Insider's Guide to New York City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 444 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

auntnet1629

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I loved this tour!! It was awesome and very well run. No problems whatsoever.

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Guide was excellent. Absolutely fascinating. Offbeat NYC at its best

Jill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour of Harlem was quite informative. The church experience was fantastic!

Tina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Do it!! Go on this tour, you wont regret it!

My daughter and I went on this tour 15.2.14, the coldest Sunday morning ever. We went to the office to change our tickets, and to get instructions about the bus. The young people in the office where all kind, smiling and serviceminded. ( we even bought Shuttle back to JFK there).

Our guide, Duane, gave us informations about the buildings we passed, stories about celebritys, stories about "old and new" and was very well informed about Harlem and Manhattan. Even the story of why The Bronx are named The Bronx he told. He made everyone to feel special and welcome. Thank you Duane for that!

Our visit in the church was very special experience. The song and music, where as we expected. Great! I got tears in my eyes when all members in church one by one, came, took our hand looked us in our eyes and welcomed us.....

After church we went to Sylvias Soul Food Restaurant, to eat brunch, off course there was song all the time, - just like we have seen on TV. And again: An excellent experience!

Do it! Take the tour, you get an experience for life :0))

John m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Alvin was terrific. We learned so much about the history and architecture of Harlem. The gospel service was so uplifting and wonderful. A great way to wrap up our trip!

Bernice P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed this tour and was made very welcome by green pastures church

Anne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

To be noted: the tour takes you to a small church so different from the most popular one in Harlem. Singing was still very good.
Worth going on that tour!
Anne

Wilhelmenia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was inspiring! The music was great and the people were friendly.

Claus M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I’ve been to NYC many times and wanted to do a gospel tour since long – yet never managed for lack of time. During my recent visit, just before Christmas, together with my wife I finally had a go. And then it all began with a mistake. I had booked the tour on a Sunday, but then realised that we would have to cut it short, as we needed to head for the airport for our transatlantic return flight earlier than I’d thought. I contacted VIATOR by mail about the options. VIATOR replied, first by mail and subsequently by phone, recommending me to change the booking to the Wednesday tour. I took their advice and appreciated the extra mile in the personal phone call.

In the morning we made the way to the 690 8th Avenue meeting point (not really easy to find – the office is located in the first floor and the street-level entrance is, diplomatically put, quite modest), but we were welcomed by some very nice people and the tour bus left shortly afterwards, taking us through Harlem, including a visit to the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. And then the church service at the Greater Central Baptist Church on the corner of 5th Avenue and the 132nd street. The tour guide was brilliant – probably the best, I’ve ever encountered. He made everyone feel like a very special guest and was extremely well informed about the places and the history of New York and Harlem in particular.

The church service left a big impression on us. Most of the guests were like us – tourists. Yet it was not a show. It felt genuine, honest and heart-warming. It was simply a great experience.

The tour included a ‘brunch’. To be honest, we’d expected lunch bags or some simple food, so we were surprised to be taken to Sylvia's Soul Food restaurant on Lenox Avenue. I wouldn’t describe the food there as a culinary highlight, but portions were massive and the restaurant cosy and very interesting. A member of the Wood’s family entertained us at our table about the history of the place, and we will k

Janice K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was fantastic. Very interesting stories by our tour guide. The visit to the church was wonderful , great singing and church service in a welcoming congregation . The lunch was excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour

Terry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Informative, entertaining and just a real fun time.

susan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great....better than I expected, especially the guide.

Payam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Such open friendky community. Which the crowd on the wasn't so stif and got into to the awsome spirit

Bubbiew

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As one familiar with gospel music, I appreciate the effort of the church we visited. Furthermore, the pastor and congregation reached out to us and allowed us to feel as though we were part of their congregation.The choir was great. We were given a short tour of Harlem, that included a few historical tidbits, it was a bonus. We had a great time at the restaurant, as the host interacted with us and led a singing extravaganza that allowed our participation.

stowers1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Alvin was great and informative. The service was amazing.

Werner S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Super Guide !

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing time, our guide Anthony was a font of information, he told us about things we would not have found out in guide books. The church we visited made us really welcome and they were so enthusiastic and friendly and we did not feel under any pressure to part with any money in fact we had to ask how we could make a donation! A really enjoyable morning, thankyou Anthony and the congregation of the Friendly Church in the Bronx

Maria Rosa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A different, uplifting experience and thoroughly enjoyable. Anthony, our guide was very knowledgeable and gave good tips about restaurants in NYC. We went to a church in the Bronx and were made to feel very welcome. So glad I took the tour.

Cecilia C Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was great. Our guide Damian not only explained us about Harlem, the Gospel service and the things we were seeing, but about New York city history and other emblematic places as well. It was a difficult day for driving in the city, due to the 42km Marathon, but the driver and the guide managed the situation very professionally and we had a great day!. The Sunday morning Gospel service was very interesting and amusing. The whole tour was an experience to open our minds. Don't miss it !!. Cecilia

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour guide was very informative gospel singers was like watching a broadway show amazing, The soul food brunch was delicious and there was a lot of food .All around great tour

gail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent a grat experience, made to feel very welcome.

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of my recent trip to NYC! The tour guide was very informative about all areas that we travelled through. The church that we were privilidged to visit, was wonderful. They welcomed us at a certain point in the service. The energy from the congregation was infectious. From the older members down to the youngest of the young their involvement in the service was absolute! I would definitely want to go back to this church on my own to enjoy the warmth of the congregation.

rhill174

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. Duane was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw lots of sights of Harlem and many lovely areas and buildings. But the highlight of the tour was at the Great Universal Baptist Church service in the Bronx. It was a wonderful experience and everyone was so welcoming. I found the whole experience very humbling and emotional and would recommend a visit there to everyone.

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour, the guide was very informative and helpful. Loved the Gospel Tour and also enjoyed the tour around Harlem.

Wendy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful insight, fabulous Tour Guide, enjoyed Soul Food and entertainment.

Viewing 2 of 18

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 65.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3453TG1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message