4.5 star rating: Recommended 104 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 104 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

food just ok, guide brilliant have a new idea about Harlam fantastic buildings great part of the city I would have missed if not on tour. The Jazz bar was fantastic quality jazz all the way.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great tour guide (Peggy) whose linguistic skills readily accommodated our Italian friends. Soul food plentiful. Dancing at the Cotton Club a buzz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Was a lot of fun. Food was okay, not great but was typical for Soul food I guess. A little disappointed that the Cotton Club was closed but Shermann's was great for our jazz experience..

Bronwyn M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Great tour didn't see as much of Harlem as we would have liked due to poor visibility due to the weather otherwise it was a great night out

Melissa E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Great night out in Harlem - Cotton Club on a Monday night is highly recommended for authentic jazz experience

Karen S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Had a great time.Tour guide was really interesting and had loads of information about the area and people. Soul food was okay but not really to our taste, but that doesn't mean it would be the same for you. Cotton Club was amazing, lots of good music, dancing, audience involvement and a great atmosphere.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The guide was very informative I would not have ventured into the area by myself in the evening, so the tour was very helpful. The dinner could have been better coordinated and the menu improved. The visit to the Cotton Club should be better coordinated.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We booked this trip thinking it went to the Cotton Club, found out on the night that they only go to the Cotton Club on a monday and rest of time goes to Mintons Playhouse. We went to Silvia's for soul food, which was excellent and would highly reccommend. Mintons playhouse was good and the staff very friendly, a good way to see Harlem at night!

Cheryl S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The tour guide was fantastic, it was well organized and the night was good!

TONY F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Well organised tour round Harlem. Soul food meal in Sylvia's was enjoyable, service in The Cotton Club could have been better. Entertainment was good in the club, as was the guide.

Tania C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was great, she was very enthusiastic. W got a good look and feel of Harlem, she was passionate about its history and I could feel the soul in this part of the island that is so different to downtown. The food was great and it must have been good as the place was full of locals. The Jazz Club had a feeling of history and the band played real jazz, not the commercial sort. The club was nearly empty apart from us which was a pity but we were told that it was the tourists that generally kept these places going, so it seemed sad that New Yorkers are missing out on a part of their history as well as a great night out. Many thanks, would certainly do it again if I come back to New York.

Jan J
Sweden

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Excellent guide.

Susan B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

We had a great guide who was knowledgeable about the area. The food was really good with a friendly wait staff. The Cotton club was not what I had imagined, but it was a great night out all the same.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The tour guide was very informative, punctual, assertive, take-charge and get it done lady, but she was partial towards the French tourists ( all money is the same so I expected similar, friendly treatment). She was more engaging in conversation and conspicuously attentive to the French tourists. She never introduced herself or stated her name (I realize it was busy and she was rushed for time, but that was a harmless but unprofessional oversight). The tourists want to be engaged in every aspect of the excitement and the journey is just as important as the destination. My sisters and I did appreciate the specific route drop-offs at the end of the tour.
Two drinks were included but if you did not drink alcohol the choices were limited. The place chosen for the Jazz exhibition was small, cramped and had a grade letter of from the Department of Health of New York (the sign was tucked behind a door with bars and you wouldn't notice it unless you were looking intently and closely) "pending" because of sanitation issues. It would have been nice to have visited at least two jazz clubs. The Soul food served at Sylvia's was overall good, but not memorable. The potato salad was too mushy and the ribs were acceptable, but not tender fall off the bone succulent and juicy southern ribs. This tour needs some work for the price charged to tourists. It really needs to broaden its horizons and stepped it up from 10 to 100.

Donna L
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Travelling through Harlem was interesting. Food at Sylvias was really good. Jazz musician place was small and nothing at all like the photo. we left the Jazz session early as it wasn't really our kind of Jazz music. the musicians seemed to be playing different tunes instead of playing together. Do this tour to see harlem and taste really good fried chicken.

From USD $ 154.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3453T4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message