4.5 star rating: Recommended 103 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 103 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Fantastic trip, good food, great music, excellent guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone. Our guide was great, the food very good and the Cotton Club afterwards had a fantastic atmosphere, we were all made to feel part of the community.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Excellent evening - would do it again. Great value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A real jazz treat, food was excellent and Cotton Club was fantastic. Not commercialized in any way, a great way to spend an evening in New York.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great with excellent soul food at Sylvia's and a fab jazz band in the Cotton Club. Peggy the tour guide was very knowledgeable. An all round lovely evening.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The tour guide was very well prepared and stayed on the schedule. These are important to me. My wife and I enjoyed the evening.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Harlem tour is interesting - our guide very knowledgeable. Sylvia's is worth a trip - basic and plentiful Soul Food. The Monday night Cotton Club is a real highlight - an 11-piece 'swing' band (including a young maestro guitarist), singers, dancers and a select audience of 'seasoned' local afficionadas.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Entertaining evening and introduction to Harlem. Too much food but the soul food is varried and tasty. The Cotton Club is highly entertaining, but you will need to know what you are doing if you want to get up and dance - definitely not for ametures. Interesting and useful information provided during the trip up to Harlem esp. for 1st time visitors to NYC.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed this trip. The tour guide was interesting and entertaining and genuine, the food was fine (the chicken was particularly good) and the company of the other participants was great. We were a small group of 11 speaking three languages. I was on my own and felt included and welcome by the other guests.

The drinks in the club were generous, and included in the price. The glass of wine in the restaurant was nice but steep at 11 dollars (charged by the restaurant - soft drinks are included but not alcohol)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgable. I was really impressed that she took the time to explain the sites in English and French. We took this tour on a Saturday night. The tour description indicated we would at least pass by the Cotton Club but that did not happen.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Very good tour. It was good to see Harlem at night. The meal at the restaurant was a bit disorganised, but the food was good. The best part was the jazz club. It had a very relaxing atmosphere and a very entertaining band.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Good tour, good food and excelent music.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Tour guide *** interesting facts relating to Harlem but not too much empathy for subject
Sylvias restaurant *** reasonable food served in a cramped room
Cotton Club ***** Excellent recreation of club = band tap dancers and particularly the singers all added to the atmosphere - saw a clip of the film recently the nightclub is a superb rendition of the original

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Peggy was great, food amazing. Just a shame that Cotton Club is only open on Monday.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Very thorough, great tour-guide!

From USD $ 154.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3453T4

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message