with excellent soul food at Sylvia's and a fab jazz band in the Cotton Club. Peggy the tour guide was very knowledgeable. An all round lovely evening.

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The tour guide was very well prepared and stayed on the schedule. These are important to me. My wife and I enjoyed the evening.

Richard W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Harlem tour is interesting - our guide very knowledgeable. Sylvia's is worth a trip - basic and plentiful Soul Food. The Monday night Cotton Club is a real highlight - an 11-piece 'swing' band (including a young maestro guitarist), singers, dancers and a select audience of 'seasoned' local afficionadas.

David G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Entertaining evening and introduction to Harlem. Too much food but the soul food is varried and tasty. The Cotton Club is highly entertaining, but you will need to know what you are doing if you want to get up and dance - definitely not for ametures. Interesting and useful information provided during the trip up to Harlem esp. for 1st time visitors to NYC.

Dorothy C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed this trip. The tour guide was interesting and entertaining and genuine, the food was fine (the chicken was particularly good) and the company of the other participants was great. We were a small group of 11 speaking three languages. I was on my own and felt included and welcome by the other guests.

The drinks in the club were generous, and included in the price. The glass of wine in the restaurant was nice but steep at 11 dollars (charged by the restaurant - soft drinks are included but not alcohol)

Monica E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgable. I was really impressed that she took the time to explain the sites in English and French. We took this tour on a Saturday night. The tour description indicated we would at least pass by the Cotton Club but that did not happen.

Michael C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Very good tour. It was good to see Harlem at night. The meal at the restaurant was a bit disorganised, but the food was good. The best part was the jazz club. It had a very relaxing atmosphere and a very entertaining band.

Paulo Silas M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Good tour, good food and excelent music.

andy_jones_99

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Tour guide *** interesting facts relating to Harlem but not too much empathy for subject
Sylvias restaurant *** reasonable food served in a cramped room
Cotton Club ***** Excellent recreation of club = band tap dancers and particularly the singers all added to the atmosphere - saw a clip of the film recently the nightclub is a superb rendition of the original

Niral P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Peggy was great, food amazing. Just a shame that Cotton Club is only open on Monday.

Ingrid B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Very thorough, great tour-guide!

Tara S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Tasty soul food deliverd with a side serve of knowledge and a true love of Harlem from the guide. Then finished with cocktails and jazz, not a bad way to spend an evening.

Debster J Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Thought this was great. The commentary was informative and the soul food was enjoyable. I enjoyed the club experience but was disappointed the guide didnt join us there.

beverley r

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

great night at the cotton club but not so keen on the food served but this was maybe a personal view,nothing wrong with the actual restaurant

annemari

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Food was good and jazz as well

kitty

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

This was a great night. The tour guide was very good and knowledgeable. The Cotton Club was a great experience and we would recommend this tour.

Gayle P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

food just ok, guide brilliant have a new idea about Harlam fantastic buildings great part of the city I would have missed if not on tour. The Jazz bar was fantastic quality jazz all the way.

Alan B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great tour guide (Peggy) whose linguistic skills readily accommodated our Italian friends. Soul food plentiful. Dancing at the Cotton Club a buzz

Catherine D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Was a lot of fun. Food was okay, not great but was typical for Soul food I guess. A little disappointed that the Cotton Club was closed but Shermann's was great for our jazz experience..

Bronwyn M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Great tour didn't see as much of Harlem as we would have liked due to poor visibility due to the weather otherwise it was a great night out

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 175.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3453T4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message